Achievement 2 @gracyakan Task : Basic Security on Steem

in Newcomers' Community3 years ago

WHAT IS SECURITY?

Security is freedom from, or resilience against potential harm (or other unwanted coercive change) cause by others. People that benefits from security are persons and social groups, objects and institutions, ecosystems or any other entity or phenomenon vulnerable to unwanted change. In this contest, Basic Security on Steem refers to How one can protect and keep his/her steem account secured and safe from danger of being steal, attack or hacked.

OBJECTIVE OF THESE TASK ARE:

Screenshot_20210523-222305_3.png

I got to know the importance and functions of each of my my keys and I also understand how to use their steemit wallet through this task.

HAVE YOU RETRIEVED ALL YOUR KEYS ON STEEMIT?

Immediately I was signed up for Steemit, I was given a Master password of which I used on steemit.com wallet to retrieved all other keys which includes posting Key, active key, owner key, and memo key. After I had retrieved all the keys, I makes sure that I saved them where it cannot be easily access by others or loss while those keys are used going forward.
So I can affirmatively answer yes that I have retrieved all my keys on Steemit.com and kept them safe.

DO YOU KNOW FUNCTIONS AND RESTRICTIONS OF EACH OF THESE KEYS?

YES

Each of the keys is used to perform different functions, below is the summary of their functions and restrictions:

(i) MASTER PASSWORD: master password is the password you are giving When signing up, and it is used to generate all other keys. After which it is stored safely in a digital offline storage like flash drive, an external disk or by printing it.
Master key should only be used when you are going through your account recovery.

(ii) POSTING KEY: posting key is used for posting, commenting, editing, voting, and devoting, it can also be use to follow or mute other accounts.
Posting keys can only be used for everyday logins.

(iii) ACTIVE KEY: the active key is used for sensitive tasks like transferring funds (tokens), power steem up/down, converting steem Dollars, voting for witnesses, updating profile details, avatar, and placing a market order.
It is only necessary for transfers and power ups etc.

(iv) OWNER KEY: it is the most powerful key, because it is used to reset all other keys of an account including owner key. Ideally, this key should be stored offline.
Owner key can only be used to recover a compromise account.

(v) MEMO KEY: Memo key is used to send an encrypt and decrypt memos when transferring funds. In order to encrypt a memo you need to used # sign before it.
Memo key can only be used for concealing & converting information when transferring funds.

HOW DO YOU WANT TO KEEP YOUR MASTER PASSWORD?

I know the important of keeping my master password safe, because it is used to derived all keys in someone's account. And if someone has access to my master key password they can they can steal my account and all the tokens in it. Because of this I will first of all never share my password with any One nor any third party site, and I have already printed my master password out and safe it in a deposit box where no other person will have access to, nor get lose.

DO YOU KNOW HOW TO TRANSFER YOUR STEEM TOKEN TO ANOTHER STEEM USER ACCOUNT?

Yes I know and I can easily perform this through the steps below:

I will first of all logout my steem account

iMarkup_20210525_122231.jpg

Then I click on my wallet

iMarkup_20210525_114856.jpg

Click on the the dashes image at the upper right hand side as indicated below:

iMarkup_20210525_115152.jpg

Then I Click on sign in

iMarkup_20210525_115309.jpg

and it takes me to where I enter my user name and master password

Screenshot_20210525-113239_1.png

then I confirm it and automatically take me back to my wallet, where everything is activated

clicked on the the drop down arrow beside steem as shown in the picture below:

iMarkup_20210525_115521.jpg

Options will come out
Then I click on transfer as shown in the image below:

iMarkup_20210525_115607.jpg

It took me to where I put the username of the person I wanted to transfer to and the amount I wants to transfer as shown in image below:

iMarkup_20210525_115701.jpg

Then I'll follow through instructions to confirm the transaction.

DO YOU KNOW HOW TO POWER UP YOUR STEEM?

Yes I know how to power up steem
I can do this by following the steps above but I will click on power up as shown below:

iMarkup_20210525_115910.jpg

Then it open a page where I enter the amount I want to power up
As shown in the image below:

iMarkup_20210525_115805.jpg

Then I'll click on power up.
A page will open where I will input my username and active key to confirm transfer

Screenshot_20210525-113838_1.png

Screenshot_20210525-113811_1.png

Then I'm I'm done, yes I've power up 4 Steem today

Screenshot_20210525-131226_1.png

@goodybest told me that Steem power means influence, so I hoped to get more influence.

I am grateful to @cryptokannon, @kiwiscanfly and @goodybest for their assistance to newbies.
My first achievement 1post ref. goes here

CCC:
@bright-obias
@whitestallion
@ngoenyi

Sort:  
 3 years ago 

Congratulations on completion of your achievement 2. Well done for successfully powering up, you will also benefit from powering. Keep steeming to the moon and beyond.

 3 years ago 

Thanks @eliany

Hello @gracyakan, I congratulate you, you have done an excellent job and have made progress, I wish you success in your new tasks and your career at Steemit.

I invite you to our DraftCrearte community, a community to express the artist that we carry inside. You can now participate in this week's contests. .1 y 2.

 3 years ago 

Thanks @deisip67

You have been verified for this task and you may proceed to the next achievement task at your convenience.
Note: well done

Curators Rate: 2

Please continue to read and prepare from @cryptokannon Achievement tasks resources

 3 years ago 

Thanks @sarkodieeric1 , I'll do just as you said

 3 years ago 

Congratulations on your achievement 2

 3 years ago 

@bytania you're welcome

 3 years ago 

Congratulations dear

 3 years ago 

@peculiarem thanks

 3 years ago 

Nice writeup indeed you have tried. Keep it up

 3 years ago 
 3 years ago 

You are welcome

 3 years ago 

Hi, @gracyakan,

Your post has been supported by @njiatanga from the Steem Greeter Team.

 3 years ago 

Am grateful, @njiatanga your support is highly appreciated. Thank you .

 3 years ago 

Wow you tried I will read this post again yo get conversant with it

 3 years ago 

Congratulations on your achievement 2
More grace to you

We are sorry that we have missed this achievement post curation windows, we will upvote your active post as an exchange”

Greeter @ngoenyi

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 56516.28
ETH 2315.44
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.34