Achievement 6 Task by @majerius : Understanding Curation and Community

in Newcomers' Community3 years ago

Hello to all I'm glad to give you this final task of all achievements on this platform. I'm about to give you what i understood on the topic:

Curation and Community

Question 1

Do you understand how voting and curation work in steemit?

Yes I do understand how voting and curation functions on the platform.
And to the best of my understanding, there are 2 ways a steemian could earn on steemit either by creating original and creative content (author rewards) or by voting on other contents (curation rewards). When for example I upvote on a post on steemit, depending on my voting power or steem power, 50% of the reward i distributed on the post returns to me as SP and the other percentage 50% remains to the author of the post. Depending on the influence or amount of SP I have.

Despite the fact that you can vote and earn, it shouldn't make you get too excited to vote on every post you set your eyes on. There is a bar called the "voting manna pool" which is 100% and each vote you cast on a post reduces 2% of that 100% bar and it results to a subsequent drop in the influence of the vote you cast on the next posts.
If for example you have an influence of $0.04 at 100% of voting manna, when the bar reaches 50% the influence on the next post will be $0.02 and so on. And as it reduces, it replenishes at 20% everyday.

A newbie cannot set his or her steem voting manna bar and is obliged to cast a 100% vote on every post. But those who have an SP of at least 500SP can regulate their voting manna as shown below

Screenshot_20210805-183925.jpg
(Screenshot of my voting manna bar)

To check your voting manna you can use a third party tool called steemdb accessed via https://steemdb.io/@youraccount

Screenshot_20210805-190245.jpg
(Screenshot of my voting power from steemdb.io )


Question 2

What happened if you vote a post before 5 minutes marks after posting?

What happens when I vote on a post not older than 5mins depend on the time of casting the vote. The criteria is as follows;

  • If a post is voted immediately after it has been voted, 100% of the curation reward remains in the reward pool. That means the curator gains nothing.
  • At 1min, 20% goes to the curator and 80% to the reward pool
  • At 2mins, 40% goes to the curator and 60% to the reward pool
  • At 3mins, 60% goes to the curator and 40% in the reward pool.
  • At 4mins 80% goes to the curator and 20% in the reward pool.
  • At 5mins or later, 100% goes to the curator and nothing in the reward pool.

Question 3

Who will you vote for Steem Witness ? and Why?

I choose to vote @steemchiller as witness. I firstly understand that I have the possibility of voting up to 30 witnesses and among these the best 21 are chosen to hold the blockchain. The reason why I chose steemchiller was because of his post he made in the post here Steemchiller goes witness! Let's make Steem safe again ;). he makes mention of how well he will do his best to eradicate plagiarism which is actually a cancer worm in many communities and also because of his great app steemworld.com

He also have shown that he is respectful and ethical in all his doings with no idea of leaving the Steemit platform to create his own as others have.

Screenshot_20210805-200513.jpg
Screenshot from steemworld.com


Question 4

Which community will you join in Steemit, and why?

There are so many communities in steemit and so far, i have come into contact with many of them. Below in a table are the communities I have joined already and why I did join.

CommunityReason
Steem CameroonThis is my beloved community where I can relate with other cameroon steemians and take part in various contests such as the diary game, green Deeds, best day contest, power up contest and many more
SteemitCryptoAcademyher i learn more about crypto currency and it's various options. It helps me understand crypto.
Newcomers' Communitysince I am a newbie and know almost nothing about steemit, i always have to check on the new info about steemit here
HeartChurchi am a lover of Jesus Christ's gospel and this community helps me keep up with scriptures and also to share the gospel
Account Booster 👍Here there are many contests and helps me view and feed my eyes of the marvelous picts posted.
WORLD OF XPILARhere there are also great picts and I love photography so I joined to improve on my photography skills
Travel Feed (new)i am a lover of journeys and the picts shared from journeys and travels intrigue me a lot.
Steemkidsi love kids and helping them grow in the way of the Lord is my passion.
Music For Steem 🎵i love music and the posts here help me appreciate the original arts from others.
Steem Inspirationi also love poems and I enjoy reading creative writing and sometimes write some too when I am inspired.
History and CultureThe cameroon culture always tells me of how rich we are and exploring other cultures is a great hobby

Thank you all for reading through and I hope i was very explicit about this achievement 6 post.
Thanks for reading and God bless you.

Sort:  
 3 years ago (edited)
Great job @majerius, you have completed the achievement program for newcomers in the newcomer's community.

Congratulation

Rate 3

Now you are expected to make a post with all your achievement links from achievement 1 to 6.

With a reputation of 50+ and 125 Steem Power, you can join the Introductory courses open to anyone (Beginners level) in the Crypto Academy Community, complete courses, and earn rewards while learning.

Have fun on the steemit platform.

 3 years ago 

Right away sir

 3 years ago 

😀😀😀😀I saw this coming. Congratulations bro.You have done it big this time around.To be frank with you i did not know about the voting time.😁😁😁 So we actually have to vote after 5mins. What about the amounts of votes per day???

 3 years ago 

Hahahah it reduces bro

 3 years ago (edited)

Cool , @thegreens talked about it in the seminar but i did not get it well.

 3 years ago 

You can vote as many times as you wish but all will depend on your voting manna and power. If you calculate 100/2 you'll see that it's 50 votes but the last 10 votes will be insignificant if your VP isn't high as that of baba 1😂

 3 years ago 

Ok i see bro. Your post was very clear and elaborated on that .Thank you

 3 years ago 

Wow I think u really explained the curation and community

 3 years ago 

Thanks for the compliment 🙏🏾🙏🏾🙏🏾

 3 years ago 

Hi, @majerius,

Your post has been supported by @rypo01 from the Steem Greeter Team.

 3 years ago 

Thank you for curating my post @rypo01

 3 years ago 

Weldone🤝 on completion of your Achievement task bro. I'm happy seeing Cameroonian steemians reach this level

 3 years ago 

Thanks so much bro

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.16
JST 0.029
BTC 61168.42
ETH 2363.94
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.58