My 2020: Just a normal day: Going through Bogotá

in OCD5 years ago

Before starting with the development of this publication, which I hope will not be so long, I want to thank @anomadsoul, @ocd-witness and the team behind @blocktrades for creating and supporting this dynamic, which really works to give us an idea of what a day in the life of many users is like, with whom we exchange ideas on a daily basis.

To know what the contest is about I invite you to enter Here

Now I'm starting with a day in the life of @josevas217...

Many in this platform know that I am Venezuelan and a doctor by profession, but because of the crisis in my country I emigrated and currently reside in Bogotá, Colombia. For legal reasons (homologation, nationality) I have not yet been able to start my career in this country, which I hope to have resolved by mid-year.



Image of my authorship edited, with the Source

That's why I had to work on something that is related to what I worked on while I was studying, and that is electricity sector. I currently work as a salesman of electrical parts to hardware stores, mostly in Bogota. I travel to different places every day, fortunately each of my days is different. I do this tour by bike, Bogotá is one of the cities in the world with more kilometers in bike paths. Every week I ride more than 200 kilometers. But it's a great sport and I keep in shape. Which is already a gain.



My authorship image

I start my day at 330am, Monday to Saturday, I usually get up early out of habit. I get up, prepare coffee, turn on the PC and dedicate some hours to steemit, yes, I know, after reading this many will say that I am crazy for doing it, but it is something that really ?

Steemit has been an outlet for many things for me, that's why I'm still here despite the low prices, it's not just why I make a living here. While I read, write, write, edit, I don't miss the cup of coffee next door, that's what I'm addicted to.



My authorship image

At 6 in the morning I go into the bathroom to take a shower, then I go out, make a good breakfast, in this case a dish that I like very much (on the right) something very typical of Venezuela:

Arepa (prepared with corn flour), grains (caraotas in this case), eggs and cheese. Accompanied by coffee with milk. (I really like to eat, I recognize it).

I go out on my bike to tour the city, starting the working day at 730am, I regularly visit between 15 and 30 clients per day. It's good for me to do this, the sales commissions are really good.

Even though I knew the electricity sector, I must confess that the sales thing is something I hadn't done, until now, and it's not bad at all. Luckily.





My authorship image

In other opportunities I have presented through publications some spaces of this city, in this opportunity I have captured some special ones for this publication.

I visit one hardware store after another, taking orders, talking a lot with customers, not only business, but personal things, some know that I am a doctor and even make consultations and help or guide them with certain things, something that I really like to do. Here there is no easy access to health, it is very expensive, and I feel that this way I put my grain of sand helping.



My authorship image

It is also something that allows me to know the reality of others, to truly know the people of this country in which I currently live.

This city enjoys a spectacular climate, with average temperatures of 15 degrees, which is why one can hardly go out without wearing warm clothes.

I go to many places any day, some very nice, others not so nice, however in the end I relate to people, to humans, not to infrastructures.

This particularity of my work, being on the street all day gives me the ability to capture many images through my mobile phone, which I use in many of my publications.



My authorship image

The natural diversity in Bogota is great, you can go from an arid environment, like the one I show on the right.

With vegetation typical of this type of area, and of course fauna, however, it is no longer a spectacle, which despite the aridity of the terrain, nature gives us. And the human being in the same way adapts to inhabit it.



My authorship image

To one full of abundant vegetation. (image on the left)

So I spend my day, my days, back and forth, first on the web and then in the real world, until about 6.30pm when I get home, to shower, rest, eat, wait for my wife to arrive from work, talk and fall asleep at about 11pm and then start a new day of growth.

This is just a day in the life of 'josevas217, for now.

If I had written on this subject two years ago you would have been put in a hospital in Venezuela 24 hours a day, and I must say that I miss the stress of emergencies, attending under those circumstances, but life is this surprising, and you can learn from everything, these last 16 months outside my home country, having to start from scratch, has allowed me a permanent growth, something I appreciate, I'm not saying it's the best way to move forward, but for now is what life is allowing me.

If we are not born to grow, to learn, to enjoy the journey, then what is it for?

This situation of still not being able to practice what was studied with effort can be something very frustrating for the majority, of course, I am human, although at times I can feel some frustration and melancholy because of what is happening in my country, and because I still cannot practice as a doctor, I always prefer to see the positive, the much I have learned since I arrived in this country.

So I toast to all the good things I've experienced and what's to come.

I think I've extended myself a lot, so for now I'm saying goodbye, again grateful to @anomadsoul, @ocd-witness and the team behind @blocktrades for this opportunity.

We keep seeing each other on the digital streets of this platform that keeps us together.

The emojis used are from the Bitmoji application. All images are my own, taken with my Huawei Y5 phone, Edited on Line Camara App.

I invite to be a part of

I invite you to follow the tribe


Sort:  

You post has been manually curated by BDvoter Team! To know more about us please visit our website or join our Discord.

BDvoter Team

Thank you for the support @bdvoter.cur

:-)

Hi @josevas217

Thanks for sharing glimpse into your life with all of us.

I have not yet been able to start my career in this country, which I hope to have resolved by mid-year.

can it be resolved at all? Could you work in your profession in Colombia?

ps. Indeed, you're crazy :) But more I know you - more I like you.
Yours, Piotr

The truth is that the process is moving forward, something slow, and very expensive. But yes, I know that you can do everything you need to do here.
The economic situation would change drastically. I hope so.
For now, continue traveling miles, getting to know Bogotá and even exploring future business options.

Looking on the bright side. You always have to.

Thank you @project.hope and @crypto.piotr

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63191.06
ETH 2551.41
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.65