ACHIEVEMENT 3 BY sebnobasi: TOPIC : BASIC CONTENT ETIQUETTE

in Newcomers' Community3 years ago

Happy tomorrow today my fellow steemians, I'm here to talk about one of the most important(if not the most important) content etiquette there is. You probably might or might not have a clue as to what it is but yeah it's the big bad plagiarism.

images.jpeg
Link to the picture
I'd start by defining what plagiarism is.

DEFINITION OF PLAGIARISM
In my own words plagiarism is basically when an individual takes the idea of another individual and passes it off as their own kind of like how Melina trumps speech was "similar"to that of Michelle Obama, but then again I'm not pointing any fingers so.
The mere idea of plagiarism sounds cruel, and it actually is, at least I don't think that any sane person would just love to have another person profit off their hard work. But let's be honest it's way faster and easier to just get the work of some smarter or seemingly smarter guy for that book report, steemit assignment, project or even business proposal that we found on the internet after all why did God give them brains to do the work if not to better the society and since I also want to "better my society" I guess it's only fair I use the better work and take credit for it,I mean what they don't know won't hurt them right? well that's actually very wrong and I can say this because I too have been subject to this way of thinking in my time in university so no I too I'm no saint. But the sooner that we( you and I)understand that this act isn't only lazy, underhanded and fraudulent but just plain rude the better we get to and eventually not fall victim as well.
images.png
Cool pic yeah this is the link
Learning how to cite references, show that that particular sentence, or that picture, or that paragraph or post was not originally your idea, and that you're giving credit to whom credit is due. That my friends is the right and modest thing to do, and i bet it'd make whoever worked on it feel a little bit more appreciated knowing that you respect "their" work.

THE DIFFERENT TYPES OF PLAGIARISM
SELF PLAGIARISM: This is when you make use your own old work for new purposes. You might ask tho is this actually wrong or should it be referred to as plagiarism well if you didn't ask I did because it's my work after all who I'm I plagiarising? Well when you reuse old phrases and paragraphs from some previous work of yours, without permission from the receiver of the project it could be seen that in some ways you're plagiarizing yourself. Tho to be honest the idea of this is quite funny it's still a very serious thing , so just to get this clear, you could be penalized for plagiarizing yourself.

images (2).jpeg
You like? Get it from the source
VERBATIM/DIRECT PLAGIARISM: Now this right here is when you copy someone else's work word for word, without the slightest hint of peculiarity, originality or in my words finesse and also not citing references to the origin of that work.

images (1).png
Here's the link
MOSAIC PLAGIARISM: Here the offender borrows phrases from an article without using any quotation marks (") to show that it was a quote. This might actually the most common one yet in my opinion because, as people try to look for the right definitions to things on the web, they might just end up copying and pasting someone else's definition as their own without putting quotation marks.

HOW TO CITE REFERENCES!
it's actually easy to show that a certain phrase or sentence was someones quote or was from another site. All you literally have to do is, add the '>' sign and space before the sentence
As in the example below

Government of the people for the people and by the people

I'll confess it's not so difficult, you can do it.
Now to add sources of photos you got from the site you just have to make use of the markup below

Where I got this picture from
Now if (like me)you wanted to know how to rename your link on steemit like how I've done in previous photos you just simply [what you want the link to be](the actual link) and presto chango you have your new link name
Like this link right here

CONCLUSION
Plagiarism tho easy, is never the right way to go people. And why times may come that we might want to rather than do work just use someone else's I'd advice that you put yourself in the person's shoes and see how it makes you feel, and if I'm being frank it actually won't help you in the long run. We can all make the world a better place to be in with so much diverse content on the same thing and you can't do that if you don't think about and publish work made using your own process or way of thinking instead of always copying or paraphrasing.
I'll let y'all in ok something big though that there's this community on steemit [ @endingplagiarism] that's dedicated to fishing out acts of plagiarism on this platform. If you in any way suspect an act of plagiarism on a post, please fell free to tag them.

If you actually took the time out of your day to read this then know that I'm actually grateful and happy you did, I hope you learnt something new because I did too and its actually pretty informative. I read about it in the newcommers
community and I hope(by God's grace) that I'd live by it too at least I know I'll do my best let's go on this together yeah

special thanks to @cryptokannon @alphafx @rexxalo

Sort:  
 3 years ago 

Hello @sebnobasi welcome to steemit continue to post your achievement using this guides
Lists of Achievements by Cryptokannon

You can join any community you wish using this to link https://steemit.com/communities then you scroll down to community of your choices and subscribe (it's absolutely free)
By @cryptokannon

#support500sp
Thank you for your participation

 3 years ago 

How can I be verified?

 3 years ago 

@ngoenyi please verify me

 3 years ago 

Don't worry you will be verified

 3 years ago 

Nice

 3 years ago 

@xkool24 please help me verify this if you can

 3 years ago 

Hello @sebnobasi, nice piece and good understanding of the task. But endeavor to use your plagiarism tool checker just to be double sure that you've abstained completely from this menace.

Your achievement task has been verified, hence you can proceed to the next task.

Rate2
 3 years ago 

Thank you sir noted

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 61986.52
ETH 2406.81
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.65