ACHIEVEMENT 2 @jahsway: BASIC SECURITY ON STEEM.

in Newcomers' Community3 years ago (edited)

Hello steemians.
I hope you are doing fine. Please read on as I write about the various keys used in steemit.

I have retrieved all the keys given to me when signing up on steemit. I also know the different keys and their functions.

Different keys and their functions.

Master password: The master password is the password given upon signing up. It is used to generate all the other keys including the owner key.

Posting key: The posting key is used by accounts to post, comment, edit, vote, resteem, and follow, unfollow or mute other. Account holders are expected to login every day using the posting key.

Active key: The active key is a delicate key. It is used to send funds such as STEEM and SBD from your account to another users account. It can be used to power up/down, convert Steem Dollars, vote for witnesses, update profile details, and place a market order.

Owner key: The owner key is only used when necessary. It is the key with the most power because it can change any key of an account. It is used only to recover a compromised or account.

Memo key: The memo key is used to encrypt and decrypt memos when transferring funds. To successfully encrypt a memo, you can use the pound/# sign before it.

These keys are very important, so it is advisable to keep them safe and never disclose them to anybody.

I have saved my keys in my email.

I have learnt how to send steem tokens from my account to another steem user's account. Let me explain how this can be done.

Screenshot_20210529-092706.png

First, you login into your wallet, sign in with your active key, click on STEEM DOLLARS drop down arrow and then click on transfer as shown above.

Screenshot_20210529-093700.png

Input the amount and username of the person you wish to transfer to. Create a memo, submit and confirm with your active key.

I have also learnt how to power up. Follow the procedure below.

Screenshot_20210529-092637.png

Login into your wallet and sign in with your active key, click on STEEM drop down arrow and then click on power up.

Screenshot_20210529-092944.png

Input the amount you want and click on power up for confirmation.

Thank you all for reading and thank you @cryptokannon for your achievement 2 mentorship.
Also thank you @steemcurator01 and @steemcurator03 for supporting newcomers on steemit.

Sources:
https://steemit.com/hive-172186/@cryptokannon/basic-security-on-steem-achievement-2-mentor-by-cryptokannon
https://steemit.com/faq.html#What_are_my_different_keys_for

Sort:  

Screenshot_20210529-093216.png
Please plagiarism was found in your post, please kindly remove those copy and paste for verification of your post.

 3 years ago (edited)

Thank you @sarkodieeric1 for notifying me. I have removed the plagiarism.

Helloo @jahsway. I am Alejandro, one of the Greeter Helpers team members.

I stop by to inform you that I have successfully verified your achievement. You can now proceed with the program and perform your achievement #3, which is based on content etiquettes. Here I leave you the link to a publication about it, so that you can develop your next activity. Remember that the achievements' posts must be posted within the Newcomers' Community. Success for you.

Important information: remember that completing your tasks up to achievement #4 of the achievement program makes you eligible to be part of the support program for newcomers called 500SP Minnowsupport. I invite you to continue performing your other achievements.

TASK RATE
: 2

Notes: none.

 3 years ago 

Thank you @psicoparedes

 3 years ago 

Hi, @jahsway,

Your post has been supported by @rypo01 from the Steem Greeter Team.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.029
BTC 60946.76
ETH 3395.14
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.57