Steady as a mountain.

in OCD4 years ago

Rock11.jpg

Even the most solid rock has a weak point as everything else in this world. The events of recent weeks show that nothing is surely. Everything can change for good or for bad. This stone was split in two pieces after crashing down from the mountain, probably thousands of years ago. Even they are split apart they are pretty stable and would probably stay there for the foreseeable future.
I also hope these platforms stabilise and can be good place for the users to be in the future.

Rock21.jpg

Well, anyway I have to get out and do some exercise when possible. Luckily I can walk out from my home and up in the mountain without risk to infect or be infected by other peoples with covid-19.

Today my wife, Nero (our dog) and I walked up to a big rock 1,5 km up above our house. We walked up around 300 meters above sealevel and from there we headed to the rock. You can see it on the picture above.

Rock3.jpg

On our way toward the rock we crossed this stream, probably a sign of spring with flooding water between at least 1,5 meters deep snow. My wife stand on the upper right corner of the picture.

Rock.jpg

Nero is curious of the water, a little early for the first bath perhaps.

Rock2.jpg

Rock5.jpg

Rock6.jpg

Rock4.jpg

Rock8.jpg

From the little stream to the rock there is much stone covered with high piles of snow. We had to be a little careful and check where it was safe to walk. Between all the rocks we followed tracks after reindeer that have been grazing in the area for the past 24 hours. If the reindeer didn't disappeared under the rocks it was safe for us too.

Rock7.jpg

Rock9.jpg

Rock12.jpg

The rock is around 10-15 meters high, it must have been a spectacular rockslide many years ago when the rock landed and fall apart.

Rock10.jpg

Rock14.jpg

My wife stand at the entrance, and I is around halfway through the rock.

Rock13.jpg

The other end.

Rock15.jpg

Nero looking after my wife, for some reasons she didn't want to came after us. 😉

Rock16.jpg

View from the other side of the rock.

Rock18.jpg

A little adventure, maybe I can find the reindeers.

Rock19.jpg

From the mountain, during the time many avalanches have ended under the mountain.

Rock17.jpg

Rock20.jpg

When I was a kid, a friend and I built a small cabin in one of the many caves in the area. I visited the cave some years ago, and there was still trace after the adventurous boys. Because of the snow I could not see our secret cabin today. I may take a visit during the summer.

Rock22.jpg

Goodbye for now. Have a great day and stay safe.

Best regards
Harald

Sort:  

Spectacular winter landscapes :) Beautiful captures. So you decided to stay on Steem and not move to Hive?

@tipu curate

Thank you very much. I posted on both platforms, or maybe crosspost. I consider doing it in an transitional period and see how things settles. A little unsure about it though. What do you think about it?

And you know what´s happening on this chain right now? I summed up my thoughts in my today´s post on Hive.

Yes I know. I also registered renowned names still posting. I red also following post about crossposting between the platforms: https://steempeak.com/ocd/@ocd/5slzwc-original-content-decentralized-hive-statement.

I therefore thought until the systems and everyone is up and running on Hive, I would post or crosspost on Steem also. But you have a point regarding "demonstration of the unity of our community..."

That’s an exciting expedition! Nero looks very curious!

Wow, that is really much snow, it is reassuring that it is so clena and white considering the world climate problem.

Yes we have lots of snow, but today we have 5 degrees +. Shifting fast, but I am glad we have a little normal winter In period

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 58559.96
ETH 3156.41
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44