Achievement 2 post - My understanding about keys

in Newcomers' Community4 years ago (edited)

Hello guys! I am a newbie to this platform and there are sone achievements that steemgreet have delivered so that we can elaborate our knowledge. In this achievement I am gonna discuss about what I know about different keys and their importance.

Posting Key
By reading the description so far I can understand that this key is used for performing some basic short of actions like posting, commenting and voting.

IMG_20200625_210618.jpg
Green arrow use for upvote and red arrow is used for downvote

IMG_20200625_213710.jpg

Active key
Active key is used for various purposes and I am newbie here so I only know some of them,
whenever you want convert SBD into steem or vice vera then you will need your active key for performing this transaction
It's also used for powering up or down your steem

IMG_20200625_213633.jpg

IMG_20200625_213647.jpg
Use of active key

Owner key
After reading the description I figured out it is one of the most important key among any other key.Basically it is used for account recovery. With owner key you can reset posting key and active key.

IMG_20200625_214827.jpg

Memo key
At first I didn't understand much about this key but later I figured out with memo key you can add an encrypted message (By putting a # in from of message in memo section) in a transfer of steem /SBD to any other user.

IMG-20200625-WA0033.jpg

I sent a sms to you@cmp2020

This is what I understand by reading the description. So,if you guys will find out any mistake then please let me know in the comment section.

Sort:  

Thanks so much for the effort put in. Glad you have learnt something about these valuable steemit keys and how to use them. They have to be well handled for proper security of your account and online money.

This is very true my friend, these keys are sensitive and must be stored safe (offline) thank you reading my post
Greetings from India!

One more thing. It has come to my attention that it might be dangerous for you to include a drawn over picture of your keys. I would recommend you change your owner key in order to avoid having it potentially stolen.

Very nice explanation of keys!

A good way to remember what the active key is good for is to remember that it is used mostly for anything relating to transactions. It is also necessary to vote for witnesses, and to update info in your profile.

With that being said, I think you have sufficiently proven an understanding of keys. I invite you to make a post for the next achievement.

Keep up the good work!

 4 years ago 

You have been upvoted by Steem Greeters from STEEM POD Project and we are voting with the Steemit Community Curator @steemcurator03 account to support the newcomers coming into steemit.

 4 years ago 

Hello @nishika

Congratulations on unlocking your second achievement! I am glad that you are learning and understanding the importance of something essential such as the keys.Keep up the good work!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 54150.70
ETH 2268.90
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.27