Buttons, Buttons, and More BUTTONS!!!!steemCreated with Sketch.

in OCD5 years ago

How Do I Even Start This Tale ..

A long, long time ago, when I was merely a lad... okay, not that way. A long time ago when I was addicted to thrift store shopping, I bought a box of Buttons. Now this seams like the perfect start to the story. I made the impulse purchase of a cardboard box filled with thousands of buttons. I dropped a measly $10 to $15 dollars on this find. At the time I have no idea what I was thinking. It only took 18 years of sitting in my basement, before I opened them and a surprise at that. Not only were there tons and tons of buttons in this now decaying box, but a world of other items that would take me on many research journeys.. and they aren't done quite yet

XAPC6826.JPG

Buttons, Buttons, and More BUTTONS!

Of course there were the buttons. All sorts of buttons. After a short while of digging through them and sorting them out, I realized that my perception of those little round things that keep your clothing tied together, would quickly change. There are some many kind, colors, textures, shapes and sizes. There were plastic ones, metal ones, wooden ones, glass ones, some made of shell and others made of bone. Some of them I couldn't begin to tell you what they were made of. I even found one made of jade. I slowly undertook the month long task, of sorting through them, one at a time. While I sat in the evening, I would take a cup full of buttons and sort them into piles. I simply put the ones that looked like they were made of the same materials, together in bags. Later on I would look at them a bit closer.

Here I started out by emptying the decomposing paper boxes into several buckets and bags. The old box got damaged from sitting on the damp concrete floor of our basement for 18 years.

YIXE5018.JPG

As I sorted through the buttons, I placed them in piles or baggies. I ended up pushing a couple of tables together so I had plenty of work space. The dogs were always curious about what I was doing, and the wife was ready to kill me for this mess.

IMG_2378.JPG

Eventually after about a month or so, I had it all sorted out except for a small pile of about 1,000 to 1,500 ordinary buttons.

IMG_2387 (2).JPG

Here are my piles..

of buttons that I sorted to the best of my knowledge. I am no button expert, so my descriptions could be off and are most definitely amateur.

First we have, what I call, the plastic buttons; Celluloid, Bakelite, Lucite, and Vegetable Ivory Buttons.

XAPC6826.JPG

NYUO9053.JPG

Next up are the metal buttons ..

Most of these metal buttons appear to be made of brass or copper. Some of them appear to be painted while others are stamped or pressed with a picture or pattern. I also found a few military uniform style buttons. They have military symbols on them.

A mix of Metal Buttons. Most of them unique and with out a match.
KWEQ1759.JPG

Military Metal Buttons

OMMY6057.JPG

Now onto the glass buttons..

Most of the glass buttons I sorted out of the mass, were black glass buttons. Some of them very intricate, while others were of simple design.

RNHR5755.JPG

Simple black glass ..

IMG_5609.JPG

More detailed black glass buttons ..

IMG_5610.JPG

Here are the wooden buttons ..

Before you ask, I have no clue what kind of wood these are made of. All types of wood was used, I would imagine.

JIRZ9445.JPG

Bone or Vegetable Ivory buttons ..

LQSN2106.JPG

I found several Mother of Pearl buttons ..

Some of the unique ones were slightly damaged, but still cool to look at. Some were simple and others had a more complex design to them.

YKID0957.JPG

I even found some of the remnants of shells that those Mother of Pearl buttons were carved from! Awesome find!

IMG_5606.JPG

Some of the buttons were still attached to the paper or heavy card board, used to sell them.

IMG_5611.JPG

Here are a few interesting ones.. A hand carved, jade, elephant button, a few cameo style buttons, one with a picture on it, and one that looks like a crouching or sleeping Mexican (not sure).
AQSK7725.JPG

HELK8794.JPG

In The End ..

I bagged them all up and stored them for safe keeping. One day when I get the time and energy, I will learn a little more about buttons and possibly sell off a few or display them. Right now I am overwhelmed and really had to get them off the dinning room table. So away they go..

FSUL8413.JPG

Which Was My Favorite You Ask?? ..

The one depicting a DOG of course!!!! Haha ..

IMG_5613.JPG

text16.png

Thank you for swinging by my blog and checking out the post. Have a great day!

Untitled.jpg

text16.png

All words, pictures and art pieces are the sole property of B D Miller Gallery, unless otherwise noted and credited, and are not to be reproduced or copied without the prior written consent of B D Miller Gallery.

text16.png

About Me ~ The Artist

My art work incorporates a wide variety of subject matter, including landscape, seascape, cityscape, and still life images. My works are the product of a continuing process of exploration through which I seek to portray personal and visionary interpretations of my surroundings. My paintings are impressions of places and events from everyday life, an interpretation of my imagination, and personal responses to what I see and feel on a daily basis. More recently I have invested generous amounts of time into my landscape painting. I am surrounded by natural and man made beauty, which inherently presents itself in the tri-state area, and almost demands that I paint it.

Not everything is art. Art is not everything, but it comes close. Art is everywhere and all the time. Art makes you experience the beauty of the world, the people in it, and the places we call home. Art itself is so influential that it can tell stories, show feelings, and express passion or fury. Art exists in addition to language; expression of sensations and thoughts, revealing a way of thinking too subtle and delicate for words.

For me art requires love, honesty and perseverance. In return, it reveals some personal, non-analyzable, and creative untamed passion. For the public, art with its magnificent beauty, improves mood and health and builds better human beings and communities. It engages the intellect, softens the heart, strengthens the soul and frees the spirit.

text16.png

If Your Interested In Purchasing Any Of My Work:

They can be found for sale in

My Facebook Shop

OR

My Etsy Store

If you don't see the piece in either shop, It may still be drying. Let me know and I can upload it as soon as possible to be available. Or you can always make me an offer (in SBD or STEEM) in the comments section of this post. If we agree on a price, I will then ship the painting to you. (shipping costs will be determined by your location).

text16.png

Power House Creatives Logos FINAL_float.png

PHC and C2 tag.png

text16.png
text16.png

0120011305.jpg

“Once you have had a wonderful dog, a life without one, is a life diminished.” —Dean Koontz (author, Whispers)

text16.png

I Proudly Support The SBD Potato: Peg Repair Community Initiative

Beneficiary Declaration: This is a 15% @sbdpotato beneficiary post!

Sort:  

looking at the "small pile of about 1,000 to 1,500 ordinary buttons." on the table, a nicely laid out pile, smoothed out a little bit, squared up a little bit, and then a high quality overhead shot of them all and then made in to a 1500 piece puzzle, I think it would be a great puzzle to piece together on a cold winter night for some people. the old stand by rustic barn, and moon, and same old landscape old castle picture puzzles would not stand a chance next to a button puzzle.

What an AWESOME Idea!! 😃 you are always full of great ideas. Thanks for the advice. I’ll have to mix them all up again, but may be worthwhile hmmmmmm.

Your balance is below $0.3. Your account is running low and should be replenished. You have roughly 10 more @dustsweeper votes. Check out the Dustsweeper FAQ here: https://steemit.com/dustsweeper/@dustsweeper/dustsweeper-faq

Got it thanks for the reminder, deposit on the way.

I have a happy fascination with buttons, but I don't know why. I don't collect them really, although I do have a small jar of them I have kept over the years.

Happy is good. Mad sad or afraid would be terrible. You would be best friends with Velcro for sure. Haha. I see jars of buttons at the antique stores all the time and feel compelled to buy them. I don’t though. I have enough right now. Lol. There’s just something about buttons in glass jars that makes me smile too 😊

What a beautiful collection of buttons, I wish I had all the colors to make a portrait holder.

Oh boy do I have a lot of buttons. Definitely a lot of colored ones. 😊

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 61733.68
ETH 2481.63
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.63