The Lego wing cat

in OCD4 years ago

I'll be honest, I'm pretty good at building Lego; Not great, just good. Good at following instructions, good at clicking those little bits and pieces together and generally good at avoiding some of the terrible Lego-afflictions that can come with the hobby of building it; Health issues like Lego fatigue which comes about from long hours of building Lego and Lego thumb which one gets by pushing all those parts together with one's thumb. I "Lego" at a pretty good level. Just the facts.

However, sometimes I need some help, or so Cleo the cat thinks. You can see her here, employing every trick in the book to avoid looking at the camera as she knew I wanted a good picture for my blog. As soon as the camera went away she looked right at me in that, I will stare you down until you get me food, pat me or let me sit on your lap look...It worked...She got some pats. Humans are so predictable.

You can see I've laid out the next stage of the build of my Mack Anthem on my Lego build-table. I use those little box lids as they are shallow sided, white inside so parts can't hide and easy to cover if I have to stop building for some reason. I don't know what others do, but it works for me...And Cleo obviously as she's pictures here giving it the paw of approval.

One of the most enjoyable things in our lives are our cats and they are rarely too far away when we are home, even when I'm building Lego as you can see. Our cats are like people to us, in fact we probably treat them better than people...We don't get mad with them, let them run the household [it's their's after all] and work our lives out around them. We'd not have it any other way because they are a valued part of our family.

So, tonight, as I start phase two of the Mack Anthem build I've got a wing man a wing-cat called Cleo...Someone to blame if I get some of the build wrong and have to start over...Although in reality, with a wing cat like Cleo how could I possibly get it wrong?!


Tomorrow isn't promised - Design and create your ideal life, don't live it by default
An original post written by a human
Discord: galenkp#9209 🇦🇺

Sort:  

Cleo has the paw in the container ready to help find the correct piece for the next job😜

Posted using Partiko Android

I couldn't do it without her. 🐱🐾

🤗😻

Posted using Partiko Android

She is soooo pretty! 😻

She sure is...I think she takes after me.

(Probably not, actually) 🤣

Cool, thanks for saying so.

Nice set of Tandems Buddy...!!!

I get that "Kitty Stink Eye" all day every day..... =^,,^=2p4yrvzqgj.jpg

At least You will have an idea where the missing pieces went...
https://bittubers.com/post/040465d8-dbb9-435b-a016-aeff81bffb46

I'd rather a real prime mover in the driveway, but a Lego one has to do. 😄

Your post has been manually curated by FreeVoter Team.You can earn liquid steem by delegating SP to @freevoter !! We are now paying 100% daily earnings and 90% Curation reward and ESTM & Dlike token to our curation reward to our delegators !! Join Discord for more information. Thank you !!

Thank you.

I see you've segregated all the Legos for different sections of the Mack... very clever of you. I'll be keeping and eye on the next update, soon!

Also, employing a wing-cat may prove prudent, since you never know what tricks these Legos can do to put a human down. Send my fuzzy regards to Cleo the Cat :-)

Each stage comes in numbered bags so in the case of this post you are looking at all the 2 bags opened and separated into the trays by bag. It makes it easier to follow the instructions to not have to rifle through a whole bunch of parts all thrown in together. Besides, I'm a little ocd so this works in that regard also.

Smart having a wing-cat huh? I don't know, sometimes I just come up with the best things! :)

Indeed you do think of the best things :-)

My greatest mistake of building Legos in the past is not organising them well enough. I remembered cutting open the plastic bags, to then simply dump them in separate piles, but close enough to one another that they'll overlap. Those were some tedious times, having to find that one small piece...

Oh yes, that's never going to end well typically. Keep them in their bag-groups and you'll know where to go to grab each thing rather than having to sift through all parts. Live and learn I guess right?

The worst Lego injury is the broken nail when trying to pull the narrow pieces apart.

Been there, don't want to again...That's why they make these...It's all high-tech these days...Note Mack engine coming together in the background...

20200107_220919.jpg

Do they call it the, block splitter?

Not sure...Cleo and I call it the orange Lego thingamyjigger although I have called it the Lego doozelywhatsit also...Mood-dependant.

Ah, glad to hear you now have a handy applicator against the potentially life-threatening injuries of having to pull apart Legos... nothing more painful than that.

I actually don't use it much...My thumbs have toughened up through loads of Lego building, but it's there if I need it.

Hahaha I call this tool the pullapart legothingy . It’s such a useful tool!

Well, that sounds like a legit name for it...I mean it is a tool, does pull stuff apart, is for Lego and is indeed a thingy. Legit name for a legit tool. What sort of Lego do you build?

I do all sorts Cos of the kids (mainly city and ninjago at the moment) and the biggest one so far would be the disney castle. I’ve got a few big ones I haven’t opened like London bridge, ferries wheel etc Cos no space to put them but it’s there. How about you?

I see a lot of that Ninjago stuff but it doesn't hold much appeal for me...It from a cartoon or something right? I've mainly focused on the Technic stuff, the transport-related ones. I have my next one already which is the Extreme Off-Road 4x4...It's actually has a motor and is controlled off a phone app so that should be fun. :)

I've seen that ferris wheel one and would like to have a go at it too. Space is the problem, as you point out.

Behold the mighty Brick Separator....

As your collection grows you will accumulate a few of these. There are some pretty cool designs out there in interwebs world that use those in designs..

32235871313_9f14e8bd5f_z.jpg

That looks cool! I never contemplated something like this would exist but I can see the need! These are available online (eBay for instance?)


Hey @galenkp, here is a little bit of BEER from @qwerrie for you. Enjoy it!

Learn how to earn FREE BEER each day by staking.

Thank you.

Sup Dork?!? Enjoy the Upvote!!! Keep up with the dorky content for more love!!!

Thank you.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64266.94
ETH 3077.24
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87