Achievement 3 Task: by ebuahsang1 Content Etiquette

in Newcomers' Community3 years ago

Hello steemians, before I dive into my Achievement proper, let me share a short story.

d15876aac3d4e39c9caf191de84213cb.jpg

Image
Source

WHAT IS PLAGIARISM.
I worked in a University for two years, and in that two years I got to develop huge admiration for academic Doctors and professors. I can remember one of my main goal in life was to become a professor. I had this lecturer (a professor I will prefer not to mention his name) I admired so much, he was so good at teaching and how he interacted with us. So one faithful morning I got to school and the campus was hot with news ( gossip), you know this University environment with chit chats. On inquiring what was happening, a friend told me that that lecturer has been dismissed and is no longer a professor. I was confused and asked him that I thought professor was an academic achievement so what does he mean by he is no longer a professor? Has the man unlearn everything he learned?
And he told me that research has shown that he plagiarized someone's work at the Masters level, so he has been caught and every other academic qualifications after the Masters has been cancelled.
That's the first time I heard about the word plagiarism. And it was scary, very scary.

So what is plagiarism.
To my understanding, plagiarism is the act of owning another person's work or an idea. Similar to the word copyright by completely different. Plagiarism actually means the act of claiming someone's idea as if it were your own, as if you are the original creator of that piece of work or idea. This is always intended to take the pay, praise or undeserved applause.
It's a very bad thing to do though not really a crime in most countries and this is where we have a difference with copyright which is a legal crime.

It is common knowledge to every academician where the word plagiarism carry heavy weight, that man cannot really creat knowledge, man is not an island and even people with high IQ can creat a idea but not complete knowledge, and so with this common understanding that we will always depend on other person's ideas to write or develop our own, it is but most appropriate to cite a source, to give credit. To give credit to someone for his work ethically makes you look professional and respected.

That's why the Steemit Platform fully understands this philosophy and has provided steemians with a way of giving credit to work that due another person.
A markup citation guide has been provided for steemians to make reference to every idea or phrase that is being taken from another person.
Below are some sites where you can get free images to use
~ https://shutterstock.com
~ https://pexels.com
~ https://unsplash.com

All of these is to provide Steemit users with adaquate information to use and also ensure that the concept of " Proof of Brain" and originality is being observe.

Some few weeks back when I joined steemit, as a determined newbie, I wanted to know all that could be known about Steemit. There is a common saying that, "To earn fast is to learn fast" and this was my logo for the first two weeks.
In my search for knowledge and study of Steemit, I came across an article ( unfortunately, I can't remember who wrote it) which was talking about the weaknesses of Steemit. In this article, the writer made mention of the fact that plagiarism was going to be a pitfall for the platform Steemit, saying with all it's wonderful advantages, if not rectify will be dangerous. I got confused as I know plagiarism is not permitted but after reading I discovered the plagiarism component at that time of the article was lacking and I thank the developers and members of the @endingplagairism for the wonderful job. Kudos

"I have read and understood the Steemit Etiquette on Steemit Community and will do my best to embrace them." Source

Sort:  

You have been verified for this task and you may proceed to the next achievement task at your convenience.
Note:

Curators Rate: 1

Please continue to read and prepare from @cryptokannon Achievement tasks resources

 3 years ago 

It's awesome seeing that you have done your achievement 3, this is a clear indication that you know copying other people’s content is not permitted here on steemit.
Congratulations
Let’s steem on

 3 years ago 

Wow nice write-up , congrats on completing your achievement three steem on to achievement four .

 3 years ago 

Thank you

 3 years ago 

Hi, @ebuahsang1,

Your post has been supported by @njiatanga from the Steem Greeter Team.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 57258.35
ETH 3065.68
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.33