Achievement 2 /by @frqnk/ :Basic Security On Steem 07/06/20121

in Newcomers' Community3 years ago (edited)

INTRODUCTION!!!

Hello Everyone! In regards to the task of Achievement 2 as well explained by mentor @cryptokannon and @kiwiscanfly on security keys and steem wallets respectively, I will be explaining how I've so far kept my keys safe and also explain steem wallets in my own views/perspectives. I hope you finds this post useful and helpful!

MAIN GIST

The security of a Steemit account should be seen and taken as a priority! That is why steemit mentors and curators takes their quality time to speak about security of a Steemit account keys and they have also explained more Steem Wallet. Yes, every new commer to this great platform should learn and know the best way to handle their keys and also know the meaning of every icon on their wallet.
Just as I said in my in introduction above, I will be speaking on how I have so far kept my keys secured and of course I will advise any new member reading this article to go and read the posts by mentor @cryptokannon and @kiwiscanfly on security of keys and steem wallet respectively. Read and learn from my answers to the questions below, asked by mentor @cryptokannon.

Question 1: Have you retrieve all your keys on steemit?

Yes I have. The day I registered, the keys where displayed for me to see, copy and keep private just as the name goes; *private, it should be private! I was also shown an option to download my keys as a PDF file and of course I did and I have kept this file very secured. Every new person to this great platform, including me, should try as much as they can to keep this quality keys that can not be guessed but stolen safe to deny crimals assess to stealing your keys and thereby stealing your wallet funds!

Question 2: Do you know each of these key functions and restrictions?

Yes I did. After downloading the PDF file that contains all my keys, I realised that there were so many keys on the files, I searched for the meaning of these keys on Google immediately and finally I found the great post of mentor @cryptokannon and that was very much useful, Everyone should read and reread that post. [I will provide the link to the great post below this post so you can go read too!]

https://steemit.com/hive-172186/@cryptokannon/basic-security-on-steem-achievement-2-mentor-by-cryptokannon

Question 3: How do you plan to keep your master password?

Just as explained by our mentor in his post, master password is the greatest of all other keys, it can be used to retrieve all other keys. In that regard, it should be kept very, very secured!
I copied my master key and save it both online and offline. Online in the sense that I used my own E-mail (1) to send it to my own email (2) so I won't loose it even if I lost my phone or my phone gets spoilt. I secured it offline in the sense that I save it to an external drive as a PDF and saved it with a password that only me uses. So I believe my keys are very much secured and anyone can learn from my style too.

Question 4: Do you know how to transfer your steem token to another steem user account?

Yes I do, after reading the educative post by @kiwiscanfly, I learnt how to transfer from my account to another user, I also practically transferred my own steem to my savings just to know how transfer works, visit https://steemitwallet.com/ and below are some screenshots on how to transfer to another users:

3zpz8WQe4SNGWd7TzozjPgq3rggennavDx3XPY35pEAVnqDwHGiyV5TTFiSNBYYmWQQ1ytB4EyFh3QeeHXjbY3HjfdJXUQXv8bzcpud7iVWiZ5CC7WVqWhTUvm6dPZdM3zSAZ7kLPJNYyRC49Lia.jpeg

--At your steem section, click on the drop down box to see transfer, click on transfer and input the user you want to transfer to in the second box just below the box containing your username. The memo could be any text, though leaving it blank won't affect your transfer.

3zpz8WQe4SNGWd7TzozjPgq3rggennavDx3XPY35pEAVnpz5Hg5LzAmzNLwCMpVNNieCagsgnUEZDVzQfhZUbKPPQWtGiXYthFrcZqyHMDu1bUSx4qQ2K9S8FoXxP2xmQzJ13hSBt56DtKvsNZ74.jpeg

Screenshot_20210607-130944.png

Question 5: Do you know how to power up your STEEM?

Yes. I have also practically powered up my steem. This could be done by logging into your wallet just as you did above. This time you click on the power up instead aside transfer and others. There you go! Input amount and power up. Your SP can also be converted back to Steem within 4 weeks as I read from @kiwiscanfly's post.

Below is a screenshot on how to power up or down.

Screenshot_20210607-155322.png

Screenshot_20210607-155330.png

-THE LIST OF THE KEYS AND THEIR FUNCTIONS

  1. Posting key - The posting key allows accounts to post, comment, edit, vote, resteem, and follow or mute other accounts. Most users should be logging into Steemit every day with the posting key. You are more likely to have your password or key compromised the more you use it so a limited posting key exists to restrict the damage that a compromised account key would cause.

  2. Active key - The active key as the name implies is used to perform sensitive functions such as funds, power up/down transactions, converting Steem Dollars, voting for witnesses, updating profile details and avatar, and placing a market order.

  3. Owner key - The owner key is a very powerful key only meant for use when necessary. It is a very most powerful key because it can change any key of an account, including the owner key. Meanly, it is meant to be stored offline, and only used to recover a compromised account.

  4. Memo key - This key is used just for the purpose of encrypting and decrypting memos when transferring funds.

CONCLUSION

It is very much advisable that every new member of this great platform should know how to secure their keys and also know the functions of all the features on their wallet! I hope you finds this post helpful and beneficial.
You can read the parent posts through

https://steemit.com/hive-172186/@cryptokannon/basic-security-on-steem-achievement-2-mentor-by-cryptokannon

https://steemit.com/steemgreet/@kiwiscanfly/understanding-your-steemit-wallet-and-powering-up

APPRECIATION
I thank you for reading through to this part of my post, I hope you finds it useful!
I also thank in a special way @stan015, steem curators and all who curated my Introductory Post. I really appreciate and hope for curation on this my achievements 2.
Your upvotes, views, reviews and comments will mean a lot to me.

You can also read my Introductory post @https://steemit.com/hive-172186/@frqnk/my-introductory-post

Thank you all.

Sort:  

Hi @frqnk, congratulations on your successful completion of your Achievement 2.

It is my pleasure to announce to you that you can proceed with Achievement 3 which is content etiquette

I also want to encourage you to complete all the Achievement posts in the newcomers community by @cyptokannon. Check here. This will place you in a position to take advantage of the helps rendered to all newcommers.

Thank you for completing this Achievement.

Rank- 3

 3 years ago 

Thank you

Hi @frqnk, you have made a very nice post. The only thing missing is the screenshots on how to power up, please include them and then reply to my comment so I can verify you

 3 years ago 

Hello @ngoenyi I have included the screenshots.

 3 years ago 

Hello @frqnk

Question 2 required you to list out the keys and your understanding of the functions of this keys .

Please tag me when you updated your post

Thanks
Greeter helper

 3 years ago 

I'm confused here, is it really necessary to list out the keys and their functions?
I'll be glad if you reply to this, thank you.

 3 years ago (edited)

Yes, will love know that you actually understood the different keys.

Outline the keys and what you think are the functions of the keys

 3 years ago 

@fombae I have already done that, thank you

You need to list out the types of keys and explain them one after the other.
Their functions

 3 years ago 

@ngoenyi done. Thank you

 3 years ago 

Great job @frqnk, @ngoenyi will verified you in due time.

You can start looking at next achievement task
on Content Etiquette Link You are expected to know Proof of Brain concept and able to produce and sharing quality/original content.

 3 years ago 

Thank you

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 59239.68
ETH 2525.24
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50