Achievement 2: Basic Security on Steam by @geenilfx

in Newcomers' Community3 years ago

Security is a preventive measures to ensure that funds are secure. Basic security in steem is how I can protect my steem account and the only way I can do so is to protect my password, because there is no way I can recover my account if lose my Password / Owners Key.

HAVE YOU RETRIEVED ALL YOUR KEYS ON STEEMIT?

Yes, that I have retrieved all my keys on steemit. When I signed up, i was given a master password which i used to login to my steemit.com wallet and retrieved all my keys, which include Posting key, Active key, Owner key and Memo key.

DO YOU KNOW EACH OF THESE KEY FUNCTIONS AND RESTRICTIONS

Yes, these Keys are slightly different from the other and can be used for a different purposes, for example.

i. Master password - The master password is used to create all other keys for my account, including the owner key. So master password is used during account recovery. I must ensure that nobody has access to my master password, as this can lead lost of tokens in my account.

ii. Posting key - Posting key enable me to login into my steem account and publish a post, comment, edit, vote, resteem, follow or mute accounts. So whenever I login to do anything, I should ensure I finish all my task for the day before I exit my account, to limit the number of times I used my posting key and avoid compromising the account key.

iii. Active key - The active key enable me to transfer funds, power up/down transactions, convert Steem Dollars, vote for witnesses, update account settings (such as my profile picture) and place a market order.

iv. Owner key - Owner key is used to reset all the keys including Owner key. The Owner Key is as important as my Master Password, so losing these 2 Keys/Passwords means losing everything in the account including my tokens to hackers. So this key/password should be stored offline and use only to recover a stolen account.

V. Memo key - Memo key is used for private messaging to encrypt and decrypt messages sent & received via my Steemit account.

HOW DO YOU PLAN TO KEEP YOUR MASTER PASSWORD

Since there is no way to recover my account if I lose my Master Password / Owners Key. Therefore, I save my Master Password offline in a digital offline storage that is in external hard drive as well as a printed paper.

DO YOU KNOW HOW TO TRANSFER YOUR STEEM TOKEN TO ANOTHER STEEM USER ACCOUNT?

Yes, I can transfer my steem token to another steem user account using the following steps:

First I have to login to my steem account using my posting key;
Then click on profile image at top right corner of my page
Click on wallet, from my wallet page,
Click on Steem balance, the arrow next to it.
Then click transfer.
Type the username of the account I want to send the Steem to.
I must check to ensure that the spelling is correct.
Then enter the amount of Steem to send,
it is optional to enter the purpose of the transaction
Then click Next
Then enter my master password or active key.

Example is attached below.

Screenshot_20210722-092748.png

Screenshot_20210722-101146.png

DO YOU KNOW HOW TO POWER UP YOUR STEEM

Yes, Powering Up means I want to convert my Steem to steem power.
From my wallet page,
Click on Steem balance, the arrow next to it.
Click Power Up,
Enter the amount to power up.
Click Power Up.

Example is attached

Screenshot_20210722-095642.png

Screenshot_20210722-100325.png

Conclusion

Thank you for reading my post.
Special thanks to @cryptocannon for her guidance. And thanks to all those who assisted me in making this post.
Till we meet again in my next achievement thank you for your time.

Sort:  

Curators Note :3

Hello @geenilfx,

Congratulations! You have passed this Achievement You may now proceed to the next achievement task following the article.

For more updates, keep following @steemitblog.

Best Regards!!!
@boss75

 3 years ago 

Hi, @geenilfx,

Your post has been supported by @tarpan from the Steem Greeter Team.

 3 years ago 

Am glad to belong to this wonderful community. Thank you

 3 years ago 

It is a privilege to be in great community, am grateful, thank you

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64038.60
ETH 3148.89
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.97