Achievement2 @justice009: Basic Security on steem.

in Newcomers' Community3 years ago

Having gone through the tutorial posted by @crytokannon and @kiwiscanfly I have gained some knowledge about my Steemit account security and how to keep it safe, especially my private keys. With the tutorial, I can also answer the set questions:

Question 1
Have you retrieve all your keys on steemit?

Yes i have retrieved all my keys on Steemit in a pdf file.

Question2
Do you know each of these key functions and restrictions?

I also got to know that there are various keys on Steemit which have different functions.
The keys are listed as follows:
*Master password
*Posting key
*Active key
*Memo key
*Owner key

The functions of these keys are described below
*Master password: This is the most powerful key as it can be used to generate all other functional key to your wallet. It should be guarded with utmost importance. I recommend that you save this key offline in a secure place.

*Posting key: This key allows a steemian to perform some basic functions such as logging in to your account, voting, posting, resteeming, commenting, following other steemians and also muting.

*Active key: This key allows one to perform sensitive functions which includes transferring of funds, power up or down transactions, converting steem dollars, updating profile and avatar details and also placing a market order.

*Memo key: This key is used for encryption/decryption of memos when transferring funds.

*Owner key: The main function of this key is to regain a compromised account and therefore it should be used only when necessary. Its a very powerful key because it can change any other key of the account and should be stored offline.

Question 3
How do you plan to keep your master password?

Due to the importance of the master key and the fact that I value my account, I intend to store my Master password offline in a well secured place.

Question 4
Do you know how to transfer your steem token to another steem user account?

Yes, I know how to transfer steem token to another steemian.
Here's how;

*Firstly, I would click in the wallet icon at the top right of my profile page.

*Then I would scroll down to the steem dollars section and click in the inverted arrow after which a pop up menu will show.

20210709-230943.png

20210709-230954.png

Then I would click on transfer which will lead to another menu where i would be asked to enter the username of the steemian i wish to transfer to and the amount i wish to transfer and my memo key will be required here too.

20210709-231055.png

Example

*After entering the requirements, i will have to click on next and the funds will be transferred automatically.

Question 5
Do you know how to power up your STEEM?
Powering up my steem has become easy after the tutorial by @crptokannon and @kiwiscanfly. They also made me know that powering up my steem is beneficial to me.
Here's how;

*Firstly I will click in the wallet icom at the far right of my screen.
*Then I would scroll down to the steem section and click on the inverted triangle icon at the edge

20210709-230736.png

*An icon will pop up then i would click on power up, this action will lead to another pop up icon which will ask me the amount i wish to covert which i will now input.

20210709-230842.png

*After that, I will click on power up and the system automatically powers up my steem power.

Thanks @cryptokannon
Thanks @kiwiscanfly for your wonderful support and tutorial

Also thanks @irene-hic for your support and introducing me to this community.

Special regards to my readers.

Sort:  

You have been verified for this task and you may proceed to the next achievement task at your convenience.
Note:

Curators Rate: 2

Please continue to read and prepare from @cryptokannon Achievement tasks resources

 3 years ago 

Thank you.

 3 years ago 

Hi, @justice009,

Your post has been supported by @heriadi from the Steem Greeter Team.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 67698.91
ETH 3266.83
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.64