ACHIEVEMENT 3 BY @ubongudofot - TASK: CONTENT ETIQUETTE

in Newcomers' Community3 years ago (edited)

Hello my good steemian folks, it is nice coming up again but this time around with my achievement 3, of course you all know It’s necessary to complete this task.

so far, I have been on this great platform for a few periods of time now and gradually I am catching up few steps to be successful on this vast platform. However, you will agree with me that we learn every day, so in this case, I will admit that I am still learning, willing to learn more and also willing to share the little of what I have learnt. It will interest you to know that I am through with my achievement 1 and achievement 2 and both has already been verified so I need to step forward and make progress.

Thanks to @cryptokannon for the achievement 3 post which serves as a guide as I embark on the journey of my achievement 3. That haven’t been explained, I want to unfold the package I have for achievement 3.

I want to talk about Content Etiquette, but first let me start with some popular terms on this topic. And the first i want to consider is plagiarism. It happen to be one of the most important factors one needs to avoid while writing any content, not just in this platform but any other platform.

WHAT IS PLAGIARISM?

The word “to plagiarize” is Latin in origin and means “to kidnap.” There are different ways of “kidnapping” the ideas or concepts developed by other people. source

“Plagiarism is presenting someone else’s work or ideas as your own, with or without their consent, by incorporating it into your work without full acknowledgement. All published and unpublished material, whether in manuscript, printed or electronic form, is covered under this definition. Plagiarism may be intentional or reckless, or unintentional. Under the regulations for examinations, intentional or reckless plagiarism is a disciplinary offence”.
source.

STOP the act of plagiarism
It is not professional

021.jpg
Image source

Types of plagiarism

Paraphrasing plagiarism
Simply put, paraphrasing has to do with rephrasing a piece of text own by another person in your own words. Paraphrasing without citation is the most common type of plagiarism. So, to make it right, citation from the original source is necessary.source

Global plagiarism
This has to do with copying someone's work entirely and claiming or posting it as your own. To further explain, if you let someone do your written task, assignment/homework in order to present as your own, you commit plagiarism. This is because, there is a lie governing who truly pen down the content. source

Intentional plagiarism
This is a violation of professional ethics. However, most people plagiarize unintentionally, through ignorance of what constitutes plagiarism. However, unintentional plagiarism is still a violation of professional ethics, even if it is done inadvertently.source.

What are the attributes of plagiarism?

*Presenting another person’s ideas or content as if it were yours.
*Using one style of work without taking permission from the owner.

Talking about content, please don’t be confuse, because I am not referring to only written content alone but information in any medium, or any literary, scientific or artistic work: Pictures, Monographs, brochures, writings, reports, conferences even music is inclusive, dramas
and-so-on.

Using an image, video or piece of music in a work you have produced without receiving proper permission or providing appropriate citation is plagiarism.

The following activities are very common in today’s society. Despite their popularity, they still count as plagiarism.
• Copying media (especially images) from other websites to paste them into your own papers or websites.
• Making a video using footage from others’ videos or using copyrighted music as part of the soundtrack.
• Performing another person’s copyrighted music (i.e., playing a cover).
• Composing a piece of music that borrows heavily from another composition. source
To avoid committing plagiarism which we are all encourage to avoid, our works must be cited, that is if we copied from somewhere.
" CITATION is the way you tell your readers that certain material in your work came from another source", Just like what I have done in my work so far. source

I want to appreciate @ngoenyi for encouraging me to make progress in my achievement and @eliany for being of assistance during the course of this write up. Thank you @peachyladiva for encouraging me to make use of markdown style, this is me keeping to my promise.

I have read and understood the Steemit Etiquette on Steemit Community and will do my best to embrace them.

Sort:  
 3 years ago 

I must say you’ve given me full understanding on how to do my own achievement 3
But don’t worried cause I’m not gonna plagiarized cause I’ve known the implication of doing that and I have never copied anyone’s content in this enlightening blog chain/platform
Well done @ubongudofot you have encouraged me to do mine

 3 years ago 

I'm glad you've picked some points from my write up, thank you @essybrandy.

 3 years ago 

Well done,it a nice one

 3 years ago 

Thank you very much @hannyscuture.

 3 years ago 

Nice write up, well done.

Hi @ubongudofot, congratulations on your successful completion of your Achievement 2.

It is my pleasure to announce to you that you can proceed with Achievement 3 which is content etiquette

I also want to encourage you to complete all the Achievement posts in the newcomers community by @cyptokannon. Check here. This will place you in a position to take advantage of the helps rendered to all newcommers.

Thank you for completing this Achievement!

Rate- 2

 3 years ago 

I sure will, thank you very much @ngoenyi

 3 years ago 

Hi, @ubongudofot,

Your post has been supported by @sm-shagor from the Steem Greeter Team.

 3 years ago 

Thank you very much @steemcurator03.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.16
JST 0.029
BTC 60526.03
ETH 2378.39
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.54