Wednesday walk - FROM GRAY TO SLIGHTLY BLUE

in OCD4 years ago (edited)

It started with the suffocating gray sky and a lot of mist ...
IMG_0780 malo.jpg
... around the newly constructed shopping center ...
IMG_0787 malo.jpg
... with two billboard - monoliths that looked like a gate to the consumerist heaven.
IMG_0783 malo.jpg
I had to buy some cheap things there ... and then I did a little walk among the sleeping machinery ...
IMG_0779 malo.jpg
... and surviving trees.
IMG_0788 malo.jpg
I did a few photographs and then I sat in my car and moved to another parking lot, closer to the old town, to continue my pedestrian exploration of this foggy day. The elusive sun was disappearing and appearing from site like a cheap UFO effect in a low budget movie in which we are all trapped. But I'm not complaining ... I like this kind of movies.
IMG_0789 malo.jpg
And I like to watch the suburban buildings being swallowed by the fog.
IMG_0790 malo.jpg
A bit further I arrived at the crossroad that looked pretty photogenic ...
IMG_0791 malo.jpg
... I don't know what exactly caught my attention here ... but I spent some time observing what's happening on the street ...
IMG_0792 malo.jpg
... I don't know ... there was something cool about this view and composition ... and the small but effective changes in the scenery ... like the appearance of this bright red detail in this washed out, watercolor atmosphere ...
IMG_0795 malo.jpg
... or the little vignette about the man who arrived here by bus ...
IMG_0796 malo.jpg
... and continued walking somewhere … on his way to nowhere maybe.
IMG_0797 malo.jpg
At this point the sun was a bit higher in the sky.
IMG_0799 malo.jpg
Soon I arrived in the neighborhood with more cars parked in front of the houses ...
IMG_0800 malo.jpg
... and I enjoyed watching the traffic in these old narrow streets ...
IMG_0801 malo.jpg
... sometimes I feel very uplifted and inspired by this very common and mundane scenes ... sometimes, after aimlessly observing the street for approximately ten minutes, I feel like I just read some cool poetry ...
IMG_0802 malo.jpg
... or saw an entire movie...
IMG_0805 malo.jpg
... and since this walk had a lot of such moments, when I was back at home, I felt like I watched the complete season of some TV show.
IMG_0806 malo.jpg
I encountered two chimneys with decorative seagulls on them.
IMG_0808 malo.jpg
I mean, the birds were real ...
IMG_0809 malo.jpg
... but they looked a bit like statues ... like they will be here forever ... after seeing them, it was hard for me to imagine this kind of chimney without the seagull ... they looked perfect together.
IMG_0810 malo.jpg
Then I arrived at what is, at least for me, the real center of the city, the core of its identity, the most peculiar and spectacular thing in this place called Pula ...
IMG_0811 malo.jpg
... the Roman Colosseum.
IMG_0812 malo.jpg
There were some contemporary spot lights inside the ancient building ...
IMG_0813 malo.jpg
... and on one of those big lamps ...
IMG_0814 malo.jpg
... another seagull.
IMG_0815 malo.jpg
This is a look at the neighborhood near the Colosseum ...
IMG_0816 malo.jpg
... and this ... a detail from that neighborhood.
IMG_0817 malo.jpg
The nearby church ... a relatively large one ...
IMG_0820 malo.jpg
... the last look at the ancient Colosseum, while I'm continuing my walk... and then ...
IMG_0822 malo.jpg
... a big and photogenic old building not far from there.
IMG_0825 malo.jpg
On this photograph I'm walking uphill ... towards the top of the one of seven hills of this city.
IMG_0826 malo.jpg
Here is one strangely isolated building in this area ...
IMG_0827 malo.jpg
... and here are some typical constructions of this part of the city.
IMG_0828 malo.jpg
Some other buildings not far from there ... and then ...
IMG_0832 malo.jpg
... a small fruit & vegetables stand on the crossroad ...
IMG_0831 malo alo.jpg
... the cluster of bananas is hanging like a spider ... or the amazing Spider - Man ... on a thread above the oranges ... behind the back of the lady who's working there, and looks unaware of the presence of this creature :D
IMG_0834 malo.jpg
Now I'm walking along the street with some colorful houses ... the car is passing by ... I see a man walking in the opposite direction ...
IMG_0835 malo.jpg
... and the sky is getting blue.
IMG_0836 malo.jpg
A look at the wall ...
IMG_0837 malo.jpg
... some houses further along the road ...
IMG_0838 malo.jpg
... and here I'm meditating in front of a lovely blue facade with some transcendental aura around it :D
IMG_0840 malo.jpg
I took this shot because of the old truck ... I haven't seen this type of vehicle for many years ...
IMG_0841 malo.jpg
... and I did this photograph because I like the building.
(Enlargeable)
Here you can take another, better and enlargeable, look at this building ... I made this picture enlargeable to accentuate the man passing by, who gives a bit of action to the shot ... and makes the building look more impressive.
IMG_0850 malo.jpg
Then I discovered this writing on the wall ... that proves that cool music from the past is not forgotten on the streets :)
IMG_0857 malo.jpg
On the next crossroad I noticed this pretty unremarkable building ... with the great opportunity for a self-portrait.
(Enlargeable)
There was a traffic mirror on the pole by the facade, so I took this selfie.
IMG_0859 malo.jpg
This was also on that crossroad ...
IMG_0862 malo.jpg
... and this ... just a bit further downhill.
IMG_0865 malo.jpg
When I arrived at this lovely red brick house, pretty unique in that neighborhood ...
IMG_0864 malo.jpg
... the sky was clear and blue ... but I was tired ... and my battery was low ... so I walked directly, through shortcuts, to my car and after a short drive I was home.
As always in these posts on Steemit, all the photographs are made by me.
[//]:# (!steemitworldmap 44.871397 lat 13.860443 long d3scr)

Sort:  

Hiya, @itchyfeetdonica here, just swinging by to let you know that this post made into our Honorable Mentions in Daily Travel Digest #773.

Your post has been manually curated by the @steemitworldmap team and got an upvote from @blocktrades to support your work. If you like what we're doing, please drop by to check out all the rest of today's great posts and consider supporting us so we can keep the project going!

Become part of the Haveyoubeenhere community:


Hi. :) Thank you !

cuddle_hug3.png

He, he :D meow !

Oh wow, is that just a natural mist or smog? Interesting shots.

@tipu curate

Thanks for the tipu tip :) It's natural, relatively clean mist, there in not much industry around.

Too quiet! Only buildings everywhere!!

He,he ... true, it's a small and quiet city ... until summer, then the tourists bring some action.

A wonderful walk, the Colosseum, the streets, everything is stunning and excites the imagination, as if I myself took a walk there!
It's nice to see people easily dressed, otherwise I’m already tired of the snow)

:) Here the snow comes rarely, once in a decade for a day or two, there is some regular, every winter snow in the mountains 100 km north ... but also not for longer periods - so the people here, me included :D adore the snow like a pretty cool and exotic thing.

Usually we have 3 months of snowy winters, but this year it has become an exotic too for us) fell just two weeks ago, and is predicted to start melting soon ...

Cool shots on your walk the fog adds a cool moody mysterious feel to many of the shots

Thanks for joining Wednesday Walk :)

Your every photos are really nice and you have collected nicely.

Thank you. :) Glad you like this walking story.

Congratulations, Your Post Has Been Added To The Steemit Worldmap!
Author link: http://steemitworldmap.com?author=borjan
Post link: http://steemitworldmap.com?post=wednesday-walk-from-gray-to-slightly-blue


Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Steemitworldmap
  • Click the code slider at the bottom
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 57893.29
ETH 3130.56
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44