Achievement 1 by @william8wayward Task: Verification through Introduction

in Newcomers' Community4 years ago (edited)

Hi, my name is Brenden Haukos. Within my family, we have always pronounced our last name like as in hokus pocus.

I am age 32.

I live in the great state of Minnesota in the United States of America, where in our state we call ourselves the land of 10,000 lakes when really we have thousands more than that. Naturally, I grew up swimming and fishing and dreading winter. The myth of Paul Bunyan still lives in the land of Minnesota. Maybe you haven't heard of him, but he was a true legend.

I work for a Honda dealership. I am a driver for the service department, basically a gopher. I like my job, but it is not my passion, so I'm always trying new things and making openings within myself for change.

I only recently started looking into cryptocurrencies. My knowledge of them is not even yet rudimentary. I am very curious and hopeful about it.

My interests have changed, cycled, evolved, &more over the years. Some dreams have died on me and O what fell witness I have made to their decay. And yet, spring fires arrive to melt away the white hold of winter water. How did the first seed come to be? I am compelled by such questions, and I am driven by the possibilities beyond the frontiers of thought, and I am seeking in the less obvious ways of getting there.

I have many interests that are less ephemeral. Like martial arts in general and mma in particular. I enjoy grappling and have done some bjj study- as well as kickboxing classes -under a former welterweight and middleweight contender in the WEC, UFC, and One FC. On a philosophical level, I would say what is really essential is not so much the fighters as the fight. Or at least it is productive to consider this possible point of emphasis. Anyway the real point is that I wanted to share a few of my favorite fights to watch. Covington vs. Lawler, Texeira vs. Santos, and Sakuraba vs. Randleman (from Pride FC).

The great Khabib Nurmagomedov, the Eagle, recently was asked in an interview what it takes to be champion. His answer was something to the effect of, you have to want it. He said there are other important factors, notably discipline. But none so central as desire.

My favorite color is blue. Green, a close second.

I believe in magic.

As far as posts from other users, I am hoping to discover things that make me feel things that I scramble to describe, that make me feel alive. Vital. Dynamic. I want to look forward to what's new and continue to be surprised.

What sort of posts will I be creating? I'm not entirely certain, at this point. One of the more ambitious ideas I have is to try to use this ecosystem to adapt a form that is similar to the traditional novel, or at least inspired by it. I imagine the sky is the limit.

I found steemit by accident when I was looking into what is cryptocurrency. I am enticed by the possibility of generating something of possible value in the world to come. And I wouldn't do it if I didn't think it would be fun along the way.

Lastly, I want to mention Don't Starve: Together. It is a game with many platforms but I did all my playing on XBOX ONE. It is my favorite game, modest as it is. It is so fun. And though I am not a dedicated gamer, I did give the totality of myself to that game during certain times I played it. During those madcap stints I probably gave up weeks off the end of my life that I can hopefully scrape back through drinking herbs or maybe algae. I also achieved things I will always hold dear.

The longest I ever survived was approx. 111 days, and I was killed by a hound attack in the middle of a winter's night. My perennial character and the one I was then was Wigfrid. I died fighting. And there is no death more befitting the spirit of a warrior.

Thanks for reading!

#achievement1
#unitedstatesofamerica
#introduceyourself
#usa

Footnote: my favorite book of all time is Steven Erikson's 10-book fantasy epic the Malazan Book of the Fallen..my favorite movie of all time is subject to volatile fluctuations over time but currently "I Kill Giants"

Thanks again. Hopefully connect with you soon.
20201224_160814.jpg

Sort:  
 4 years ago 

Welcome to steemit @william8wayward. Success in your goals and achievements.
Motivation. Joy of First Achievement. go ahead you can do it

 4 years ago 

thank you sir. I appreciate the encouragement.

 4 years ago 

Welcome to the steemit community @william8wayward, I trust you will enjoy your stay here in the steemit community, all of us @steemit and @steemalive are happy to have you.

Please endavour to complete your achievement posts for a roundup knowledge about steemit and the communities that support it.

You can join the #dairygame , where you report guys daily activities, you can also join #betterlife with steem and #mytownin10pics program live in steemit.

Follow @steemitblog for new updates.

 4 years ago 

thank you very much for the warm welcome

Hi Brenden welcome to Steemit community. Glad you found us. Keep on writing and most importantly at the beginning is to make yourself visible by commenting on other people's posts that intrigued you. As for your achievement post, the curator/mentor will come visiting you soon, so hang in there, don't let that diminishes your enthusiasm in starting your journey on Steemit. All the best and nice to meet you!

 4 years ago 

Hi @cryptokannon and thanks for this welcome! It is nice to meet you as well. I may have been feeling some nervous impatience and I'm sorry if it showed. I will remember your advice to stay visible and comment on others's posts. Thx again.

 4 years ago 

Hi @william8wayward,

Congratulations !

You have successfully completed achievement 1 on "Verification through Introduction". Your next task is to complete achievement 2

👉 You can follow @steemitblog for the latest updates and news on steemit platfrom and follow @steemingcurators for find more information about new contests and events.

👉And I like to invite you for the "A Better Life With Steem' project " #betterlife , you can find information from here
See you soon with the next achivement !

Please feel free to ask anything and have a nice day !

 4 years ago 
You have been upvoted by @besticofinder, Steem Greeter from STEEM POD Project and we are voting with the Steemit Community Curator @steemcurator03 account to support the newcomers coming into steemit. Follow @steemitblog for the latest update on Steem Community. Steem on!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 65070.55
ETH 3147.10
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.55