ACHIEVEMENT 2 @kennydavebobo Task : Basic Security on Steem (Repost)

in Newcomers' Community3 years ago

Greetings to all my fellow steemians, I entrain you to read with me as I write on what I've learnt about Basic Security on Steem.
images (1).jpeg

Image
Source

HAVE YOU RETRIEVE ALL YOUR KEYS ON STEEMIT?

YES! I have retrieved all the keys as I've been told it is very important I secure it properly.

DO YOU KNOW EACH OF THESE KEYS FUNCTIONS AND RESTRICTIONS?

YES, I have gone through the article provided and I now understand and know function(s) and restrictions of each key(s)

ALL STEEMIT KEYS ARE AS FOLLOWS:

  1. MASTER PASSWORD - It is used to derive all other keys including the Owner Key and there is a very dangerous implications of revealing it to a third-party as they can steal the account and all the token in it.
  2. ACTIVE KEYS - It is used for transaction purpose and also powering up/down.
  3. OWNER KEY - It is the most powerful key and it's meant to be used when necessary. Offline is the ideal place to store the owner key as it can only be used to recover a compromised account.
  4. POSTING KEY - It allows account to perform everyday login activities like loging in, to make comments, to vote, to follow and unfollow and the likes
    and also a limited posting key exits to restrict damage that a compromised account key would cause as a result of more use of the key.
  5. MEMO KEY - It is used for encrypting and decrypting memos when transferring funds. One should use the pound or # sign before the memo to encrypt it.

HOW DO YOU PLAN TO KEEP YOUR MASTER PASSWORD?

I have secured my Master Password using different means. I stored it offline and also kept the hard copy as well with me only, since I know the implication of losing it to someone else so it is well secured with me only.

DO YOU KNOW HOW TO TRANSFER YOUR STEEM TOKEN TO ANOTHER STEEM USER ACCOUNT?

YES! I know how to transfer my Steem token to another Steem user account and I have shown step-by-step guide on how to go about it below 👇
Step 1: Click on "Wallet"
Screenshot_20211110-134902~2.png

Step 2: Click on the STEEM TOKEN, in my case I have 0.001 STEEM as highlighted in purple.
Screenshot_20211110-132903~2.png

Step 3: Click on "Transfer
Screenshot_20211110-132913~2.png

Step 4: Fill the form, input the username of user you want to transfer STEEM TOKEN to in the "To" field and also input the amount of STEEM TOKEN you want to transfer in the "Amount" field. Lastly, input your public MEMO key in the box provided "Memo" and click the "Next" button.

Screenshot_20211110-132921~2.png

DO YOU KNOW HOW TO POWER UP YOUR STEEM?

YES!
This is the step-by-step guide on how to power up Steem
Step 1: Click on "Wallet"
Screenshot_20211110-134902~2.png

Step 2: Click on the STEEM TOKEN, in my case I have 0.001 STEEM as highlighted
Screenshot_20211110-132903~2.png

Step 3: Click on "Power Up"
Screenshot_20211110-132913~3.png

Step 4: Fill the form, input the amount of liquid STEEM you want to power up in the "Amount" field shown. Then, click the "Power Up" button.

Screenshot_20211110-132951~2.png

CONCLUSION
It is pleasure for me to learn about the basic details on how to secure my account and the functions of all keys.. Now I have the best understanding, how to use all keys and implication of exposing the keys to a third-party.
Thanks to this great platform for this opportunity and also my great appreciation to my mentors for their support..
Link to my achievement 1 task post: https://steemit.com/hive-172186/@kennydavebobo/achievement-post-1-introducing-myself-to-the-community

Cc @ngoenyi
Cc @bright-obias
Cc @focusnow
Cc @cryptokannon

Sort:  
 3 years ago 

Hello, I am reddileep from Greeter Fairy Team.

I am happy to announce that you have successfully completed your achievement task. Now you are eligible for performing your next Achievement Task and you can refer Lists of Achievement Tasks posts to understand about your next Achievement Task which was published by cryptokannon

Curators Rate: 3

 3 years ago 

Thank you

 3 years ago 

Hi, @kennydavebobo,

Your post has been supported by @abuahmad from the Steem Greeter Team.

 3 years ago 

Thank you @abuahmad 🙏🙏🙏

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 63557.03
ETH 3400.90
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44