Achievement 3 by @favourwins Task: Content Etiquette 24th October 2021

in Newcomers' Community3 years ago (edited)
Hello amazing Steemians! You are doing good? I am happy to have had my post on achievement 2 verified, hence, my achievement 3 post will be centered around giving content the right way. Talking about plagiarism, its effects, works that could be plagiarized and generally why it is a fraudulent act.

IMG_20211024_163333.jpg

What is Plagiarism?

". to steal and pass off (the ideas or words of another) as one's own
. to use (another's production) without crediting the source
. to commit literary theft
. to present as new and original an idea or product derived from an existing source
In other words, plagiarism is an act of fraud. It involves both stealing someone else's work and lying about it afterward." Source


plagiarism.jpg

Image Source

What Can Be Plagiarised?

Cited below are some instances of plagiarism.

". Turning in someone else's work as your own.
. Copying large pieces of text from a source without citing that source.
. Taking passages from multiple sources, piecing them together, and turning in the work as your own.
. Copying from a source but changing a few words and phrases to disguise plagiarism.
. Paraphrasing from a number of different sources without citing those sources.
. Turning in work that you did for another class without getting your professor's permission first.
. Buying an essay or paper and turning it in as your own work." Source

Below is an example of citation,

"When we keep God's Law and dwell in His Love, we conform to Jesus and manifest His character and His Love. This does not happen in one day; it is a learning process that lasts a lifetime." Source

Effects of Plagiarism

Plagiarism can affect your whole reputation as a student, writer or a researcher. You work even when authentic may never be seen as one.

Conclusion

It is never a good thing to plagiarise. Learn to give people credit for their work, effort and intellectual property.

IMG_20211024_174528.jpg

"I have read and understood the Steemit Etiquette on Steemit Community and will do my best to embrace them" at the end of this task post.

Sort:  

Hi dear, thank you for your effort in creating this achievemwnt post. However, you still need to add a citation example using blockquote.
It is one of the requirements for verification of your achievement 3 post

 3 years ago 

@ngoenyi thank you for going through the work. Your observation is noted. I have gone through the work over and again and I can't seem to find where I made an error because I copied and pasted the blockquote citation into my piece. Could you please let me know where in particular I should have used it and didn't. I'd love to hear from you. Thank you.

 3 years ago 

Hello @ngoenyi Could you help go through my post again to be sure I have done the right thing? Thank you for the correction.

Hi @favourwins, I am pleased to inform you that your achievement 3 task has been verified, you may now move to the next achievement task which is about applying markdown.
I encourage you to complete all the Achievement posts by @cryptokannon. Click here.

Thanks for your successful completion of this task!!!

Task rate:2

 3 years ago 

Thanks a lot @ngoenyi I appreciate you.

 3 years ago 

Hi, @favourwins,

Your post has been supported by @sm-shagor from the Steem Greeter Team.

 3 years ago 

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.21
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 66704.41
ETH 3487.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.99