Achievement 2 mentor by @cryptokannon : Basic Security on STEEM

in Newcomers' Community4 years ago


image source

Greetings to you all! And I am grateful for giving me this opportunity to share with friends what I know. !!!! just joined Steem last month, I have learnt a lot on this blockchain especially the Newcomer's community.

Today I want to tell you a little about the keys that every steemit account owner uses. In order to protect us on steem, there is hierarchical key system on steem.

As you know, during registration the MASTER key is issued. This key is used to get all the other keys from your account. You need to be careful not to change the key incidentally. Hide it securely, else if someone steals it, they will gain access to all your details.

First we look at posting key: After entering this key, you are given the opportunity to post, edit, comment, and vote. This key has no access to your wallet. So if someone finds out this key, fortunately, he will not have possession of your money in your wallet.

image.png

Secondly we have active key: This is the key associated with your wallet. It is designed to transfer money, boost or power down, convert Steem Dollars, transfer tokens, update profile and avatar details, and also place a market order.

We also have owner’s key: With your owner’s key, you can change any of your keys mentioned above. This is a very important key and needs to be stored somewhere safer, for me I advise you store your owner’s key offline.

Lastly we have the memo key: This key is designed to encrypt and decrypt private messages that are sent over the blockchain, messages you want only the owner of the account to see just use your memo key.

Personally I copied all my passwords and stored on a folder in my pc device and also I saved it in my email account I think with that It will be more safer.

I would therefore like to appreciate the post on achievement 2 by @cryptokannon he guided me on how to secure my account. This made me understand that there is no way to retrieve my account if I misplace my password
I have therefore followed these necessary steps on how to adequately secure my steem account. I am very grateful @kiwiscanfly @cryptokannon
@focus

Sort:  

Congratulations! You have passed the Achievement 2 on Basic Security, please get ready for the next task on Achievement 3: Content Etiquette here
See you soon! blush


Follow @ steemitblog for the latest update on Steem Community and other writing challenges and contest such as #theshoppinggame #thelucky10s and #thediarygame Season 2 that will start in August.

Checkout @steemingcurators daily showcase featuring all writing contests and other community challenges that ongoing on Steem Community.


We are sorry that we have missed this achievement post curation windows, I have upvoted your post of (https://steemit.com/hive-111825/@obrisgold/entangled-in-fear) for the catch up vote.

 3 years ago 

Thanks again for the upvote 🙏

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 56588.25
ETH 2399.94
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.32