Where on Wednesday thirty eight: Photo-booking

in OCD4 years ago

That's the G-dog and Faith...I'm on the right. It's a rare photo of me without sun glasses on. Faith always complains that in all our photos I have my Oakleys on and every now and then harangues me enough that I acquiesce to her request to remove them for a photo. I hate it but like a good husband do what I'm told. 😇

Anyway, this selfie was taken at Arthurs Point not far out of Queenstown, New Zealand. We are not there right now, but would love to be.

At the moment we're home, on a somewhat cooler and slightly rainy day in South Australia, going through a few thousand images we took whilst on our New Zealand holiday; Sorting and separating. We had a photo-book made last year to give to Faith's mum and it came out so well we decided to do one of ourselves...But life gets in the way and it got put off...

Now #viruslife has happened we are home more often and have the chance to go through some images and work out what we like and what's going to work in our photo-book. We're both working from home so we're grabbing a break and getting into the photos every so often. This is where this weeks' #whereonwednesday is coming from today!

One of the coolest things we did whilst in New Zealand was the Shotover Jetboat ride which we did a couple times because it was so cool. Click that link a few words back for their website and below is the video of our run. We're on the port side of the boat in the second last row with the red buffs pulled up.

Here's the link to ourjet boat run.

It's a fairly wild ride, not recommended for people with bad backs, which takes passengers up to 90 kilometres an hour and as close as 1 metre to the rocks...It's pretty exhilarating.

We did so many things on that trip though, all of which we loved.

It seems like a distant memory now though, I guess the pressures of 2020 year of the bastard-virus has taken it's toll on us and with our March holiday (my 50th birthday trip) cancelled and our Scandinavian trip in July almost certainly to go the same way...Well, we're sort of in need of a break that is unlikely to come any time soon.

Like many around the place Faith and I are experiencing a few difficulties due to restrictions and loss of income due to the current virus-debacle. We're fairly resilient people but it's hitting home and causing some emotional discomfort. It's been a little relentless to be honest, and isn't going to get better any time soon.

My wife's conversation with our accountant didn't go so well today and after moping around disconsolately for a while we decided it was a perfect time to cheer ourselves up by delving into our holiday snaps and working towards something that will give us a great deal of enjoyment. It worked.

We are not oblivious to the plight of many people here in Australia and around the world and understand that things could be much worse for us right now, and will probably be so moving forward. But we feel equipped to deal with it, or at least weather the storm, because we are together.

We don't know when our next holiday will be...I'll be honest, we don't know when our next pay-checks will be!

What we do know is that we will ride it out, support each other and those around us as best we can, and rebound. We also have so many great photos, not great photographically maybe, but from a memory-prompt perspective, and are happy to content ourselves and lift our spirits by flicking through them and remembering the good times.

So, that's #whereonwednesday is coming from this week. Next week it'll be be coming at you from...Yep, home again probably. Thanks virus, you bastard.

Tell me y'all, what are you up to, how are you passing the time and do you guys go through old photos like Faith and I do and feel, at least somewhat, closer to the holiday itself?

Stay safe, and stay isolated.


Design and create your ideal life, don't live it by default - Tomorrow isn't promised.

Be well

Sort:  

Thanks for sharing your creative and inspirational post!



This post got curated by our fellow curator @hafizullah and you received a 100% upvote from our non-profit curation service!

Join the official DIYHub community on steem and show us more of your amazing work!

Sure looks like fun. No paychecks for a while, that has got to put a strain on the bank account. Looking at old pictures is a lot of fun. We have thousands of them and have also recently been enjoying the memories they rekindle. When looking at pictures of the grandkids from just a few years ago, you realize just how fast time flies.
Stay safe and good luck navigating through this difficult time.

We'll be ok...We've determined the worst case scenario, worked out a flexible strategy around it and so everything above that base-level is cream on the cake...It'll suck to sink down to that level but the country is all but crippled and that won't change any time soon so we will have to accept it.

Looking back at the good times through photographs is a great feel-good moment and I imagine we'll d=be doing a lot of that in the near future.

Stay safe yourselves. :)

Are my eyes deceiving me, or is that water a tad shallow for boats to speed through 😮 ? Really great photos, mate. Hope you and the family are coping well with that lockdown boredome 😅. I'm already getting itchy to go back outside...

The jet boats only need 10cm of water to operate in. They suck water from underneath and jet it out the back to propel them the website examine it. It's so much fun. Twin V8 engines sound great, and the speed and proximity to the rocks... Exhilarating.

https://www.shotoverjet.com/

Screen Shot 2020-04-02 at 11.31.13 am.png

Twin V8 engines sound great

Okay, now you have my attention. One V8 is good, but two is even better!

The boats are fast, very manoeuvrable and sound great!

It seems everyday there's more bad news about the toll this virus is taking on family and friends, as well as people from around the world. It really sucks.
Looking at photos is a nice way to help put a smile on your face, takes you away from the present.
At present, I am so frustrated with hive. I wrote my first post, was all set to add some pictures...NOT kept getting error: unable to connect with server. I must have re-tried 20 times, error,error,error...So I am going to wait to talk to my son to help me get on peakd.com or steempeak.com I tried myself to get on peakd and got lost, not sure what to install.
Oh well, I hope to get it straightened out soon. Thanks @galenkp

Peakd is steempeak...The hive version. You'll find steempeak probably doesn't get updated and will cease to exist for steem at some stage.

All you have to do is click the link to peakd, use hivesigner to log in with the appropriate key and you're in business...Same as steempeak was.

https://peakd.com/

You could also try

https://staging.busy.org/@farm-mom

Simply log in and away you go...No more difficult than logging into steem.

Hello there @galenkp, thanks again for all your help. I had to walk away from posting on hive, lost an entire post last night so I went over to steem and posted. I see you are still on steemit too, I am sure once I get back to it, I should be successful with peakd, fingers crossed.
Stay well

Oh ok, that's a shame. I'll undelegate to you on hive if that's the case, no point wasting the HP.

Hey friend @galenkp, I was going to tell you to do that until I figured it out, let someone else use them for sure.
That's what community is all about, sharing, nice going. See you on the rebound.😊😉😀

I'll throw some more your way, just let me know when and I'll be happy to. :)

Hello again...I got it, did a quick post tonite and it went through. I used PEAKD as you instructed and got in. Now I just have to get used to the system.
Thanks again, you have been so helpful.

I saw that one, good work for taking the time to work it out. Peakd is a good interface and once you get the hang of it you will not want to use anything else. (My prediction.)

I'm glad to have been of some help.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 61113.33
ETH 2927.99
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.69