[ACHIEVEMENT 6] - understanding curation and witnesses

in Newcomers' Community3 years ago
INTRODUCTION

Am glad to be back again with my achievement 6 post. I really want to appreciate all those who have made it possible for me to have gone these far in the newcomer community and steemit as a whole, especially @lovveday you are doing a great job as a greeter, May God continue to help you so you can help others

3jpR3paJ37V8JxyWvtbhvcm5k3roJwHBR4WTALx7XaoRovZJVb1atf8PrLUqz1arf3wJgpk3T8FwQdWzWirkDBFuz11n4it8SJFfx8hT6U7y3wSfkBZa31aSFQeX84L1kjari (1).pngsource

NOW TO THE SAID TOPIC

Do You Understand How Voting And Curation Work in Steemit?

steemit, has two type of voting system which are Up Vote, and Down-Vote. Steemit is just like any other media platform that is build on Blockchain Technology that uses Up vote to reward original content. And also use Down Vote to for a content that is in-relevant to Steemit. Authors get 50%, curators get 50%.

Here is and example of curator reward, and Author Reward from my account below.
The more SP you have, the more curation rewards you earn because your vote is greater. Having SP also gives you the power to vote for the witnesses who oversee the blockchain.

What Is This Voting Mana?

Is a power which can be transmitted or inherited. When you reach the point 500 SP, you will notice a slide bar appears before you cast a vote. Thatʼs your voting mana.
You can slide and adjust your voting weight from 1%-100%.

What Happens If You Vote A Post, Before 5 Minutes After Posting?

You already know that the curation reward and author rewards are split equally (50/50). But if the curator votes at the moment of posting, the curator will not receive any reward. The 100% of the reward will remain at the reward pool. Let me explain to you how come. This happens because the split of the curator reward received in the first 5 minutes is calculated base, on the time of the vote cast. If the curator votes after a minute of posting, the curator will receive 20% of the curation reward, why 80% will be for the reward pool.

Voting TimeCurator ReceivesReward Pool
1 Minute20%80%
2 Minutes40%60%
3 Minutes60%40%
4 Minutes80%20%
5 Minute100%0%

From the above table it shows that;

At 1 minutes after post published 20%

At 2 minutes after post published 40%

At 3 minutes after post published 60%

At 4 minutes after post published 80%

At 5 minutes after post published 100% goes to the curator

So it's important to check a post before voting.

Who Will You Vote For Steem Witness ? And Why?

I havenʼt come across many witnesses in this platform but currently I have only use steemit tools developed by @steemchiller and @justyy. these tools are very helpful to me when I want to look at my account details, my vote will be for them.

Which Community Will You Join In Steemit, And Why?

I have joined some handful of community and am still planning to join more. I joined some as they were suggested to me by the greeters in my achievement1 and I joined some due to adverts. I will look for a community by myself soon.

Sort:  
 3 years ago 

Congratulations!

You have successfully completed this achievement task, you can now proceed to complete the next achievement task at your own convenience. Learn more

Good luck
Rate 3

 3 years ago 

Hi, @sufficienti,

Your post has been supported by @abuahmad from the Steem Greeter Team.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 59908.77
ETH 3191.82
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43