Achievement 2: Basic Security in Steemit by @lastbabe || 16-12-21

in Newcomers' Community3 years ago (edited)

Screenshot_20211217-025201.png
Source

Good evening great steemians. How are you doing today? I'm about writing my achievement 2 having completed achievement 1 and was verified. To complete this achievement task and other Achievement task is very important to know how security in this social media platform is. This achievement 2 task is basically Basic Security In Steem and how to protect your account from unauthorized users. Before writing on a topic like this, I'll start by by defining the important terms concerned. I'll define security and explain basic security on Steem, five permission keys and how to power up and transfer liquid steem.

Security

Security is an act of using basic security measures to and encrypt one's important document from unauthorized access or hackers

Basic Security on Steem

Security on Steem is basically those security measures that prevents unauthorized users to view certain functions in one's account. It protects the account of it's user and restrict unnecessary access to one's account and wallet. Basically, there are five permission keys in steemit used for this security. These keys include; Master key, Posting key, Active key, Owner key and Memo Key.The most important is the Owner key.

Owner key: This key is used for recovering account.It is used to retrieve all other keys.

Posting key: This key is used for logging in and performing certain operations on steem such as voting, resteeming, editing post, following etc.

Active key: This key is used for redeeming rewards, transferring liquid steem and powering up on Steem.

Master key: This key controls other keys in steemit and should be safeguarded at all cost. If this key is lost, there's no need of using the account.

Memo key: Is mostly used for decrypting and encrypting memos, messages and transactions on Steem.

Questions

  • Have you retrieved you steemit key?
    Yes I have and it's saved.
  • Do you know each of these key's functions?
    Yes
  • Do you know how to transfer liquid steem to another account
    Yes and this is my prove of evidence.
  • First I'll go to my wallet and login. I'll then click the drop down arrow close to my steem and click transfer.

Screenshot_20211216-221648.png

Screenshot_20211216-221702.png

Screenshot_20211216-221736.png

  • I'll then have to put the amount I want to transfer and the account I want to transfer to.

Screenshot_20211216-224502.png

Screenshot_20211216-221837.png

I'll then click ok and it will be sent there.

Screenshot_20211216-221852.png

  • Do you know how to power up liquid steem? Yes I know and this is evidence

First I'll go to my wallet and login. I'll then click the drop down arrow close to my steem and click power up.

Screenshot_20211216-224515.png

I'll then input the number of steem I wan to power up and click power up

Screenshot_20211216-221940.png

I'll then click ok and input my active key before it is sent to my steem power

Screenshot_20211216-221956.png

Conclusively, I want to thank each and everyone here for following me and also read my post. I'm looking forward to doing achievement 3.
Greetings @ngoenyi my best author and @focusnow. I love power up....

Achievement 1 link: Link

Sort:  

Hi @lastbabe, congratulations on your successful completion of your Achievement 2.

It is my pleasure to announce to you that you can proceed with Achievement 3 which is content etiquette

I also want to encourage you to complete all the Achievement posts in the newcomers community by @cyptokannon. Check here. This will place you in a position to take advantage of the helps rendered to all newcommers.

It's also very important for you to join #club5050. To join the club you need to power up at least 50% of your monthly earnings. You can also join #club75 where you will power up 75% of your earnings for 2 months or #club100 where you are to power up all your earnings for 3 months.

Thank you for completing this Achievement!

Rate- 3

 3 years ago 

Hi, @lastbabe,

Your post has been supported by @ngoenyi from the Steem Greeter Team.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 64599.25
ETH 3467.96
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.55