Achievement 2 @thomas-saw-chee Task : Basic Security on Steem

in Newcomers' Community3 years ago (edited)

6F47042E-EDAA-42D7-8D86-30535453EAA6.jpeg

Question 1: Have I retrieved all of my keys on SteemIt?

Yes. Now I have. When I first signed up though, I retrieved only the Master Key. I figured “if this can unlock everything, why not use it all the time?” Bad idea. After studying all the info, it became clear that the Master should be used only for account recoveries. That’s when I decided to look up all my keys and list them properly for myself.

Question2: Do I know each of these key functions and restrictions?

Again, after studying what specific role the master key plays in relation to all the others… yes, I now understand each of their functions and each of their limitations.

The Posting Key is for publishing. And the Active Key is used for transfers.

Question 3: How do I plan to keep my master password?

On a piece of paper, in a sealed envelope, which will then be sealed in another bigger envelope, which will then be locked in a safe, which will then be locked in a bigger safe.

Actually, that might be overdoing it. On second thought… maybe just on a sheet of paper in an envelope tucked away safely.

Question 4: Do I know how to transfer my STEEM token to another STEEM user account?

Yes. I’ll simply go to my wallet where I’ll find the SBD (Steem Backed Dollars) and then make the transfer.

9E097A87-B382-4342-B876-DF63D2CC82BB.jpeg

Question 5: Do I know how to power up my STEEM?

In my wallet I’ll find the STEEM that’s in liquid form. Hit the Power Up button on the side bar. Then, type in the amount.

C7EE9D15-C7C5-446F-AEB2-0C92E5CCFC0F.jpeg

There you have it. Achievement 2: accomplished.

And here is the like to my Achievement 1 post:
https://steemit.com/hive-172186/@thomas-saw-chee/my-intro-for-achievement-1

Note: The image at the top is a picture of my literal keys taken with my iPhone.

Sort:  
 3 years ago (edited)

Hi, @thomas-saw-chee:

In question 2, what is the key you use to publish? and which one do you use to make transfers?

for this achievement 2, you need to add screenshots illustrating the processes that are asked of you in questions 4 and 5.

When you have added this let me know and I will come to verify your achievement 2.

Greetings :D

 3 years ago (edited)

For Question 2… the Posting Key is for publishing. And the Active Key is used for transfers.

I will add the requested screenshots soon. My apologies for the length of time it’s taking me to respond.

 3 years ago 

Here is the screenshot for Question 4:

AA198AE8-A6E6-48E7-A979-36E6BBB33466.jpeg

 3 years ago 

And here is the screenshot for Question 5:

AEF1A94D-C662-47A1-A728-0BB5BAC0A3DC.jpeg

 3 years ago 

Please let me know if there is anything else I need to do for Achievement 2.

Thanks for your advice

Hello. These images must be added to the publication. You can edit the post and do it.

Let me know when you've done it.

 3 years ago 

The images are now added to the original publication.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.16
JST 0.034
BTC 63935.74
ETH 2749.19
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.65