Sort:  

I have so many questions. What's a Karen, some kind of meme thing? What's hive-1354893242?

Also, please bookmark this - they give new free courses every half year. I even took the business starting course years ago.

https://tmk.edu.ee/taiendkoolitus/koolitused/tasutakoolitused-2/

You're right. Karen has become a meme, originating from people who have worked in retail and / or the food industry. Karen is the middle-aged woman with a short haircut that divorced from their husband and took the kids, drives around in her SUV goes batshit crazy about tiny things and complains to the manager everywhere for any reason.

Hive-174578 is OCD's community / hivemind. @acidyo just posted about it at night, too, you can read a bit about it here.

Thanks for the link! I've looked around for courses schools offer but hadn't looked at TMK yet. I'll keep my eyes and ears open.

Thanks, will check the post out.

About the courses, they used to have 40-50 courses per half year, there seems to be suspiciously too few atm, maybe they have distributed these to different institutions. Check around the web a bit, keywords "tasuta koolitused täiskasvanutele", there are some real gems with evening schedules.

Yeah, I've looked into them but evening schedules don't fit me, I need courses that are in the time gap of 9AM to 5PM like I need a job with the same time gap. But thanks anyway!

Computers, why would knowing how to use them be a requirement for an unemployment office worker.. oh wait, because everything is done electronically these days! That is just ridiculous. I hope you get a better case worker soon, Karen, you deserve it.

Especially with all the hype Estonia always gets when people talk about IT and tech, how we can declare taxes in just a minute or so, most of the government services are online, etc, you'd think people know how to click on links. 😂

If the person was not close to retirement age, there is no excuse! Maybe you should apply for her job...

the consultant did not realize the blue line of text in my e-mail that changes the arrow cursor into a pointy finger when you hover over it was an actual link she could click on.

I am banging my head to the keyboard for this. For you. Because of that idiot consultant. It seems that no matter where you go, the most idiotic people seem to work in unemployment offices or places where you apply for benefits such as child support or pension. Complete twats.

I'm thinking that this all is part of a bigger plan. To get rid of people who get fed up with situations like this. Fed up with people who should help you but actually make your life more difficult. I did. I got fed up with explaining things over and over again so I became an entrepreneur. :D Now I'm just as poor but don't have to explain anyone anything anymore. And can say FU (nicely) if someone offers me a job without proper pay.

Most people don't even go to the unemployment office when they quit or lose their job for a while. Sometimes I think it's wise. The tiny (in my case) 130€ monthly support they give to the unemployed is not always worth the wrecking of nerves trying to improve yourself. (Now to think of it, though, this month's support helped me out - it arrived at the right time, when I was out of money and my kid's kindergarten bill (which is about 3/4 of the UIF support) arrived).

Entrepreneurship always sounds cool and fancy but at the same time scares the crap out of me. I don't think I have the guts to create my own company. (But you never know, I just might one day, if I have some genius idea... which probably won't happen).

I recommend being an entrepreneur to no-one. Unless you have tons and tons of money just hanging around. Or nothing else to do. Then again I still wouldn't recommend it to anyone.

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvoting this reply.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63672.48
ETH 3319.16
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.91