Achievement 2: Basic security in steemit

in Newcomers' Communitylast year (edited)

Screenshot_20220324-203532.png
Source

Good day my fellow steemians
having learnt the importance of completion of all achievement posts, and how it helps us understand steemit better in other to create quality contents on steemit
Having Introduced my self to this platform
I'll be taking more on the basis securities in steem, the 5 encrypted or permission keys on steem, how to transfer and power up liquid steem on steemit
let me start by defining the word ``SECURITY''

Security

According to the Merriam Webster dictionary
Security is the state of being protected or safe from harm
it is further more defined as an instrument of investment in the form of a document

Basic security in steemit

Having clearing stated the meaning of security above
I will then say the aim of this task is to throw more lights to the fact that steem has been able to set up a very strong security to help all it's users protect their accounts from harm and unauthorized access from the bad guys trying to steal from your wallet especially
they are five basic keys in steemit used for different security purposes
These keys are the posting key, active key, owner keys, memo keys, and the master keys. The Master key is the first and most important key followed by the owner key
without these keys you won't be able to access or retrieve your steemit account if compromised or lost.

Question 1

Have you retrieved your Steemit keys?

Ans: Yes I have done that and I have also backed them up to my Google drive incase my phone gets missing or stolen

Question 2

Do you know each of these key's functions?

Ans: Yes I know their various functions
And they will be stated below

  • Master Key:

The master key is a very important key in steemit it is used to derive all keys for your account, including the owner key.
So do not let a third party have access to it because, they can steal your account and all of the tokens in it.

  • Posting key:

The posting key is for the everyday logins, it is also used to comment, edit, vote, resteem, and follow or mute other accounts.

  • Active key:

The active key is necessary for sensitive tasks such as transfers , power up/down of liquid steem, voting for witnesses, and placing a market order
So if u misplace your active key
hackers will have access to all your Steems except your steem power

  • Owner key:

The owner key is the most powerful key because it can be used for recovery compromised account and other keys, including the owner key.

  • Memo key:

This key is used for decrypting and encrypting memos on the platform when transferring funds.

Question 3

How do you plan to save your master password?

I planned to backup my master password to my Google drive in case my phone get lost or stolen. Im aware if I lose this key, I lose everything.

Question 4

Do you know how to transfer your liquid steem token to another account?

Ans: I can do that, and here is how it goes

• First I clicked on my wallet, then logged in with my username and posting key

• After that an active page appeared, where we have the balances, key and permission, change password etc

• Under balance we have steem, steem power etc
I clicked on the drop down arrow after the steem, a small dialogue box appeared
Then I clicked on transfer
A page popped up I filled in the amount I want to transfer and recipient name, and reasons for transfer in the memo then click on next

Screenshot_20230307-102713_1.png

Screenshot_20230307-102756_1.png

• After clicking on next another page popped up requesting for my public active key password which I inserted and the steem was successfully sent to the recipient

Screenshot_20230307-103226_1.png

Question 5

Do you know how to power up liquid steems?

Ans: Yes I know, I was also able to power up mine

• First of all I clicked on the drop arrow after steem, clicked on power up then the amount I want to power up , then click on power up

Screenshot_20230307-103049_1.png

Screenshot_20230307-103203_1.png

• A new page was Introduced for me to confirm I want to power up
then I clicked on ok
And it was automatically powered up

Screenshot_20230307-103217_1.png

Screenshot_20230307-103246_1.png

Achievement 1

Conclusion

Thanks for reading my post.
looking forward to the verification of this post and also completing my achievement 3

Cc,
@bossj23

Sort:  
 last year 

Hello
@vudeme123

I would like to welcome you on this beautiful platform wholeheartedly.

I am the moderator of the Incredible India community

I love to welcome you to our community. As I can see you have shared some awesome photographs and our community is based on art and culture.

So it would be our pleasure to have you in our community with many more great photographs.

Our discord:- Meraindia discord link

Regards,
@piya3 (moderator)
Incredible India community

 last year 

You have been verified and you may proceed to the next achievement task #3 at your convenience.

Rate: 2


This post has been upvoted through Steemcurator09.

Congratulations! (1).png


Curated by - @ripon0630

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.12
JST 0.031
BTC 67928.13
ETH 3777.58
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.75