Achievement 2 [by @stan015]: Basic Security on Steem

in Newcomers' Community3 years ago (edited)

FlyerMaker_05052021_001026.png

INTRODUCTION
Hello Everyone! With regard to the task of Achievement 2 as well explained by mentor @cryptokannon and @kiwiscanfly on security keys and steem wallets respectively, I will be explaining how I've so far kept my keys safe and also explain steem wallets in my own words/perspectives. I hope you finds this post useful and helpful!

MAIN GIST
The security of a Steemit account should be seen and taken as a priority! That is why steemit mentors and curators takes their quality time to speak about security of a Steemit account keys and they have also explained more Steem Wallet. Yes, every new commer to this great platform should learn and know the best way to handle their keys and also know the meaning of every icon on their wallet.
Just as I said in my in introduction above, I will be speaking on how I have so far kept my keys secured and of course I will advise any new member reading this article to go and read the posts by mentor @cryptokannon and @kiwiscanfly on security of keys and steem wallet respectively. Read and learn from my answers to the questions below, asked by mentor @cryptokannon.

Question 1: Have you retrieve all your keys on steemit?
Yes I have. The day I registered, the keys where displayed for me to see, copy and keep private just as the name goes; *private, it should be private! I was also shown an option to download my keys as a PDF file and of course I did and I have kept this file very secured. Every new person to this great platform, including me, should try as much as they can to keep this quality keys that can not be guessed but stolen safe to deny crimals assess to stealing your keys and thereby stealing your wallet funds!

Question 2: Do you know each of these key functions and restrictions?
Yes I did. After downloading the PDF file that contains all my keys, I realised that there were so many keys on the files, I searched for the meaning of these keys on Google immediately and finally I found the great post of mentor @cryptokannon and that was very much useful, Everyone should read and reread that post. [I will provide the link to the great post below this post so you can go read too!]

Question 3: How do you plan to keep your master password?
Just as explained by our mentor in his post, master password is the greatest of all other keys, it can be used to retrieve all other keys. In that regard, it should be kept very, very secured!
I copied my master key and save it both online and offline. Online in the sense that I used my own E-mail (1) to send it to my own email (2) so I won't loose it even if I lost my phone or my phone gets spoilt. I secured it offline in the sense that I save it to an external drive as a PDF and saved it with a password that only me uses. So I believe my keys are very much secured and anyone can learn from my style too.

Question 4: Do you know how to transfer your steem token to another steem user account?
Yes I do. After reading the educative post by @kiwiscanfly, I learnt how to transfer from my account to another user, I also practically transferred my own steem to my savings just to know how transfer works. Below are screenshots on how to transfer to another users:
•visit https://steemitwallet.com/ and login with your username and appropriate password usually specified on the password box and login
Screenshot_20210505-081955.jpg

•at your steem section, click on the drop down box to see transfer, click on transfer and input the user you want to transfer to in the second box just below the box containing your username. The memo could be any text, though leaving it blank won't affect your transfer.
Screenshot_20210505-082221.jpg
IMG_20210505_082345.jpg

Question 5: *Do you know how to power up your STEEM?
Yes. I have also practically powered up my steem. This could be done by logging into your wallet just as you did above. This time you click on the power up instead aside transfer and others. There you go! Input amount and power up. Your SP can also be converted back to Steem within 4 weeks as I read from @kiwiscanfly's post.

CONCLUTION
It is very much advisable that every new member of this great platform should know how to secure their keys and also know the functions of all the features on their wallet! I hope you finds this post helpful and beneficial.
You can read the parent posts through:
https://steemit.com/hive-172186/@cryptokannon/basic-security-on-steem-achievement-2-mentor-by-cryptokannon
https://steemit.com/steemgreet/@kiwiscanfly/understanding-your-steemit-wallet-and-powering-up

APPRECIATION
I thank you for reading through to this part of my post, I hope you finds it useful!
I also thank in a special way @bright-obias, steem curators and all who curated my Introductory Post. I really appreciate and hope for curation on this my achievements 2.
Your upvotes, views, reviews and comments will mean a lot to me.

You can go read my Introductory Post and meet me @stan015 🙈
https://steemit.com/hive-172186/@stan015/my-introductory-post-to-this-great-community

Thank you 💟

Sort:  
 3 years ago 

You have been upvoted by @bright-obias, Steem Greeter from STEEM POD Project and we are voting with the Steemit Community Curator @steemcurator03 account to support the newcomers coming into steemit. Follow @steemitblog for the latest update on Steem Community. Steem on!

 3 years ago 

Thank you so much 😍. I am motivated to do more!

 3 years ago 

Congratulations !

You have successfully completed achievment 2 task on "Basic Security on Steem". You can now proceed to Achivement 3 : Content Etiquette.

Curation Rate - 3


Follow @steemitblog for the latest updates and news on steemit platfrom and follow @steemingcurators for find more information about new contests and events.

 3 years ago 

Thank you so much. I really appreciate. I will always do my best to offer great contents to this wonderful platform

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.35
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70597.89
ETH 3559.60
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.77