Achievement's 2 by @efotagodstime Basic security on steemit mentorship by@ cryptokannon

in Newcomers' Community3 years ago (edited)

INTRODUCTION.
To be frank, security can be referred to protecting of valuable asset, thus in same way, thorough protection is needed if, iam to secure my steem account, so that no one can get access to it, I need to secure my keys.

IMG_20210824_151728.jpg

HOW TO PROTECT MY KEYS.
Since I can not access my account without these keys, and I was able to retrieve all my keys after I signed up, for example the master password was given to me and my posting keys so I can say that I have my steemit keys, because lmmidiatly I signed up, all the keys were generated and are in my custody .

HOW TO SAVE MY MASTER KEY.
How can I keep my steem account safe,. It is stated that the master key should not be accessible to anybody, so in other to make it safe, I need to keep it saved, and not expose it to people.

THE KEYS.
What are these keys,..... Posting keys, that is for everyday logins.... Active key, it is use for transferring, Power up and others functions..... Master keys or owner key, this is used for charging the other keys. Why should I be careful with my master key, It is because, Since the master key is the main Key to the other keys including the owner keys...... What are the different in this keys.,,,,,,, Posting key, it is used to post comment, vote, resteem, and also follow and mute others in order to limit the compromise that may occur excessive usage in the day...,,,, Active key, this is used for transferring funds, power up and down transaction, also for converting steem dollars, voting witnesses, updating profile details and placing market order, it should not be left alone........ Owner Key, this is one of my powerful key, it can be used to transfer too, swap steem, it is proper to store it offline and only use when needed, if possible copy it out in a hard copy and keep it saved.

MEMO KEY.
Memo key, enable me encrypt and decrypt messages and also to transfer funds.
What do I do when I lost my password key,. Since is irritrieable, I am advice to have them ,copy out in a hard copy book and keep it,...... What is the difference between master password and owner keys, Master keys is mainly used to generate other keys including owner key, while owner key is to reset owner, Active, and posting keys, recovering your account decline voting rights.

HOW TO TRANSFER FOUND.
Do you know how to transfer your steem token to another steem user account?

To transfer steem to another user account, open your wallet and click on the drop_down arrow beside steem.

Screenshot_20210824-141834_1.png

then click on transfer, it brings out transfer to account dialogue box,

Screenshot_20210824-144145.png

input recipient steem, username, the amount to transfer,then click on next,

Screenshot_20210824-142340.png

it will bring you the confirm transfer page, then click ok if you are sure of the transaction, it will bring you to a page a far, active key or owner key, input the active key and click on sign, the transfer is done.

I know how to power up my steem.

Go to wallet, click the drop down arrow beside steem, click power up, in the box that will come out, input the amount I want to power up, click power up

Screenshot_20210824-150711.png

Screenshot_20210824-150739.png

Sort:  
 3 years ago (edited)

Do you know how to power up your steem
Also include the screenshots for it.

how do you plan to keep your master password

You haven't answered the above question.
Put source to the first image you used.

Hi @efotagodstime, congratulations on your successful completion of your Achievement 2.

It is my pleasure to announce to you that you can proceed with Achievement 3 which is content etiquette

I also want to encourage you to complete all the Achievement posts in the newcomers community by @cyptokannon. Check here. This will place you in a position to take advantage of the helps rendered to all newcommers.

Thank you for completing this Achievement!

Rate- 3

 3 years ago 

Hi, @efotagodstime,

Your post has been supported by @wilmer1988 from the Steem Greeter Team.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 63659.40
ETH 3075.69
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.01