An Experiment in AnarchismsteemCreated with Sketch.

in Anarchism4 years ago

anarchist-40386_640.png

I am not at all an expert in the new Steemit Communities feature, and I have no Reddit experience, but I think I'll give this a try. Here goes nothin'!

I know my economic opinions are outside the mainstream of anarchism, if such a thing can even be said to exist, but I hope this community can serve as a hub for constructive conversations about stateless society, voluntary association, and cooperative progress.

My personal philosophical influences include Lysander Spooner, Frederic Bastiat, Murray Rothbard, Samuel Edward Konkin III, and Karl Hess. I can't say I agree entirely with any of them, but I tend to favor Austrian school economic analysis over Marxism. I haven't read as much Emma Goldman or Pierre-Joseph Proudhon as I would like.

What brings you here? What would you like to discuss? Do I need to do anything to make this community more accessible or easier to use? Please comment below and contribute something to the conversation!

Sort:  

Excellent to see this initiative. Subbed. @kennyskitchen, you might like this one too.

I'll try and make an anarchy post soon, it's been a while. But all my posts are anarchy posts in a way, so there's that.

This past week, I have consciously tried to post what I would write anyway in the absence of the threat of state violence against peaceful people. I don't like to sink to the depths of constantly railing against the State and its abuses all the time. That can become a very dark place to dwell.

Great idea. Sign me up :)

I think you need to sign yourself up :D

Voluntary from the start. Just how I like it.

Congratulations @jacobtothe! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You distributed more than 24000 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 25000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

You can upvote this notification to help all Steem users. Learn how here!

Toss a vote to your poster, oh blockchain of plenty, oh blockchain of plenty...

I push to make government more local and smaller too.

I am not sure that is possible. Government is like a cancer. It grows and consumes and centralizes by nature

What is not possible? We cannot stop the cancer of government? That is not possible? We cannot try to make things better?

We can certainly try to make things better, but I doubt the efficacy of trying to fix a large tumor by feeding many smaller tumors. The result will not be health.

You are a government unto your own body. Government is everywhere.

Self-government and voluntary associations are distinct concepts from imposed government, regardless of scale.

But what happens when there are power vacuums, historically speaking? Other tyrannies come in to fill in those gaps, especially in the Middle East. That should not happen but it does happen. I like anarchy but we do not have anarchy or we don't have certain types of anarchy. Destabilization messes things up. Globalists divide and conquer. Hypothetically, self-government is better like you said. But the world is too dangerous for that. Therefore, I suggest the balancing of the four branches of governments, which is what the United States is founded on, with an emphasis on the tenth amendment which too many people do not talk at all or enough about.

What is a "power vacuum," and how does the historical predation of governments prove anything? How have attempts to balance government and restrain it worked out this far?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 56924.47
ETH 3086.51
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.41