Achievement 2 @sampu Task : Basic Security on Steem

in Newcomers' Community3 years ago

Q1. Have you retrieve all your keys on steemit?

Answer : Yes, I have noted down all my keys in a ms word document and kept that in my personal laptop as well as in an external hard disk.



Q2. Do you know each of these key functions and restrictions?

Answer : Yes, I have learnt that-

(i) Posting key - This key is used for posting any content, post reply to own or other's post, upvote and post/comment, downvote any post/comment, re-steem any existing post, follow any user or mute any user.

(ii) Active key - This key is used for transfer existing Steem dollars to another user, send it to savings, send existing steem dollar to market, use existing steem dollar for trading, convert steem dollar to steem. Active key is needed for power-up Steem to Steem Power and power-down Steem Power. Active is also required to update profile details and profile picture. Active key is needed to vote in favor of an witness.

(iii) Owner key - This key is used to reset posting key, reset active key, and also reset owner key itself. Owner key is used to recover account purpose in case of hacked or compromised account. It can also be used to decline voting rights.

(iv) Master Password - This is used to derive the owner key, the active key and the posting key. As evident from the name, Master Password is the most powerful password and need to be stored and handled very carefully and securely.


Q3. How do you plan to keep your master password?

Answer : I have written it in my personal diary, but backward. That means if my Master Password is ABCD123WXYZ, I have written it as ZYXW321DCBA. Hence, if someone steal my diary and understand that key as my steemit master password, still will not be able to login into my account.



Q4. Do you know how to transfer your steem token to another steem user account?

Answer : Yes, I know how to transfer my Steem token to another Steem user account. I have transferred an amount to another user myself. Below are the steps-

(i) Login into Steemit Wallet : Need to login to https://steemitwallet.com/@USERNAME.
IMG_20210623_031307.jpg

(ii) Select Transfer from the drop-down menu beside STEEM
IMG_20210623_181724.jpg

(iii) Need to input the user name, transfer amount and transfer memo. Click Next
IMG_20210623_182139.jpg

(iv) Cross check and verify the user name, amount and memo. Click on Ok if the details are correct and satisfying, else click on Cancel.
IMG_20210623_182342.jpg

(v) Need to provide own Active Key / Owner Key / Master Password. Click on Sign In
IMG_20210623_182254.jpg

(vi) The transfer will get completed.

(v) The transfer will appear in Transaction History after refreshing the Steemwallet page.
IMG_20210623_182447.jpg

This is how to transfer Steem token to another Steem user account.



Q5. Do you know how to power up your STEEM?

Answer : Yes, I know how to power-up my Steem. I have performed power-up in my account by myself. Below are the steps-

(i) Login into Steemit Wallet : Need to login to https://steemitwallet.com/@USERNAME.
IMG_20210623_031307.jpg

(ii) Select Power Up from the drop-down menu beside STEEM
IMG_20210623_184627.jpg

(iii) Need to input power-up amount less than or equal to wallet amount. Click on Power Up.
IMG_20210623_184752.jpg

(iv) Cross check and verify the user name, and amount. If the details are correct and satisfying, Click on Ok, otherwise click on Cancel.
IMG_20210623_184858.jpg

(v) Need to provide own Active Key / Owner Key / Master Password. Click on Sign In.
IMG_20210623_182254.jpg

(vi) The power-up will get completed.

(vii) The power-up will appear in Transaction History after refreshing the Steemwallet page.
IMG_20210623_185016.jpg

This is how to power-up.

Sort:  

Hi @sampu, congratulations on your successful completion of your Achievement 2.

It is my pleasure to announce to you that you can proceed with Achievement 3 which is content etiquette

I also want to encourage you to complete all the Achievement posts in the newcomers community by @cyptokannon. Check here. This will place you in a position to take advantage of the helps rendered to all newcommers.

Thank you for completing this Achievement.

Rate- 3

 3 years ago 

Hello @ngoenyi, Greetings from India !! Many thanks for validating my Achievement-2. I will complete Achievement-3 shortly.

 3 years ago 

Hi, @sampu,

Your post has been supported by @graceleon from the Steem Greeter Team.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64136.70
ETH 3128.20
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.94