Achievement 2 @obibless Task: Basic Security on Steem

in Newcomers' Community2 years ago (edited)

Dear Steemians,
What an exciting moment for me to be on this platform again!. It is my pleasure to write my second achievement post #basicsecurityonsteem after my first achievement post #introductionyourself has been verified. I find it fun and interesting writing my introductory post and I really enjoyed doing it.

Objectives of Achievement 2:
After signing up, this platform comes with some important keys. These keys are meant for the safety of the user and also to maintain the user's account. All the users in this platform have their own specific keys. I call these keys one's lifeline which must be guarded jealously. Listed below are the objectives of this post;

Objective 1: Have you retrieved all your keys on steemit?
Having been told how important the keys for steemit were by @msquaretk while doing my registration, I have retrieved all my keys and I have safely stored them.

Objective 2: Do you know each of these key functions and restrictions?
I painstakingly take my time to master each key and its functions. The keys are five[5] in number and they include:

  • Master Password: The master key is equivalent to human brain. It is the control panel of all the other keys. This key is so important that when lost or misplaced, all the other keys cannot be generated. That is, in other word the master key is used to generate all the other keys and can be used in recovering account in case of loss.
  • Private owner key: This key is also as powerful as the master key. The only key used in case the other keys are compromised is the owner key. It can be used to change any other key.
  • Active key: When it comes down to fund{money} and wallet issues, the key used is the active key. This key is used for transaction and also for steem power up/down.
  • Posting key: This is the social key. It is used to perform all your social activities such as logging in, posting on your blog or in the communities, voting and commenting.
  • Memo key: To convert a coded information to a plain text, the memo key is used. That is, the memo key is used for decrypting private transfer memos.

Objective 3: How do you plan to keep your master password?
The first thing I did was download the PDF that contained my password and all the other keys. Afterward, I wrote it down and saved it with my other important documents. Also, I saved it in a safe folder both on my phone and my laptop.

Objective 4: Do you know how to transfer your steem token to another steem user account?
Yes, steem transfer is done by logging into your steem wallet via your username and your posting key. From my wallet dashboard, I observed that there are three types of steem.
ttt.PNG

On the Steem page, click on the inverted triangle. It will bring five options as seen on the picture above. Then on transfer

ttttt.PNG

After clicking on the transfer option , it will take you to another page .Input the necessary information as shown below and next.

TTA.PNG

Objective 5: Do you know how to power up your Steem?

The approach used to transfer to another account is also used to power up your Steem. The difference is that instead of clicking on transfer, you will click on power up as shown below:

PW.PNG

After you have successfully clicked on the power up option, you will be directed to another page. input the necessary information on this page as shown below and next. That is how you power up your steem.
Power up.PNG

By following the above instructions, you will be able to transfer to another account as well power up your Steem successfully.
Thanks for reading through.

Sort:  
 2 years ago 

Well-done @obibless. Keep at it....

 2 years ago 

Hello, I am reddileep from Greeter Fairy Team.

I am happy to announce that you have successfully completed your achievement task. Now you are eligible for performing your next Achievement Task and you can refer Lists of Achievement Tasks posts to understand about your next Achievement Task which was published by cryptokannon

Curators Rate: 2

 2 years ago 

The master key is equivalent to human brain. It is the control panel of all the other keys. 🙌

The @obibless, you wrote your achievement 2 creatively, plus your writeup is very neat. Keep it up.

 2 years ago 

Hi, @obibless,

Your post has been supported by @heriadi from the Steem Greeter Team.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.21
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 67334.64
ETH 3519.34
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.10