Achievement 2 by @steemtopus : Basic Security on Steem

in Newcomers' Community3 years ago (edited)
Children learn about their environment by exploring it, that is by watching, touching and trying things out. They are curious by nature and need careful and gentle guidance from a young age about what danger is and what to stay away from. Most accidents happen in the home. This is why it is important to ensure that your home is safe for all your family. There are many measures to take to protect children from injury or accident in the house. Your steemit account is like this children. it has so much importance that you have to protect it. As a newbie, you don't really know a lot of things and you are really curious. It is why the newcomer's community is there to give the guidance to newbie about the keys and about what the danger of losing them is. After signing up on steemit, the first thing to do on steemit is not to upload profile picture or post your first comment or learn how to earn reward.

The first thing to do is to note down your master/owners keys in a piece of paper and keep the paper in a safe and secure place. or you even safe it on a google drive, flash drive, secure cloud storage or even print it out and safeguide. It is that important. You are entirely responsible for saving password, backing it up and keeping it safe. The password should never be put in a third party website to avoid it being stolen.

3jpR3paJ37V8JxyWvtbhvcm5k3roJwHBR4WTALx7XaoRovf3KZba7CzYDjJZ9AwimMwLc7rRPw9Nd59XMLxMEEzKfshPm9s3CoxWuiypoVzV29gSnFqjM4myFmiAgR5oPK9BL.png
Source
I am writing this post to prove that I have read all through and understood the basic security measures on steem and how to protect my keys from third parties.

These basic security information on steem has to do with how safe I keep my generated private keys from hackers.

The keys include:

POSTING KEYS: these keys are used for;

  • publishing a post
  • comment
  • to edit
  • upvote or down vote
  • resteem contents of other steemians
  • following and unfollowing people or accounts
  • and finding mute accounts.

ACTIVE KEYS: They are used for;

  • transferring token or funds
  • to power up or down transactions
  • converting steem dollars voting for witnesses
  • updating profile details and avatar (profile picture)

MEMO KEYS: Memo Keys are used for;

  • encrypting and decrypting memos when transferring fund.
  • And also viewing an encrypted message.

OWNERS KEYS: I can use it;

  • to reset my active and posting key to recover my account
  • declining vote rights.

2N61tyyncFaFVtpM8rCsJzDgecVMtkz4jpzBsszXjhqan9w6LUrCL9sTnj67jsoQh7ZhPMDaYRTn1C9PhERgv3qQK6RD2W7WMzGicQa1EJacYGYTQzWKF4f6bEKgMEG1gTQKiAJ1gpwQ.jpeg
Source

Question 1

Have you retrieve all your keys on steemit ?
Yes, I have retrieved all my private keys on steemit. I did that after creating my account There is a pdf containing my private keys requesting me to download which i did.

Question 2

Do you know each of these key functions and restrictions?
Answer: Yes I know each of the key functions and restrictions.

Question 3

How do you plan to keep your master password?
Answer: it is saved on my gmail

Question 4

Do you know how to transfer your steem token to another steem user account?
Answer: Sure; by clicking on transfer button, insert the receiver’s username, input my private active keys and send.

*I go to my wallet, click steem and then transfer
Screenshot_20210604-235500.png

  • I then fill the appropriates

Screenshot_20210604-235535.png

Then next and confirm

Question 5

Do you know how to power up your STEEM?
Answer: Yes. Let me demonstrate how to power up:

  • I go to my wallet, click on steem and then power up

Screenshot_20210604-235556.png

  • And then fill the appropriates

Screenshot_20210604-235613.png

  • Then click power up

My achievement 1 link below

https://steemit.com/hive-172186/@steemtopus/acheivement-1-getting-verified-through-introduction

Thanks for reading through my achievement2.

Sort:  
 3 years ago 

Please Describe Q no:5 and also provide the Screenshot of the Qno: 4-5.

Please Provide the Source of the images.

 3 years ago 

Done, thanks for the attention

 3 years ago 

Congratulations! You have been verified for this task and you may proceed to the next achievement task at your convenience.
Please visit this post for guidance about your next Achievement

Rating: 2

 3 years ago 

2 out of?

 3 years ago 

Hi, @steemtopus,

Your post has been supported by @njiatanga from the Steem Greeter Team.

 3 years ago 

Congrats on your Achievement 2 task. It is good you know the importance of your serious keys and how you should keep them safe. I look forward to see your next achievement task.

Best wishes

 3 years ago 

Thank you boss, i am now following you, please do well to follow me back too. Cheers to growth

 3 years ago 

@steemtopus this is well dealt with.
#Steem-on

 3 years ago 

Thank you boss, i am now following you, please do well to follow me back too. Cheers to growth

 3 years ago 

Nice entry, congratulations on your achivement 2

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 54681.92
ETH 2286.50
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.29