Achievement 2- Basic steem security

in Newcomers' Community3 years ago

Hello and compliment of the season, after my achievement 1 verification, I was told to proceed in doing my achievement 2 which has to do with the basic security of steemit and I will be explaining what some key and their functions are and also will explain how steem can be transferred and also power up.

Question 1

Have you retrieved all your keys on steemit

Yes, I have retrieved all my keys on steemit and I made sure that the pdf is really secure in my mail that can only be accessible by me no one else so as not to be hacked and my funds loot, so I kept all my keys safe.

Question 2

Do you know the functions and restrictions of each key

From my few experience, I have read, make use and also know the functions and restrictions of each key in steemit platform and I will first of all list them before explaining.

  • master key
  • private posting key
  • owners key
  • private active key
  • memo key
  • Master key
    This key is used to claim password on steemit which is very basic and essential to a new steemian because when opening of account newly it is the first password you copy then from there you will be able to download other keys.

  • Private posting key
    This key is used on steemit platforms such as steemit community, posting, commenting and we also use this key to open our steemit wallet account.

*Owner key
This key is often used to reset password by the owner of the steemit account, should your account be hacked or keys stolen with this key you can reset all other keys.

  • Private active key
    This key is often used for activities such as completing of transactions, powering down of steem and transfering of tokens and powering up of steem

  • Memo key
    The memo key is used for the transferring and also for decoding and decrypting of memo which helps when a transaction is done here you can pit what the assets transfer is meant for.

Question 3

How do you plan to keep your master password

My master password is very important password
Because without itI would have not been able to have access to other keys, so to secure it, I write it down in my jotter and also keep it in a liquid free area

Question 4

Do you know how to transfer your steem token to another steem user account?

Yes, I do know how to transfer steem from ine account to another and I will be using few steps to explain this

  • Step 1
    Before performing this you must first of all login to your steemit wallet account
    Screenshot_20211227-221952.jpg

  • Step 2
    Click on the arrow pointing downward
    Screenshot_20211227-222300.jpg

  • Step 3
    Click on transfer and fill the page that will be displayed here you will fill in the person username, amount to be transferred and memo
    Screenshot_20211227-222409.jpg

Step 4
Once you put the appropriate key which is private active key transaction will be successful and steem sent to the user

Screenshot_20211227-222614.jpg

Question 5

Do you know how to power up your steem

Yes i do, the necessary steps to follow are illustrated below

  • Step 1
    Log in to your wallet account with the private active key on steemit
    Screenshot_20211227-221952.jpg

  • Step 2
    Click on the the arrow that is pointing downward

Screenshot_20211227-222300.jpg

  • Step 3
    Select the option that says power up and fill the amount you wish to power up

Screenshot_20211227-222857.jpg

  • Step 4
    Your steem balance will now become steem power it then increases your steem power but you will have to put your private active key to complete this transaction.

Screenshot_20211227-223007.jpg

I can now say that I have discovered more about the steemit basic security and this will really go along way in helping me to secure my account.

Sort:  
 3 years ago 

Congratulations!

You have successfully completed this achievement task, you can now proceed to complete the next achievement task at your own convenience. Learn more

Note: keeping your master password in a jotter only is usually not safe or secured, try keeping it in multiple storage system for better security. Thank you

Good luck
Rate 2

 3 years ago 

Hi, @nsikole,

Your post has been supported by @lovveday from the Steem Greeter Team.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 59479.71
ETH 3174.48
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44