Achievement 2 mentor by @cryptokannon : Basic security on steem

in Newcomers' Community3 years ago

Hello everyone,

I’m privilege to take part in achievement 2 task,
Which is all about protection and security. I’m going to talk about my basic knowledge on steemit security and the use of steemit wallet based on the questions I’m been asked on the achievement task.Password and keys on steem are very important in preventing strangers
to get access to your steem account.
I will like to share with you all my knowledge about steem security,Functions of each of the key,
And how it is been used in steem wallet.

549D8758-786F-4C16-949D-1BF124CA6CAC.jpeg
source

QUESTION 1

HAVE YOU RETRIEVED ALL YOUR KEYS ON STEEMIT?

Yes please, I have retrieved all the keys related to my account. I did that right after I signed up to steemit.

QUESTION 2

DO YOU KNOW EACH OF THESE KEYS FUNCTION AND RESTRICTIONS?

Yes, I know about all the functions and restrictions each key does.
The name of the steem keys and when to use them are stated below:

POSTING KEY

This key is seemingly used for logging into an account, posting, voting, resteeming and following other users.

ACTIVE KEY

This key is in effect made for tasks like transferring steems and SBD, power up and down transactions, converting steem dollars.

OWNER KEY

This key is essential because it has the capacity to alter any account's key. It should be kept safe because it is used to restore a trade off account.

MEMO KEY

This key is being used for unsolving and solving transfer processes.

MASTER KEY

It is the most important key that we use to bring about all other keys

QUESTION 3

HOW DO YOU PLAN TO KEEP YOUR MASTER KEY PASSWORD?

After signing in, they sent all my key passwords into my PDF format . Afterwards , I printed one hard copy of it and kept it in my files. Again I sent it to my google mail address.

QUESTION 4

DO YOU KNOW HOW TO TRANSFER YOUR STEEM TOKEN TO ANOTHER STEEM USER?

Yes, I now know how to transfer STEEM and SBD to another user.

I will be explain how to do that in some of steps:

STEP 1

I sign into my steem wallet with my username and below it and with my posting key .

A1FDE89E-77DF-4748-8F11-E62C938B61A5.jpeg

STEP 2

Click on the small drop down tab close to my steem balance( a pop up will show).

885FEC42-6BCE-427B-BBF7-46722527EC04.jpeg

STEP 3

I click on transfer.

STEP 4

I insert the person name I want to transfer my steem to his username name and the amount of steem I want to .I go through for the second to check if all entry’s are right because I don’t want to face any challenges.

473F7154-A637-4845-B217-D46EE5C70A5F.jpeg

STEP 5

I then confirm the transaction by clicking Ok or checked.

89B96178-1CF7-456E-8F21-94B286CC7607.jpeg

STEP 6

I go on by inserting either my active, owner or master key password to finish the transfer process.

5951683B-FAC6-4001-A950-B172D69C2743.jpeg

QUESTION 5

DO YOU KNOW HOW TO POWER UP YOUR STEEM

Yes, I know.

STEP 1

I click on the same small drop down tab close to my steem balance.

A65F81A1-3CDC-4E36-9899-CCE26565FCE2.jpeg

STEP 2

I click on Power up then I continue to add the steem amount I want to Power up with.

74B9FACB-B504-4AB7-AD89-A22D368F2B45.jpeg

1762EAE1-F905-4C2A-8D7C-59439DA4233A.jpeg

STEP 3

I now put in either my active, owner or master key password for my steem to be powered up.

B49460A1-FFCE-43E8-A543-0BF8CCD5013D.jpeg

Sort:  

Hi i am Sumit one of the team member of Steem Greeter.

I am happy to announce that i have successfully verified your achievement 2 post. Now you are eligible for performing your achievement 3 which is about content etiquettes. You can refer this post for your next task.

Note:

Rate:3

 3 years ago 

Hi, @justina19,

Your post has been supported by @heriadi from the Steem Greeter Team.

Hello, it's me the country representative of Pakistan. I hope you are enjoying the steemit journey. This is an amazing platform that will benefit you in many ways.

We are keen to support you so you can join the courses for beginners that Steemit Crypto Academy has been offering.
By the time you have completed your Achievement 4 in the Newcomers Achievement Program at Newcomers Community, We have the Beginners Level Introductory Courses that is so easy to complete and you may learn more about the cryptocurrencies and get to earn as well.

For more info visit the link below and if you have any query you can ask.
https://steemit.com/hive-172186/@cryptokannon/steemit-crypto-academy-beginners-package

Regards,
@vvarishayy
Discord: vvarishayy#3781
Telegram: @vvarishayy

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.032
BTC 58495.14
ETH 2461.74
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.36