You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: An Experiment in Anarchism

in Anarchism4 years ago

Trump is not making government smaller, he is making it more pervasive with his walls, immigration controls, trade intervention, bump stock ban, etc. He hasn't ended Bush and Obama's wars. He hasn't ended the NSA wiretapping program. The swamp remains undrained. Aside from his halfhearted re-rigging of the tax system, what evidence can you show?

Alex Jones has always been an odd duck. On the one hand, he introduced a lot of people to good ideas. On the other hand, he has peppered those good ideas with half-truths. I listened to Alex Jones regularly back in about 2007-2010, but I grew frustrated over time with his bluster and fearmongering being presented as an illusion of news.

My experience of the "patriot movement" is one of rabid nationalism, not principled liberty.

Brexit may be a step in the right direction, and the EU is an abomination of bureaucratic control freaks, but I am not convinced it will not be used as a way to consolidate more abuse of power in London.

I am also doing many different things to help, but I don't want to join people who are choosing misguided means. We are all part of history, but will it be for better, or for worse? We must choose wisely. And the fact remains that the political means is an unwise choice.

I see you haven't read No Treason or A Letter to Grover Cleveland based on your replies thus far. We aren't on the same philosophical wavelength, obviously. Want solutions?Try this on for size, if you dare.

Sort:  

Are you for Open Borders? I'm reading a book called The Killing of Uncle Sam. I like Lisa Haven. I've never heard of rabid nationalism but I probably align with it. I like nationalism in general. Yes, Brexit is a step in the right direction. But it partly comes down to certain choices Boris Johnson makes, say for example. Boris may have said things and done things that might not be helping England in the best ways possible. But I feel that Boris is trying to do right thing. At least, I want to believe that Boris is not a globalist. I just don't know how good Boris is. I like what Prager does.

The letter to Grover mentions laws. It is true that government makes too many laws. They're passing too many bills. I would try to halt the passing of all new bills. Actually, the orange man has been trying to reduce regulations. Who said that voting is secret, private? I hate taxes, the IRS. No Treason mentions the constitution and I love the constitution or at least the first ten bill of rights. In the Field Manual PDF, it mentions how bad government can be and I agree.

Government does not represent you. Its territorial claims are not analogous to property lines. Travel without government permission is not trespass or invasion. Nationalism is irrational. Open borders is the consistent libertarian, anarchist position. Closed borders is authoritarianism.

What has Trump done to actually cut regulation overall? Has the number of pages of federal regulations actually decreased?

Do you not know about the secret ballot system?

It's not that government can be bad, but that it is always bad. Government is a territorial monopoly in violence claiming superior right to the lives, liberty, and property within the claimed territory. A veneer of democracy changes nothing.

Do you lock your door? I took a photo of my vote. Government is bad. We have government. We live in reality where we have bad stuff. We cannot just make bad stuff and bad people disappear.

National borders are not analogous to property lines or doors.

Good for you. Are you willing to be held responsible for the actions of the individual you think represents you? Trump turned me into a felon when he banned bump stocks. YOU are responsible if you voted for him by that logic.

You can't make bad stuff disappear by trying to use it. Government is like Tolkien's Ring of Power. It always corrupts regardless of intention.

Are you protesting Trump for that? I encourage you to protest Trump. I try to protest Trump on how 5G is giving people cancer. You say you cannot use bad stuff. But that is all you got. You are basically saying to do nothing. Because bad is everywhere apart from something eternal.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 65915.92
ETH 3486.15
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.67