Achievement 3 by @saimaqam Task : Content Etiquette

in Newcomers' Community2 years ago

Greetings from @saimaqam. The achievement 3 task is very interesting as it is about Plagiarism. While pursuing my masters in Zoology, our work was always checked for Plagiarism by the Plagiarism checker tool. So those two years of my life have taught me very important lessons in my life.

Plagiarism refers to wrongly associating someone's work with yourself or simply stealing someone's content for personal gain If someone has created content and you use that content without giving credit to that individual who has created the content then you are liable to be sued for plagiarism.

Example-of-Article-Plagiarism-Diagram.png

source
While doing my masters I was assigned a project to study the impact of organophosphorus compounds on the genetic makeup of Drosophila. It took me about 6 months to complete the project and furnish my results. My work got published in an international journal. So that study represents my original work. Although I haven't copyrighted or patented that work but my name is mentioned as an original author

If someone use that work of mine without mentioning me as an original author of that content, that would be plagiarism and I would feel bad about it. In our country, plagiarism is frowned upon in all academic works.

Steemit is a decentralized platform that rewards its authors for producing quality and original content based on proof of brain algorithm. Steemit wants us to put our grey matter at work and create original and high-quality content. So Steemit is against any sort of plagiarism.

It is not always required to create content by yourself. We can make use of the content available online but we must mention the source of that content to avoid plagiarism. Once we mention the correct source of the content, it means that we are giving credit for that content to the original author and we are taking support from that content. It may at times give a good feeling to the original content creator because they may feel that people are being benefited by their content and their work is recognised by their name or source.

If someone uses my research work for academic benefit by giving credit to me, I would be very happy because my efforts are helping someone excel in their academics and they are giving me credit for my hard work.

At times, content creators may get their work copyrighted. In such circumstances, plagiarism would mount to copyright infringement which is more serious and troublesome for those who do so. So the take-home message is that either create your content or mention the source from which content has been taken.

According to Fishman, plagiarism occurs when someone:
Uses words, ideas, or work products
Attributable to another identifiable person or source
Without attributing the work to the source from which it was obtained
In a situation in which there is a legitimate expectation of original authorship
To obtain some benefit, credit, or gain which need not be monetary.
source

The above definition of plagiarism is given by Fishman and I have taken it from Wikipedia of Plagiarism and the source is also mentioned there at the end. If I use the above definition without mentioning the source then it would be an act of plagiarism.

Same holds for images , vedios, audios and artwork etc. I have used an image in this post at the begining and i have also given link to the source to avoid being labelled as having plagiarised the image .

At the end , below are my remarks as asked in the post

I have read and understood the Steemit Etiquette on Steemit Community and will do my best to embrace them.

Thanks

Sort:  

Greetings, @saimaqam. Your Achievement Task 3 has been verified by @cryptogecko.

Now that you have completed the third achievement task, you may move on to the next one at your convenience. Detailed information about the next task (Achievement Task 4) can be found in this post .

It is also necessary for you to power up your earned steem in order to be placed in a club. To know more about that you can read this post.

For more information, please visit our discord channel made for members from India.


Task Rating: 2


Subscribe & Join Our Indian Community
Telegram ----- Discord

Follow @steemitblog for important updates.

 2 years ago 

If I'll power up whole steem of first payout , should I be placed in club50 or club100?

Thanks for verifying my achievement.

#club5050, for power up done in the last 30 days, in the 50-50 ratio. 50% powered up and 50% withdrawn.

For #club100, you will have to power up all of your earnings for 90 days without withdrawing anything.

 2 years ago 

nice work , it is very happy to know that you from india,,,@saimaqam

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 68034.95
ETH 3846.82
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.66