Achievement 2 @nsisong99 Task : Basic Security on Steem

in Newcomers' Community3 years ago

Keys and Security

IMG_20220110_094458.jpg

Image credits: keys.in.ua
These two words "keys" and "security" always go together for good reasons. Keys have always been the easiest way to secure valuables from times immemorial. True, we have seen keys in our life time. Think about the ones in our key bunches. The ones to our cars, our doors at home and office, or, yes the ones to our Steemit accounts. We dare not forget or misplace any of these!

My Steemit Account Keys

My Steemit account keys grant me access to various aspects of my steem account. So, I'll answer the test questions to show how well I've gotten aquatinted with my keys.

Question 1: Have you retrieve all your keys on steemit?

Yes, I've retrieved and secured all my keys in PDF.

Question 2: Do you know each of these key functions and restrictions?

Yes I do. Here are the basic keys and their functions and restrictions:
  • Posting Key:

    This is the key I need whenever I want to make a post, comment on other users' posts, edit my posts, vote, resteem, mute or follow other accounts. I can also use it to log into my account. This is especially recommended for security reasons. In case my network is not secure enough and my login credentials are stolen, then the thief would have only taken the Posting Key, which means they can't steal my steem and SBD. Moreover, I can easily use my Master Key to take back access to my account. So, as you can see, even though the Posting Key seem capable of doing so much, it can only do as much, not too much, not when money is involved! 😊

  • Memo Key:

    I can use this key to add another layer of security when transferring funds on the platform to another user. The key is used for encrypting and decrypting memos when transferring the funds.

  • Active Key:

    This key reminds me of how to earn on Steemit. Can you guess? 🤔 Yes, you guessed right! I have to be active. And when my reward for being active trickles in, I'll need my active key: to transfer funds, power up or power down transactions, convert Steem/Steem Dollars. Not to forget also is that I can use my active key to vote for witnesses, update my profile details and image, and place market orders. Huh, I'm feeling like a senior Steemian already. (shhh, I hope @steemcurator01 isn't listening) 🤭

  • Owner Key:

    Should the need arise, I could use the Owner Key to reset all my other keys. It is the most powerful key because it can change any key of an account, including the Owner Key. In view of how powerful this key is, it's best to keep it where it's safest. Otherwise, if my account is compromised and my Owner Key also compromised, then I'm ghastly compromised! So help me God! 😂 😂

  • Master Password:

    This is the first key I got when I created my account. It's the key I used to generate and download all other keys to my account. If I have to initiate a recovery for my account, I would need this key or password to generate my other keys. I guess that's why it's the master of the keys. Yes, without it even my Owner Key is gone for good!

Question 3: How do you plan to keep your master password?

Oh, that's a tricky question but, wait... Tadah! 😯That's my lil secret, certainly one I won't share. 👀 But here's a handy tip: I could save it offline somewhere I believe it's truly safe, like just print it and stash it between my credentials, for example. But there could be flood or fire accident or break-in theft and 💥 all paper based assets ruined/gone! So, I could rather make a word document with it, title it with an unlikely label like "stew recipe", add some actual recipe to the document to disguise the content, password it maybe, upload it to my email as attachment and save it as draft. Yes, in both my this.mail and that.mail, in case a mail service provider goes bunkers. You see, the advantage of this method over offline is that if, God forbid, I'm displaced and happen to find myself on the other side of the globe, I could enter a cyber cafe, get online and retrieve it from my mail and Steemit! 👍

Question 4: Do you know how to transfer your steem token to another steem user account?

Sure I do and it's vely simply (excuse me, "fairly" simple I meant to say). Here, lemme show you in 10 easy steps:

IMG_20220111_044148.jpg

IMG_20220111_044218.jpg

IMG_20220111_044457.jpg

IMG_20220111_044602.jpg

  • Step 1: Open your wallet
  • Step 2: Click on the drop arrow by the balance for the token you want to send
  • Step 3: Select "Transfer"
  • Step 4: Type in the username to whom you're sending the token (without the @ sign)
  • Step 5: type in the amount/quantity of token you want to send
  • Step 6: Specify the token you're sending (Steem or SBD)
  • Step 7: Click the "Transfer Tab" (You can enter a memo before clicking on this tab if you wish to add a memo)
  • Step 8: Enter your username (without the @ sign)
  • Step 9: Enter your password (could be your Active Key, Owner Key, or Master password)
  • Step 10: Click "SIGN" tab to complete the transfer
    ✅ Wait a few second and the transfer will go thru. You'll find the transfer history at the lower section of your wallet menu.

Question 5: Do you know how to power up your STEEM?

Sure, I do. Here's how:

IMG_20220111_065343.jpg

IMG_20220111_065521.jpg

IMG_20220111_071350.jpg

IMG_20220111_070439.jpg

IMG_20220111_070920.jpg

  • Step 1: Go to your wallet
  • Step 2: Click the little drop arrow under your STEEM balance
  • Step 3: Select "Power up" from th drop menu
  • Step 4: Type in the quantity of Steem to vest
  • Step 5: Click on the "Power up" tab
  • Step 6: Confirm that the user name in 'a' and 'b' are the same, then confirm the amount you specified in 'c' and click the "Ok" button
  • Step 7: Observe your username in 'a', enter your active/owner/master key in 'b', uncheck 'use keychain' checkbox in 'c' if u don't understand that aspect, then click on the "Sign in" tab to complete your power up.
Wait a few seconds and it's done. The vested amount will reflect in your STEEM power in your wallet.
Pheeew! How swiftly I've breezed thru the test questions. I agree that @kiwiscanfly many thanks to @kryptocannon @eliany the curators and the newcomers community
Sort:  

CURATOR NOTE :02



Congratulations.

You have completed this achivement. You can move on to the next achievement.--

 3 years ago 

@sm-shagor Many thanks indeed! My humble regards please.

 3 years ago 

Hi, @nsisong99,

Your post has been supported by @sm-shagor from the Steem Greeter Team.

 3 years ago (edited)

I'm grateful and motivated! @steemcurator03

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 62601.60
ETH 2452.46
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.64