Achievement 2 @eberechi10 Task : Basic Security on Steem (set to 100% power up)steemCreated with Sketch.

in Newcomers' Community4 years ago (edited)

Security is a fundamental part of our life and therefore should be given optimal priority. Our houses, devices relationships, offices, and all our belongings, it our duty to protect them.

Screenshot_20201006-100801.png

Steem ecosystem is not left out on the need for security and can't be overemphasized. In Steem ecosystem, I have come to understood that security is a priority and not a choice. Keeping safe our pass keys and understanding there individual usage is paramount, being that if misplaced cannot be retrieved, especial master key.

Screenshot_20201006-100422.png

*Have you retrieve all your keys on steemit?

Yes. All keys have been retrieved and kept safe. I logged into my Steemit account, navigate to the wallet and then I went to the Keys and Permission section, had to use the master password to login and retrieved all my keys.

*Do you know each of these key functions and restrictions?

Yes. I knew these keys functions and restrictions.

Master key: The master key is the key given to you by Steemit when you sign up and is very delicate that if misplaced, can never be retrieved. It is used to generate the other keys and should be stored in a safe place offline

Posting key : The posting key is used in posting, commenting, upvoting, editing, following others, resteem, joining the community and muting accounts. It's use often in our daily activities.

Screenshot_20201006-100829.png

Active key : Active key is used for power up and down, transferring your funds, you can also be able to vote for a witness, convert Steem Dollars, update your profile details and place a market order. In general, it's meant for sensitive transactions.

Owner key : The owner key is an important key and only use when it's necessary. It's the most powerful key because it have the power to change others keys including the owner key. It Also used for recover an account.

Memo key: This key is used for encrypting massage and decrypting massage.

Screenshot_20201006-100336.png

These are the keys and must be secured properly in in safe place.

*How do you plan to keep your master password?

The master key is the most important key in my Steemit account. I have saved it's in several places like my laptop, my pen drive and dairy to help keep it securely offline.

*Do you know how to transfer your steem token to another steem user account?

I knew how I can transfer steem tokens to another user account. Navigate to your steemit wallet. Click on the drop-down and you will see the transfer option, selecte transfer, a new page will pop up, then you have to fill the page with all required information and submit..

*Do you know how to power up your STEEM?

Login to my wallet, clicked on the Steem dollar drop down, clicked on transfer, input the username transferring to, amount to send, create a memo and submit. Then finally confirm with you active key.

Conclusion
I have also practiced on how to use all these keys, transfer steem and power up. Since i signed up to Steemit, my mentor @focusnow sent me the link and I have be practicing all this bases.
Having learnt the important permission levels and functions of the master keys and other keys.

It have be paramount to me that I must make a digital and physical backup of these keys and secure them in safe places. Only use them when it's necessary and properly and follow the security policies that have been put in place. By doing this, it will protect my account from security threats.

My recognition goes to @focusnow my mentor, @cpm2020, @ngoenyi, @njaywan, @cryptokannon @mariita52, and entirely the Steem community for there wonderful support. You guy have made this platform a home for me, I sincerely appreciate you all, thank you.

@cryptokannon; here is my achievement2. thanks

This is my Introduction post here

Image source my beautiful phone camera

Sort:  

Congratulations on completing your achievement 2 task. It's good you have been trying to understand how eacg key functions by using. Keep it using them daily

 4 years ago 

Thanks dear

Great post. Am happy that you have thoroughly understood what security is all about on Steemit. Make sure to keep your keys safe, the best way you can. Congratulations on completing this post. @eberechi10.

 4 years ago 

All thanks to you, I appreciate

Nice write up@eberechi10, i believe you now understand how to use your various keys at the right time.

#onepercent #twopercent #nigeria

 4 years ago 

Yes

 4 years ago 
Congratulations !

You have successfully completed achievment 2 on "Basic Security on Steem". You next task is to complete achivement 3 : Content Etiquette.
👉 You can follow @steemitblog for the latest updates and news on steemit platfrom and follow @steemingcurators for find more information about new contests and events.

👉And I like to invite you for the "A Better Life With Steem' project " #betterlife , you can find information from here
See you soon with the next achivement !

Please feel free to ask anything and have a nice day !

 4 years ago 

Thanks, I have already followed Steemitblog. You guys have been supportive

 4 years ago 
You have been upvoted by @besticofinder, Steem Greeter from STEEM POD Project and we are voting with the Steemit Community Curator @steemcurator03 account to support the newcomers coming into steemit. Follow @steemitblog for the latest update on Steem Community. Steem on!
 4 years ago 

Thank you sir I really appreciate

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.21
TRX 0.12
JST 0.029
BTC 66303.73
ETH 3592.29
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.61