Gotta Catch 'Em All! - Brand SJW Spanking New Meme - Pepperidge Farm Remembers 150 P̶o̶k̶é̶m̶o̶n̶ Genders

in OCD5 years ago (edited)

Please don't confuse my meaning. I 100% support all humans right to choose their own sexual preference!

     Unlike that certain democratic campaign staffer, I do NOT wish to send ANYBODY to "re-education" camps.

pepperidge farm 150 Pokemon genders.jpg

     As part of this memetic work, I modified the Pepperidge Farm meme with futuristic background and, if you are paying attention, you will be able to tell I slightly aged him.

     The premise is that in the year 20XX the general consensus is that there are more genders than there were in Pokemon Red or Blue. Who knows?

    I don't really believe this to be the case because I can't really fathom the world being any stranger than it is now but people surprise me everyday.



Here's a fun one from today. Florida man strikes again!

Screenshot_20200118-092650.png

Yes, the meme technological backdrop looks advance and it's up to you whether you believe that would be the case because of postmodern thinking or despite it. I would go with the latter.

My position is simple.

     One's sexual preference is in a completely distinct category from ones biological gender. Whereas one is fluid or dynamic, the other is static and determined via our genetic composition.

     These is not hateful. This is not violence. That is my belief according to my own understanding of man.


maxresdefault (1).jpg
Meet EdBassMaster from Youtube. This is his character Tequila Johnson. Very funny stuff. Check it out!

No, I'm not referring to fringe cases such as hermaphrodites. We can assent to their gender claims as there is a physiological basis.👌

But if the origin is ontological presuppositions... I'm not biting.

     There should not be a functional difference in either case but one often attempts to coerce others to intellectually assent to that ontology whether we do or not. This poses a problem to anybody that bears convictions to the contrary, be them secular or religious.

And that is NOT cool in my book

     Tolerance is a 2-way street, my friends, and often, in our quest for knowledge and truth, we may arrive at starkly different conclusions. Sometimes our differences can be reconciled or we otherwise can coexist in peace. This is not to say their our certain beliefs or convictions that are not only mutually exclusive but come with implications of hostility.

     Certain ideas cannot coexist without friction in other words. That's to put it lightly. To be more blunt, certain ideas naturally put people at enmity with one another. Until our collective beliefs are uniform but more importantly the truth. I surmise this conflict will always exist.

Presuppositions are like assholes. We all have them.

    Presuppositions are the things we believe about that which is metaphysical, that which transcends the material but are beyond the grasp of empirical inquiry.

     For example, take the the law of non-contradiction from the classical rules of logic. The rational mind knows this trutb intuitively. Take the following claims:

  • A equals B
    And
  • A does NOT equal B

     We cannot validate this in a laboratory yet we know that both claims cannot simultaneously be true as they necessarily contradict each other. This is what I mean by ideas being mutually exclusive

Unlike Burger King, we can't have it our way...

     That is if our way entails believing mutually exclusive truth claims are concurrently true. Internal consistency of belief is the hallmark of a sound mind.

     Having such a mind is a goal for which we should ALWAYS be striving. Such may require an individual to humble themself on occasion and concede to something perhaps we didn't know before. In the realm of science, this is more simple but we must acknowledge is that scientific consensus, not unlike our blockchain, is something that is subject to change contingent on new discoveries, information and data.

     But let's not deceive ourselves into assuming the infallibility of the humans involved in these processes. Sometimes error may be the result of miscalculations or perhaps failures of equipment. In other instances and such has been recorded in history, they are more deliberate in nature such as hoaxes. That is why it is all the more important we be scrupulous and discerning with respect to the things presented to us as absolute truths. We should be very careful the things we choose to accept as a priori. (A given)

     I will concede that some that subscribe to postmodern gender theory may not necessarily assert that more than 150 genders exist as a given. Yes, I was being hyperbolic in the meme but it was intended to illustrate the point.

     Another point I would like to make is that often the same people that assert more than 2 genders exist will appeal to alleged scientific fact in other areas. I'll leave you to speculate precisely what I mean. The bottom line is we can't force another to subscribe to our presuppositions or ontology but people can sure as hell be forced into lip service. Is that what we want?

Of course not!

     Anyways, I hope this post was more intellectually stimulating to you than my typical writings.

swollMrFlaggy.png


Would you like to delegate to the Steem Flag Rewards project and promote decentralized moderation?

It's much more fashionable than self-voting.

Here are some handy delegation links!

50 SP 100 SP 500 SP 1000 SP

Also, here is my SteemAuto fanbase link if you would like to be one of my consistent supporters

Sort:  

On the lighter fluff side of this topic....

I used to play pokemon red, before pokemania started to roll, and nearly had all 150 pokemon memorized. Then they added all the new ones for new games, and I kind of stopped caring anymore.

Originally, pokemon were genderless, except for a few male and female pokemon with different abilities. As far as I have seen so far in the new Pokemon Sword/Shield you need a male and female pokemon to hatch an egg. Also the main character is forced to be either male or female. This game is made in Japan, so it likely follows their mainstream norms on gender options.

Something tells me Pokemon games are likely to add more gender options in the future to expand the options for pokemon types. Anyone know if there are currently more than 2 gender types in Pokemon Sword/Shield?

Many protagonist characters in Japanese anime games, I can't even recognize if a character is a boy or a girl (or something else) based on their hair, fashion, body type, or dialog. When a voice actor is provided for the character, it usually helps me solve the puzzle, but it's still a mystery when a women provides the voice for a young boy. Often I think it is the exact opposite of what the game designer intended. Then the story dialog eventually reveals the gender pronoun when another character refers to them in the 3rd person, and I am frequently surprised by the pronoun they select.

Whew I thought for a moment you were grill my on not including MissingNo. Which I believe is technically the 151st Pokemon. How not inclusive of me! Jk

I have fond memories of doing the copy transfer trick for rare Pokemon with my buddies back and Jr high. Felt I had almost assembled a dream team of Pokemon back in the day covering multitypes with different attack types but I'm sure I can't hang these days. Seems much more complicated.

Now I look at the games and see how much has changes and it can't help but feel old. Lol.

Thanks for the very thoughtful comment.

Yeah don't judge others, just judge yourself!!

I understand this sentiment, Coin, my brotha, but I don't think any of us really do this and practice and for good reason.

Let me give you an example pertaining to the blockchain.

On Steem, we are able to make value judgements about behaviors that are good or bad. For instance, we probably both agree spam doesn't add value and would give it a flag.

In doing so, we have made a judgment and imo a good judgment.

The same applies to practically everything we do but, of course, it's not our right to force people what to do in their personal life in this context. (within good reason so of course excluding things like child / domestic abuse)

We can study societal impact of behaviors but that doesn't mean we have the right to force anybody to confirm to whatever vision we think is ideal for society.

We can help people understand the ideas but it is up to the individual to choose to agree or disagree and I 100% support people having the freedom to come to their own conclusions. I think we are pretty much in the same page.

Thanks for the comment and vote, bud!

Yeah, I agree! Flagging is different as long as it's not done for personal reasons! Thanks!!! Flagging is judging posts, but that kind of judging and critiquing is not a bad thing. Like howe a teacher grades our papers to help us learn to do better!!


Hey @coininstant, here is a little bit of BEER from @eii for you. Enjoy it!

Learn how to earn FREE BEER each day by staking.

It seems we could do with ~3 physical genders; hermaphrodites are born 'quite' often, but are 'corrected' right after birth... most of them are not told once grown up...
I think we have enough tolerance as it is, we might need more criticism!

I agree. How often does that sort of thing happen? I guess I could have gone for the #thereareonly3genders tag but not sure if that helps my odds of someone stumbling on it.

Admittedly, it's a phenomenon I know little about so was not sure if it would be a qualification for a distinct or can we think of it as a combination.

Come to think of it. My father was an OB/GYN before he lost it all.. except the knowledge that it. (Story for another day) Prob be a good one to ask him about. I'll do that

Thanks @captainklaus

Oh yes, would be great to know. A quick search turns out 1 in a 1000, which I think is a lot already!

Hi @anthonyadavisii!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 5.411 which ranks you at #676 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has not changed in the last three days.

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 97 contributions, your post is ranked at #46.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • You've built up a nice network.
  • The readers appreciate your great work!
  • Try to work on user engagement: the more people that interact with you via the comments, the higher your UA score!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

The stats haven't seemed to change in a while and I thought I had been engaging pretty decent. @holger80 do you have any recommendations as to what milestones I need to hit to improve my UA score.

Hi, @anthonyadavisii!

You just got a 12.63% upvote from SteemPlus!
To get higher upvotes, earn more SteemPlus Points (SPP). On your Steemit wallet, check your SPP balance and click on "How to earn SPP?" to find out all the ways to earn.
If you're not using SteemPlus yet, please check our last posts in here to see the many ways in which SteemPlus can improve your Steem experience on Steemit and Busy.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 62629.89
ETH 2572.37
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.74