Achievement 2: Understanding all the Keys on the account

in Newcomers' Community4 years ago (edited)

041D9EBB-85E4-42B1-871C-DCD150F066F7.jpeg
1, RETRIEVED MY KEYS

I know base on what I have read on so many FAQ from other steem user about the important of my keys so I retrieve all of my keys and store them in a secured place.

2, FUNCTION OF MY KEYS ON STEEMIT

√ Posting key - The function of the posting key allows a user of the accounts to post on steem, makes comment, edit what already been posted, upvote or down subscribe or unsuscribe to the steem community, vote, resteem, and also follow or unfollow or mute other steem users.
As steem users you need be logging into you steem accout almost every day with your post posting key because you cannot use someone posting key to login .
This will help you to know if your steem account is not been compromised, and it will help you to reduce or restrict the damage if incase happen just reduce the damage that a comprimized key would cause.

√ Active key – The functions of the active key has so many use and its so powerfull because it’s the key that allow me to make a transaction on steemit, convert steem dollars, make a vote for witnesses, make and update to my profile details and avatar and also making or placing a market order.

√ Memo key – I Search so many links about the function of the memo key of steem the result is almost that it’s currently not used. But I know whenever it starts using it will add more security to my account.

√ Owner key – the function of this key is not always because it work only when there is need of that, it’s the most powerful key over the rest of the keys why because it can be use to change any key of the steemit account, which include the owner key, this key is an offline key, meaning that you can store it offline, and it can be use for account recovery when your account is compramised

3, MASTER PASSWORD

Since the master password is the father of my account and is like a to deriver to all keys for my account, which include the owner key, I use so many ways to keep this master password, but now I use three method, I have save my master password in
¶---Notepad and zip it
¶---I save it on my evernote
¶---I print it on paper
¶---I write my master password on CD, and make a copy to a new flash
I did all of that in order not to loss my password, because base on what I read about master password I found that if someone have access to my master password its done, he can so many damage and also steals of of my tokens.

4,. TRANSFERING MONEY TO ANOTHER STEEM USER.

Bellow are the steps to transfer the money other steem user

✓From my wallet page, I click on the STEEM or Steem Dollar balances with the down arrow next to them.

✓In the drop-down menu, click 'Transfer'.
Then I will type the username of the account I want to send the STEEM or Steem Dollars to. I need to Double and triple check the spelling to avoid mistakes.

✓ I will now enter the amount of STEEM or Steem Dollars to send.
I can use Memo even though its optional to go along with the transaction.

✓ Click Submit.
My Password is required after I click submit for authentication. One of the must be use master password or active key.

5, POWER UP MY STEEM OR POWER DOWN

Powering up - If I have many steem tokens on my wallet, I can easily Power Up to Steem Power so that I can get more voting influence on posts and comments. Also if I have more Steem Power, it can help the amount of curation rewards to increases the rewards and new much tokens that i can earn. Again more Steem Power can also grants more influence on approving Steem witnesses.

There is also power down

Powering down - If I have many Steem Power, i can easily power it down to make it luqid for some period of time. This system is design to transfer 1/4 of my Steem Power to STEEM each week for about one month (4 weeks), starting 1 week from the time it is started. also, this makes me lose my influence in the network proportionally to how much is powered down, so will rather not power down because of that.
Bellow are short steps to power up
I can power up my steem when the need arise
by following the bellow steps

✓Steps:1. To power up
I must have STEEM tokens in their wallet.

✓Step:2 Convertion steem token
To convert STEEM tokens into STEEM power, the user must click Wallet > STEEM > Power Up.
If I don’t have have STEEM tokens, but I have STEEM dollars (SBD) available, then I must convert that STEEM dollars to STEEM tokens first.

Sort:  

Congratulations! You have passed the Achievement 2 on Basic Security, now please get ready for your post on the next for Achievement 3: Content Etiquette here
See you soon! 😊

 4 years ago 

You have been upvoted by Steem Greeters from STEEM POD Project and we are voting with the Steemit Community Curator @steemcurator03 account to support the newcomers coming into steemit.



Please follow @steemitblog for the latest update and news on steem and @steemingcurators for Steem Community contest and challenges.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 59601.30
ETH 2583.48
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.48