Achievement 2 @miracle411 Task : Basic Security on Steem

in Newcomers' Community3 years ago

Hello everyone!
Feels so good to be back again. Thanks for the speedy response to my achievement 1 task I’m so humbled and happy I received a great welcome. I’m learning a lot already and below is my achievement 2.

achv.jpeg

Source

HAVE YOU RETRIEVED ALL YOUR KEYS ON STEEMIT ?

Yes I have retrieved all my keys on steemit and I was advised by my coursemate who introduced me to this platform to keep all my keys saved because that’s what I’ll need to carry out activities on the Steemit platform .

triangle.jpeg

Source

DO YOU KNOW EACH OF THIS KEY FUNCTIONS AND RESTRICTIONS?

Yes I know each of the keys, their functions and restrictions. The keys are

  1. Posting Key
  2. Active Key
  3. Owner Key
  4. Memo Key
  5. Master Password

Their functions are as follows

  • Posting Key : The posting key enables account to login to Steemit. Social actions such as posting, commenting , editing , following , voting and resteeming can be done using the posting key.

  • Active Key: Monetary and wallet transactions such as transferring tokens , powering steem up and down and converting steem to dollars are carried out using the active key.

  • Owner key : When your account is compromised or you need to reset all your other keys including the owner key,the owner key is used for that function making it the most powerful key . It is highly recommended to keep the owner key offline at all times.

  • Memo Key: Encrypting and decrypting memo is done using this key and a pound/# sign should be used before the key .

  • Master password : This password is used to generate all other keys and you get the master password upon signing up .

HOW DO YOU PLAN TO KEEP YOUR MASTER PASSWORD?

I have successfully downloaded all my keys and master password and saved it on a separate memory card and on my drive. I have also written them on a paper and kept them safe offline .

DO YOU KNOW HOW TO TRANSFER YOUR STEEM TOKEN TO ANOTHER STEEM USER ACCOUNT?

Yes I know how to transfer my Steem token to another Steem user account. The steps are as follows
Step 1: I login to my account and clicked on wallet

11.jpeg

Step 2: I clicked on the drop down arrow beside the Steem token balance and click on transfer

12.jpeg

Step 3: I input the username of the Steem account I want to transfer into and the amount I want to transfer and click on next

13.jpeg

Step 4: I click on okay after confirming the account and amount I want to transfer to

14.jpeg

Step 5: I sign in with my info to complete transfer and my Steem which was 11.695 is now 10.695, so my transfer was successful.

15.jpeg

DO YOU KNOW HOW TO POWER UP YOUR STEEM?

Yes I do know how to power up my Steem now, thanks to the article by @kiwiscanfly . The steps are as follows ;

Step 1: I login to my account and clicked on wallet

21.jpeg

Step 2: I clicked on the drop down arrow beside the Steem and clicked on power up

22.jpeg

Step 3: I input how much of my steam I want to power up, since I want to power up everything I just clicked on my balance written in blue, and clicked on power up

23.jpeg

Step 4: I clicked on okay to confirm power up

24.jpeg

Step 5: I signed in with my info and my Steem power increased so my power up was successful…

25.jpeg

26.jpeg


Conclusion

Finally i now understand basic security on steemit and i understand why it is absolutely necessary to keep all your keys safe and i've taking necessary measures to do that thanks to all the articles. To everyone reading this, please keep your keys and passwords safe to prevent your account from been compromised.
cc @ngoenyi
@cryptokannon

Sort:  

Hi @miracle411, congratulations on your successful completion of your Achievement 2.

It is my pleasure to announce to you that you can proceed with Achievement 3 which is content etiquette

I also want to encourage you to complete all the Achievement posts in the newcomers community by @cyptokannon. Check here. This will place you in a position to take advantage of the helps rendered to all newcommers.

Thank you for completing this Achievement!

Rate- 2

 3 years ago 

Thank you very much ma

 3 years ago 

Hi, @miracle411,

Your post has been supported by @heriadi from the Steem Greeter Team.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 68618.96
ETH 2706.18
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.72