Achievement 2 Security Alert by @ubongudofot

in Newcomers' Community3 years ago

poss.jpg
Picture design by me using photoshope and Corel draw

Hello good folks of steemit I’m glad to come up again to this platform to share my thoughts, this time around I want to focus on Security alert and this is so interesting.
Do you know why?

Because this is my field of profession, like this is what I do every day, I secure people’s accounts and also help folks recover some of their social media accounts lost to those bad scammers, I also educate internet users on how to surf safe without falling victim to scammers.
Guess what? this is actually my achievement 2.

Trust me this topic is not just useful to me alone but to all the steemians, I’ll tell you why. Now here is the reason: Once your account is compromised by those, I’ll call bad guys (Illegal Hackers), then your hard work is gone, not for good but for bad, your money would be gone. In fact, your account would be run by illegal user without you accessing your account anymore, Imagine such a scenario, painful right?

So because of the interest my kid sister @eliany have on me on my welfare and how she wants me to progress and be safe on steemit she took time to find out from me if I understood the steps I need to take in other to secure my account on steemit and what I have done so far. She did that in a question and answer format. She asked and I answered her what I have done so far and how I understood some basic keys, that’s how to grow right? so I’m going to share our little Convo perhaps that help other new members in the community too.
So here we go:

HAVE YOU RETRIEVED ALL YOUR KEYS ON STEEMIT?

Trust me I have done that, so I’ll say YES. I was given those important keys after I signed up my account on steemit, I retrieved them and I have kept it safely.

DO YOU KNOW EACH OF THESE KEY FUNCTIONS AND RESTRICTIONS?

Yes, I do, I took time to read about them and also understood each of their functions. Let me explain some of these keys and their functions, for example:

Master password
The master password is one of the most Important passwords, not because it cannot be retrieved when lost alone but because it is also used to generate every other key.

Posting key
posting key as it is self-explanatory comes into effect when a post is about to be published in any community, I can also use it to do other things like to vote, resteem and comment on other people's posts. This is another important key, I kept it safe too.

Memo key
When considering private chat then this key always comes in, I can use this key private chatting, I can encrypt and decrypt messages sent and received through my steemit account.

Active key

This key takes care of my wallet activities like to power steem up or down, transfer token, vote for witnesses and convert my sbd to steem.

HOW DO YOU PLAN TO KEEP YOUR MASTER PASSWORD?

This key is very important, losing them means losing my steemit account and I can’t afford that. So, I plan writing it down in my diary as confidential, I have already done that. Saving it online is not safe either, saving it offline is better.

pad2.jpg
Picture design by me using photoshope and Corel draw

DO YOU KNOW HOW TO TRANSFER YOUR STEEM TO ANOTHER STEEM ACCOUNT?

Yes, I can do that.
And here is the summary of the process below:
After I might have logged into my account
I clicked on my profile image at the top right and under that, there is my wallet
There is an arrow beside steem, click transfer. Once that is done, I can easily type-in the user of which I want to transfer the token to and I include the amount. And that’s it.
Below is the picture of how i did it:

Screenshot_20210902-184011.png

DO YOU KNOW HOW TO POWER UP YOUR STEEM?

Yes, I know. This process is done in wallet as well section.

Once I get to wallet section, I clicked the arrow beside steem and then click power up.

On getting to this point I typed in the amount I want to power up and I get the amount of steempower I powered up for.
Below is the picture of how i did it :

Screenshot_20210902-183851.png

Screenshot_20210902-191702.png

I am grateful to @eliany, @ddwosky, and @goodybest for guiding me to post this Achievement and I am warming up to post my Achievement 3 until then I’ll say Stay alert!!!

Cc:.
@ngoenyi
@madilyn02
@eliany
@benton3

Sort:  

Hi @ubongudofot, congratulations on your successful completion of your Achievement 2.

It is my pleasure to announce to you that you can proceed with Achievement 3 which is content etiquette

I also want to encourage you to complete all the Achievement posts in the newcomers community by @cyptokannon. Check here. This will place you in a position to take advantage of the helps rendered to all newcommers.

Thank you for completing this Achievement!

Rate- 2

 3 years ago 

Thank you very much @ngoenyi, i really appreciate and sure i will proceed to achievement 3

 3 years ago 

Hi, @ubongudofot,

Your post has been supported by @nahela from the Steem Greeter Team.

 3 years ago 

Thank you very much @steemcurator, i really appreciate.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.16
JST 0.029
BTC 60526.03
ETH 2378.39
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.54