Achievement 2: Basic Security on Steem by @texxaz

in Newcomers' Community3 years ago (edited)

IMG_20210902_153942_4_1630606576967.jpg

Hi friends on this platform, I had a good time writing and posting my achievement 1. This post is my achievement 2, and it's about "Basic Security on Steem".
Security basically, has to do with protecting valuables. The tittle "Basic Security on Steem" has to do with protecting your steemit account, and to do this, you have to protect your valuables which your account depends on. These are your Password and Keys. In this write up, I shall briefly discuss about these keys, their functions and how to keep them safely using a questionnaire.

Question 1: Have you retrieve all your keys on steemit?

Answer: Yes I have. Immediately they where given to me when I was introduced, I was instructed to keep them safely. This I have done.

Question 2: Did you know each of these keys functions and restrictions?

Answer: Yes I have carefully study them and now know their functions and restrictions. They are;

Master Password
The master password as the name implies, is the master to all the keys. This is the password you get upon signing up. All other keys can be produced from it. It is the most important and cannot be retrieved when lost. It is used for changing password.
Talking about it's restrictions, it should be noted that the master password should not be used too often. It is only necessary to be used when going through account recovery, and in this case, it's been retrieved from where it's been stored safely.

Posting Key
This key as the name also implies, function in the following ways. It's use to make post in any of the communities. It is the key used for daily login into steemit. This key can be use for voting, editing, commenting, resteeming and also silent other accounts.
Talking about it's restrictions, it is better to reduce the usage of the posting key if not, ones password or keys are more likely compromised.

Active Key
The active Key is use to power up, transfer steem, convert sbd to steem, updating profile, voting for witnessed and making market orders.

Owner Key
The owner key should be properly stored offline and used only to recover a compromised account. It is more powerful than other keys and it should be used only when necessary. It can be use to change any key of an account.

Memo Key
This key is use to encrypt and decrypt messages sent and received through account. Also, it is use to private chat.

Question 3: How do you plan to keep your master password?

Answer: I have kept copies safely offline in my flash drive and on a printed paper. This can be activated online when needed.

IMG_20210902_222405_8_1630617973128.jpg

Question 4: Do you know how to transfer your steem to another steem account?

Answer: Very well, I do. I go to my profile page, then click on my profile picture button at the top right end of the page. There is a drop down, I click on "Wallet".

Screenshot_20210902-145450_1630605967201_1630653928387.png

A new page will display. I will click on the drop down arrow button close to STEEM on the page that will display. A drop down comes up, and I will then click on "Transfer".

Screenshot_20210902-152728_1630593256198.png

A new page will display with caption "Transfer to Account". To finalize the transfer, I will take the following steps:

  • I will fill in my username in the "From" column.
  • I will fill in the username of the person I want to transfer to in the "To" column.
  • I will fill in the amount of steem I want to transfer in the "Amount" column.
    Then I click on the "Next" button.

Screenshot_20210902-145315_1630593359226.png
This is how to transfer my steem to another steem account.

Question 5: Do you know how to power up your steem?

Answer: Off course I do. All I need to do is to go to my profile page, I will click on my profile picture at the top right end of the page. A drop down comes up and I click on "Wallet" in that drop down.

Screenshot_20210902-145450_1630605967201_1630653928387.png

A new page will display, I will then click on the drop down arrow button close to "STEEM" and a drop down will display. On the drop down, I click on "Power Up".

Screenshot_20210902-152728_1630593256198.png

This takes me to a new page with caption "Convert to STEEM POWER", which I will fill following the steps:

  • I will fill in my username in the "From" column.
  • I will fill in the amount of steem I want to power up in the "Amount" column.
    Then click on " Power Up" button below.

Screenshot_20210902-152853_1630593078718.png
This is how to power up my steem.

Conclusively, I want to thank the following steemians @ngoenyi, @eliany and @ohia576 for their support and mentorship so far. I look forward to achievement 3. Buy for now.

Sort:  
 3 years ago 

Hello @texxaz
welcome to steemit continue to post your achievement using this guides
Lists of Achievements by Cryptokannon

You can join any community you wish using this to link https://steemit.com/communities then you scroll down to community of your choices and subscribe (it's absolutely free)
By @cryptokannon

#support500sp
Thank you for your participation

 3 years ago 

Thanks sir, I will put in my best.

Hi @texxaz, congratulations on your successful completion of your Achievement 2.

It is my pleasure to announce to you that you can proceed with Achievement 3 which is content etiquette

I also want to encourage you to complete all the Achievement posts in the newcomers community by @cyptokannon. Check here. This will place you in a position to take advantage of the helps rendered to all newcommers.

Thank you for completing this Achievement!

Rate- 3

 3 years ago 

Noted ma, thanks.

 3 years ago 

Hi, @texxaz,

Your post has been supported by @nahela from the Steem Greeter Team.

 3 years ago 

Am grateful

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 57344.91
ETH 3100.39
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.42