Achievement 2 by essienu// Basic Security on Steemit// Mentorship by @ Crypotokannon

in Newcomers' Community3 years ago

IMG_20210818_124055.jpg

Security simply refers to the state of being free from danger or threat.So for cyber thieves and hackers to be protected from accessing sensitive information from steemit account or wallet, Security is essential.

Have you retrieve all your keys on Steemit?
Yes I do,I understand that without my keys,I can not perform any action.It all started when i sign up,I was given a master password,I then used it to retrieve all the keys, Including Active key, Posting Key, Owner Key and Memo key.
To be sure that my account is safe, The master password is kept in a safer place after retrieving all the keys, while those keys continue to be use.

Do you know each of these key functions and restrictions?

These are the various functions each of them perform:
1.Master Password:This particular key is refers to a password because all others keys are actually derived from this single password.
It is also called the "Seed" because it is first password that is created and it is from that the rest of the keys spring forth, That is why it can be used to perform any function on steem, From social activities to financial activities.
Since keys can be used to perform any activity in steem apps like steemit.com,The master password should be securely stored in a password manager or offline entirely, and only used for highly trusted application.
2.Posting Key:It can be used to perform social activities like posting, commenting,upcoming and downvoting.
While these activities are common,They do not require a high level of security,because they do not authorize any operation which can negatively impact token balances.
3.Memo Key:It is used for encrypting and decrypting memos when transferring funds.
4.Owner Key:This key is the most powerful key because it can change any key of an account, including the owner key.
It is meant to be stored offline,and only used to recover a compromised account.
5.Active Key:It is used for more sensitive tasks such as transferring, converting steem Dollars, voting for witnesses, uploading profile details and placing a market order.

Now do you plan to keep your master password?
I had already kept it in a safer place,beacuse I know that all other keys are derived from this single password.
I stored it in my flash drive (a portable offline storage)and only used for highly trusted applications.

Do your know how to transfer your steem token to another steem user account?

Yes,I do,To get started,I have to login to my steem account using my Username and posting key, click my image at top right, click on wallet next to logout,Once my steem wallet is opened,I sign in with my username and active key and click login.
Upon logging in, Click on the drop down arrow close to steem and select transfer,See the example below:

Screenshot_20210728-125959.png
Then type in the username of the account user you are transferring to, type in the amount and click next,As you can see below:

Screenshot_20210818-002055.png
Then click ok to confirm the transaction.
Do you know how to power up your STEEM?
Yes,steem can be converted to steem power in a process called power up.This can be done from the wallet.when click on the drop down arrow close to steem,select power up;as you can see from the image below

Screenshot_20210818-002055.png
Then type the amount and click power up,See image below:

Screenshot_20210818-005043.png
Thanks everyone for going through my write up, Thanks @ngoenyi for your assistance and support to newbies.

Sort:  

Hi @essienu, congratulations on your successful completion of your Achievement 2.

It is my pleasure to announce to you that you can proceed with Achievement 3 which is content etiquette

I also want to encourage you to complete all the Achievement posts in the newcomers community by @cyptokannon. Check here. This will place you in a position to take advantage of the helps rendered to all newcommers.

Thank you for completing this Achievement!

Rate- 3

 3 years ago 

Hi, @essienu,

Your post has been supported by @ngoenyi from the Steem Greeter Team.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 58986.04
ETH 2580.24
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.53