Achievement 2 @thegreens Task: Basic Security on SteemsteemCreated with Sketch.

in Newcomers' Community3 years ago (edited)

WhatsApp Image 2021-10-27 at 19.05.36.jpeg

I have over 5 years of experience steeming and during these years, I experienced a lot of challenges with my biggest loss being the @ecodesigns account hack as you can read here: https://steemit.com/scam/@thegreens/phishing-scam-alert-warning-warning-warning
It was very difficult to know what to do at that moment coz APPICS was a part of Steem and they were upgrading, it was very easy for old Steemians to fall prey. The lessons I learned were simple;

  • If the message ain't coming from Steemit Team NEVER use your Master Key on any website except the Steemit Website and only when absolutely needed. I tell newbies when I mentor them to be very careful with third-party sites and NEVER use their Master/Owner Passwords.
  • Lots of people lost their accounts during that period and while we have ourselves to blame, I want to use this opportunity to call on the Steemit Team to improve on information dissemination with respect to their partnerships and third-party deals with other DApps. I also call on them to be very watchful and update their users in case of any potential threats.

After that account hack, a lot has been done to raise awareness and I am very inspired by how much has been done at the level of the Newcomer's community.

From this story, you already know how much I value my account passwords. I effectively understand the uses of each of the keys and I have securely saved them.
I frequently use my posting key to blog, upvote, resteem, and carry out basic steem functions. My Active key is used to log in to my Wallet for business that includes internal market trade and transfers.
I will not walk you through the step-by-step process of effecting a steem transfer and how I use the Internal market coz it's my effective mastery of Steemit that inspired me to start The Greens Steem Bank.
WhatsApp Image 2021-10-23 at 19.45.51.jpeg
Kindly read The Greens' Steem Bank weekly report as evidence of my effective mastery of using my Steem Wallet: https://steemit.com/hive-195150/@thegreens/the-greens-steem-bank-weekly-report-18-24-october-2021-or-steemit-trade-deals-bank-account-created-new-bank-logo-29-steem-given
However, below are some screenshots with details of how to transfer Steem from one account to another:

screenbud-5f12b79c-b711-4565-b4ba-acb72d70b9f5.png

screenbud-cf96b38a-c8ab-4e8e-aed4-44d6e6638b70.png

I used my Master key once, after the Steem-Hive Divide to change my passwords. It's that one password that if someone gets hold of, he/she can change your story, leaving you with soo much misery. The lesson was learned after the phishing scam of @ecodesigns.
I could retrieve the @ecodesigns account since I had the owner key but the process was even complicated coz I need to contact @neoxian which was now a Hivian. This implies I understand the function of the owner key, it can be used to retrieve your account in case it's compromised.
The rule is simple, NEVER USE YOUR MASTER OR OWNER KEY except you needed it and you only need any of the two keys when it's code red.
If you wanted to code or decode a memo, then the Memo key is meant for that purpose.
To conclude, effectively understand the function of all the different Steemit keys and I've safely kept my Master and Owner Passwords in a cemetery somewhere in nowhere lol. I like to tell you where that is but if I tell you, I will have to kill you lol.

About powering up my account, I know how to power up and even have a contest known as The Power Up Challenge, which strives to encourage Cameroonian steemians to power up and win steem for their power-ups.
The #SPUD4STEEM edition of the Power Up Challenge is open and I am looking forward to seeing some very juicy #club5050 power-ups. More details here: https://steemit.com/hive-195150/@thegreens/the-power-up-challenge-vol-19-or-spud4steem-on-november-01-2021-and-win-amazing-steem-prizes
WhatsApp Image 2021-10-11 at 09.43.53.jpeg

Below are some screenshots with details of how to power-up

screenbud-b6a69156-6161-475b-8aca-1aadb4a18761.png

screenbud-e0eb0301-32af-408c-81f6-4da8bc16dd84.png

I recently powered up 105 Steem as you can read here: https://steemit.com/hive-195150/@thegreens/105-steem-powered-up-club5050-or-the-power-up-challenge-spud4steem

WhatsApp Image 2021-10-27 at 11.37.44.jpeg

@thegreens' Achievement 1

Contests organized by @thegreens

You can also participate in any of these contests organized by @thegreens;

  1. The Power Up Challenge
  2. Green Deeds Contest: To be launched by @steemenvironclub
  3. Creative Writing Contest
    51417A24-51E7-427B-891E-FC2DECB99D9E.jpeg
Are you passionate about environmental issues?
Do you want to become a co-founder of a global environmental club on steemit? Visit this link to learn more about Steemit Environmental Club: https://steemit.com/hive-195150/@thegreens/steemit-environmental-club-sec-join-me-to-promote-environmentalism-on-steemit

WhatsApp Image 2021-07-19 at 10.40.45.jpeg

Now is the best time to invest in Steem!

CC:
@steem-cameroon
@majerius
@saxopedia
@fombae
The Greens Footer.jpg
The Greens is a grassroots environmental organization that strives to educate, inspire and engage young people to take action to combat climate change and be at the forefront of biodiversity conservation and waste management.
Banner.jpg

Sort:  

You have been Upvoted @steemitinland. You can support us by delegating your idle sp. You can delegate in our community by clicking through these links.

50 SP100 SP500 SP1000 SP
1500 SP2000 SP3000 SP4000 SP

Join With us

in
Discord Server

We are sorry that we have missed this achievement post curation windows, we will upvote your active post below as an exchange

Greeter @saxopedia

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 64856.09
ETH 3426.71
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.56