Achievement 2 by @okorisamuel | Basic security on steem

in Newcomers' Community3 years ago

I want to appreciate the steem community for accepting me at first, thank you all for your support in helping me get my achievement1 done thanks to my tutor @jehoshua-shey who has been guiding me, thank you all for your vote, likes and comment.

In this achievement 2 I want to write on the basic security keys, their functions and restrictions, I will also write on how I plan to keep my master password, I will go further to talk on how to transfer my token to other Steem user account, lastly I will talk on how to power up my steem.

I'm looking forward to get ur votes, comment and likes thanks .

download.jpeg
Source

Let me start answering the questions for this task.

Question 1. Have you retrieve all your keys on steem?

Yes I have retrieve all my keys on steemit. I downloaded my keys as PDF and safe them in my adobe reader, my adobe reader have been locked it can only be accessed by me. I also write out each of the keys and pen them down, the keys have been kept safe both offline and online.

Question 2. Do you know each of these key functions and restrictions?

Yes I know the functions of each keys. I will briefly explain the functions and restrictions of the five basic keys .

I will start with the first one

  1. The Master password (key). The function of the master key is to derive all keys for my account.it is advisable not to use the master password for everyday logging in base on the fact that it is very vital and when the master password is been compromised it can lead to the user loosing is account and tokens.

  2. Posting key: the posting key is used by the account owner to edit, post, comment,vote, resteem, etc. The restriction of the posting key is that it is used only for logging in daily, for commenting , voting, etc.

  3. Active key : the active key is used for sensitive task such as transferring funds, power up and power down transaction, converting steem Dollars, etc. The active key is not meant for daily logging in.

  4. Owner key : the owner also know as the power key, it is the most powerful key in the sense that it can perform the function of any of the other keys. The owner key is used to recover all lost and compromised account, it is therefore advicable to keep it very safe both offline and online.

  5. Memo key : it I'd used to convert information or data into a code which can be understandable while transferring funds. In other to decode information or data it is advisable to use the # sign before the information or data.

Question 3. How do you plan to keep your Master password?

I plan to keep my master password safe and secure. I have already copied it and safe it in my note and the note is locked with my private security.

Question 4. Do you know how to tranfer your steem token to another steem user account?

Yes I have understood the steps involved in transferring my steem token to other Steem users account. Below is the step by step approach on hw to tranfer steem token to other user's.

Step 1. login to your wallet by using your username and private owner posting key .

Step 2. From steem click on tranfer.

IMG_20210915_081812.jpg

Step 3. Input other user's account, token amount and memo , then click ok

IMG_20210915_082823.jpg

Step 4. Finally input your username and owner key or master password.

20210915-055304.png

Question 5. Do you know how to power up your steem? Yes I know how to power up my steem. The steem can be powered up as follows:

Step 1. Click on wallet from your menu bar

IMG_20210915_083543.jpg

Step 2. From steem click on power up

IMG_20210915_084538.jpg

Step 3. Input amount then click on power up

IMG_20210915_084805.jpg

Step 4. Input the memo key then press ok.

20210915-105151.png

Step 5. Finally input your username and access key or owner key.

20210915-105213.png

Sort:  

Hi @okorisamuel, congratulations on your successful completion of your Achievement 2.

It is my pleasure to announce to you that you can proceed with Achievement 3 which is content etiquette

I also want to encourage you to complete all the Achievement posts in the newcomers community by @cyptokannon. Check here. This will place you in a position to take advantage of the helps rendered to all newcommers.

Thank you for completing this Achievement!

Rate- 3

 3 years ago 

Thank you ma

 3 years ago 

Hi, @okorisamuel,

Your post has been supported by @heriadi from the Steem Greeter Team.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 56542.34
ETH 2391.51
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.30