Achievement 2: Basic Security on Steem

in Newcomers' Community3 years ago

Good day to my fellow newcomers in this community.

My name is @maephine. It has been only a month since I joined Steemit platform, and so far I am enjoying my journey.

I have completed my Achievement 1 - Introduction Post in Newcomers' Community, but did not get an upvote and the post expired. I have already commented to the expired post announcement, and I am hoping for a positive reply. Achivement 1 link is here.

pexels-pixabay-60504.jpg
Image from Pixabay

Today, I have decided to accomplish Achievement 2 : Basic Security on Steem which is all about the basic security on steemit platform. But before I proceed, allow me to explain briefly the basic meaning of security and its purpose.

Security is the precautions and safety measures taken in order to reduce risk and prevent theft. The goal of basic security on Steemit platform is to protect each member's account from being disrupted, stolen or exploited by unauthorized users.

Question 1
Have you received all your keys on steemit?

Yes, I have obtained and saved all my keys on steemit. I received it by downloading the pdf file that popped up when I started creating my account. The pdf contains all the steemit keys. I am keeping it safely.

Question 2
Do you know each of the keys functions and restrictions?

Yes, I am familiar with all of the keys functions and restrictions. I learned these from reading other people's posts and searching about the basic information of Steemit online. I am able to differentiate one from another.

Posting Key

Posting key is an important key which active user use most commonly to perform functions such as posting, commenting, and voting. With Steemit Posting key, users can write out post, follow other accounts, and make comments via Steemit user profile. However, Posting Key restricts users from making fund transfers or engaging in internal Market to trade.

Memo Key

Memo key is the key specifically used to encrypt and decrypt private messages sent and received via the Steemit account. This is the key used for Private Messaging.

Active Key

Active key can perform almost all functions that the Owner Key can do with the account. But it cannot change the Owner Key itself. By using the Active key, users can work on any transaction like Transfer, Trade in internal Market, and move and control Funds.

Owner Key

Owner key is a special key use to reset all other keys on Steemit platform. But the owner key cannot reset the master key nor decrypt private messages that are encrypted like Memo Key can.

Master Key

This is the most important Permission key. Master key it gives full control over your Steem account. Losing this password to hackers would allow unauthorized authors to gain full control, alter everything in your account, and restrict you from accessing your funds.

Question 3
How do you plan to keep your master password?

I kept my Master Password locked up in a safe storage, where only me is authorized to access. No one knows where it is, I made sure of that.

Question 4
Do you know how to transfer your steem token to another steem user?

Yes, I know the necessary steps to successfully transfer steem token to another steem user. Below is the process:

Step 1. Log in to Steemit Wallet by using Active Key.

Screenshot_20211215_140015.jpg

Step 2. Click on the drop down menu arrow on steem and tap on transfer.

Screenshot_20211215_140039.jpg

Step 3. Fill in the required information, the amount to transfer, and the details of the memo. Click next.

Screenshot_20211215_140054.jpg

Tap Ok to Confirm Transfer and the process is done.

Question 4
Do you know how to power up your STEEM?

Yes, I am very much familiar with the process as I have already done my first power up. Link to my First Power Up. Below is the step-by-step process:

Step 1. Log in to Steemit Wallet using Private Active Key. Tap on Power Up.

Screenshot_20211215_140109.jpg

Step 2. Enter the amount of Steem to power up and click on Power Up.

Screenshot_20211215_140109.jpg

Step 3. Press OK to proceed. Then Confirm Transfer to Vesting.

Screenshot_20211215_142841.jpg

The knowledge on Permission Keys and Basic Security restrictions on Steemit platform is essential, and it should be considered by every user to keep each of the member's account safe and secured. Knowing the basic security would provide protection for every user, thus promoting positive experience on Steemit.

Thank you for finding time to visit my post.

I hope you learned something from this.

Sort:  

This achievement is very important in our Steemit journey. You needed to understand clearly the different important keys and their functions in the Steemit wallet. Be sure to store your keys safely. For the latest updates and important announcements, don't forget to follow @steemitblog and visit the Steemit Crypto Academy for you to learn about cryptocurrency.

You have been verified for this task and you may now proceed to Achievement 3: Content Etiquette at your convenience. Please refer to the guide on the Newcomers Achievement Program on the Notice Board pinned post.

If you have time you can read my articles that may help you on your Steemit journey,

Curators Rate-3

 3 years ago 

Thank you. 🙏 I am very willing to proceed to the next achievement task.

 3 years ago 

Hi, @maephine,

Your post has been supported by the the Steem Greeter Team.

 3 years ago 

Thank you so much.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 60238.27
ETH 3215.90
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.46