ACHIEVEMENT 2 @joelmak: Basic security on steem (21-06-2021steemCreated with Sketch.

in Newcomers' Community3 years ago (edited)

metal-blue-padlock-with-key-opening-closing_1284-7531(0).jpg

image source

Hello dear steemians, I hope you all are doing great. For security purpose, it's very important for every new comer to identify and understand the basic security on steem. I will be presenting some security information that helped me understand the basic security on steem.

1. The first thing I did after signing up on steem
When i signed up on this platform, i received a document in pdf containing an elaboration of the different keys and passwords i own on steemit. I downloaded the documents into my machine safely .

2 . Keys functions and restrictions

When i received the keys, the first question I asked myself was "what is the main use of these keys?"
After doing a long research on steemit, i finally understood their use and that's what i will be presenting in the following
My posting key
Whenever i want to log in, i will have to use only my posting key, then I will also have access to post, comment, edit a content i created, vote, resteem, follow and mute any account i don't like using my posting key.
Active key
With this key, whenever i want to transfer any funds into another account i can use it. It is also used to power up/down transactions, converting steem dollars. I can also vote witnesses, update my profile details and avatar . It's also used to place market order .
Owner key or master password
This is the most powerful key on the STEEMIT platform because it is used to derive other keys for my account. It should never be shared with anybody. It's should also be kept jealously because when it is lost, there is no way to recover it . One thing i learn is that this key should not be used for logging in. As important it is, this key can be used to edit or change any other key including the owner key . To keep it safe it's advisable to always keep an offline copy of this key somewhere very safe and also print a hard copy of it to keep it very safe in a secret place where only the owner can find.
Memo key
This key is used for incrypting and decrypting memos when transferring funds. When doing this, we should use the # sign before .

This how i plan to keep my steem keys

after getting a full knowledge about the different keys i own on steem and their uses, knowing how important they are, i decided to bring up a special method into keeping them safe. My desire was to keep them in a way i will never want to lost them . Fistly i printed the pdf document containing my steem keys and duplicated some couple of copies and kept them safe in confined document and also in secret box.

I saw this very important to understand my steem wallet as a steem member and how to transfer token to another steem account and other important activities with my steem wallet .
Steem wallet
-Steem: this is a liquid that can be transferred to another account or trade in the international market or power up into steem power
Steem power: we use it as investment into steem. In other to carry out this activities i will have to power down for 4weeks. It will increase my ability to comment and perform transactions and influence growth.
-Steem backed dollar (SBD) : this can be tradable into another steem international market or send to another steem account.

In order to transfer steem token to another account:

scrollbox.jpg
First step:
Go to your wallet on Steemit
Second step:
Click on your steem or steem dollars amount ( at the right hand side of the page ) then in the box that appears select "transfer"
transfer to.jpg

confirm.jpg

Third step:
In the "to" field enter the name of the account you wish to transfer token to. You can as well add a message in the memo field.

How to power up my steem account

power up.jpg
Step1:
Go to my steem wallet
Step2:
Click on the steem token i will like to turn into steem power
Step3:
In the drop down box, scroll down and choose "power up"

amount .jpg

Step4:
Insert the number of liquid steem i want to power up. ( The red highlighted box shows how much liquid steem i have and the blue box is the amount i decide to power up) .
Step5:
Finally click on "Power up"

After getting this knowledge about my steem keys and wallet i will be looking forward to making good use of this platform.
Thanks for following me right up to the end.

Sort:  

Hi @joelmak, You need to include screenshots on how to transfer and power up your steem tokens.
Source your image this way:
[image source](paste the link here).
You can notify me when you've updated your post.

 3 years ago 

thanks so much MA. please I have included the information you required

Hi @joelmak, congratulations on your successful completion of your Achievement 2.

It is my pleasure to announce to you that you can proceed with Achievement 3 which is content etiquette

I also want to encourage you to complete all the Achievement posts in the newcomers community by @cyptokannon. Check here. This will place you in a position to take advantage of the helps rendered to all newcommers.

Thank you for completing this Achievement.

Rank- 3

 3 years ago 

thanks ma. I'm very happy for this

 3 years ago 

Hi, @joelmak,

Your post has been supported by @ngoenyi from the Steem Greeter Team.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 62205.55
ETH 2397.85
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50