Achievement 2 @sandun98 Task : Basic Security on Steem

in Newcomers' Community4 years ago (edited)

1.jpg

Hi everyone, it's been a week since my first achievement. So, I'm gonna tell about my second achievement which is about Basic Security of Steemit.

When I was a little, I mean few years back I remember I used to forget my passwords. In spite of how many times it happened, I didn't take precautions for it. But now I do.

To I write this post, I got help from @dasuni and she gave me an idea about it. Then I referred to @randulakoralage 's post on basic security and there were these valuable links.

  • @cryptokannon 's post on keys
  • @kiwiscanfly 's post on steemit wallet
  • Those posts enlightened me on those subjects.

    So in steemit, there are master passwords and each of them have different usages. First I got my Activation Key. In addition to retrieve other keys, Activation key has to be entered to the given space in. Keys &Permissions' Section. Then you can have your keys. They are,

    Posting Key

    This key is used to,

  • Daily Logins
  • Post, Comment and Resteem
  • Upvote or Downvote
  • Follow and Mute other accounts
  • Active Key

    This key is used to,

  • Transfer Tokens
  • Power steem up or down
  • Convert Steem Dollars
  • Vote for witness
  • Place orders on an exchange
  • Update profile details and avatar
  • Place a market order
  • Owner Key

    This is the most important key.
    This can be used To,

  • Recovering your account
  • Reset owner, Active and posting keys
  • Decline voting rights
  • Memo Key

  • This key is used to Encrypt or decrypt a memo when transferring funds.
  • I created a pdf file for this passwords. Then I copied them into my Laptop and external Hard Drive. Also I have a copy in my phone. I think it's better if I have a hard copy of it. When next time I go to the city, I'll make sure to get a print out.

    I got to know about Steemit Wallet. There are theree types of Steem.

    Steem

  • We can transfer to another account or trade in internal market or we can use it to maximize Steem Power
  • Steem Power

  • It's like a fixed deposit of us in Steemit. If it's higher, your account will be better. You can make it liquid but it takes about a month.
  • SBD aka Steem Backed Dollars

  • This is almost like Steem. And value of 1 SBD stays around 1 USD.
  • I did some reading on how to transfer my steem token to another account and that stuff. May be in Future I'd like to do it for real. And I have a better understanding now. Also read how to do a Power Up and I that that'd be enough for now.

    So, this is my Achievement 2. Special thanks goes to @cryptokannon and @kiwiscanfly for their posts. They were very informative.
    And That's for now. See you guys in next one.
    Peace ✌️

    Sort:  
     4 years ago 

    It is very much essential to understand and get familiar with these keys.
    You have taken steps to ensure the security of your keys by various methods. 😊😊 it is good. 🙌

     4 years ago (edited)

    It is very much essential to understand and get familiar with these keys.

    Yeah. It's good for future

    You have taken steps to ensure the security of your keys by various methods. 😊😊 it is good. 🙌

    Learning from early mistakes😅😅

     4 years ago 

    Great post...glad you understood your keys well

     4 years ago 

    Thank you 🤗🤗

    Your post has been upvoted by Steem Sri Lanka community curator.


    Join With Our New Concept Contest Series... Try it! It's a puzzel Steem Sri Lanka - Contest Series | Round 02 | Week 01| Two In One Challange

    You may proceed to the next achievement task 😊

    Coin Marketplace

    STEEM 0.18
    TRX 0.16
    JST 0.030
    BTC 62852.17
    ETH 2463.87
    USDT 1.00
    SBD 2.64