Achievement -2: Basic security of a steem account

in Newcomers' Community4 years ago

In my own opinion, security is actually derived from insecurity, whenever you feel insecure, flip the world and use your insecurities to get the best security, account security is prior and one of the most important things therefore .

IMG_20200723_134158_7.jpg

With of course the master password , less exposure of your personal mobile phone , closing pages after use. I believe those are few of the many ways , we can just try to have full control of our accounts as new members on this prestigious platform.

Today being a Thursday, most people my age refer to it as a Throwback Thursday , and I'd like to Throwback to a situation in regards to the matter . I lost my Facebook account , in 2016 probably because I opened it up in various devices and actually didn't close it , the likes of Cafe's.
So I was hacked and lost most of my data , and later on lost my account for good..
So if there's one thing I really know, and have learned closely, that's to keep my account secure.

There are various steem keys that can be located in the steemit wallet.

Have you retrieved all your keys?

Yes, I have retrieved all my keys using my master password. The posting key, owner key, active key and the memo are all open in my wallet.

Do you know how to send steem to another user

Yes, I can send steem to another steem user through clicking transfer in my wallet on the steem option. There i am required to enter the other person's steem username and the amount
I want to send to that other user. I then enter in the memo (which is like the reason for the transaction). Finally I confirm my transaction with either the active key or the owner key.

Do you know how to power up your steem?

Yes, I can do this too. I simply head over to my steemit wallet. Click the drop down arrow on the steem feature. I then click or choose the power up option.

The master password is a very sensitive key that has more of permissions. Therefore it ought to be stored offline as much as possible.

Sort:  

Thanks so much for responding to achievement 2- basic security of a steem account. You are now secure.

You may now proceed to achievement 3 - content etiquette by following the tasks guidelines in the article here

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 58115.81
ETH 2623.89
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.42