Achievement 2 @drstrings Task: Basic Security on Steem

in Newcomers' Community2 years ago (edited)

Hello Steemit! How's it going? I'd love to share my Achievement 2 post: basic security on Steemit.

project_20211220_1342089-01.png

When I signed up for Steemit, I was given different keys with different names. It was one of the most confusing things I had to figure out while joining this platform. It took me a lot of research to understand the importance of all the keys and I can say now it's a piece of cake.

Have you retrieve all your keys for Steemit

Yes, I have retrieved them all and they are safe and sound.

Do you know each of these key functions and restrictions?

Yes, I have studied them and can say I understand them quite well.

The Posting Key is what I use for my everyday sign in. I am able to post, comment, follow other users, vote and resteem all thanks to this bad boy.

Screenshot_20211223-083754.jpg

The Active Key was a tough nut to crack.
"Wait, there's a Posting Key and an Active Key?"
But it's actually a very simple thing. I can use my active key to transfer funds and power up or power down my transactions. Not so tough any more are you😎.

The Memo Key is a special key. It is used to decrypt private transfer memos and messages. (Thanks for reminding me @ngoenyi)

Last but not least, My Owner Key. Legends say it's the key of all keys😲. Good thing I have it. With it, I change any other of my keys, including the owner key itself.

How do you plan to keep your master password?

Well, I use this app LastPass. It's a password saver. I used it to save all my keys and my master password. I also have a printed copy of my password and it's locked away in a secret place that nobody will ever find it

Do you know how to transfer your steem token to another steem user account?

That's pretty easy. All I have to do is

  • Go to my wallet
  • Locate the token I want to transfer. After that, I click the drop down arrow and select transfer.

Screenshot_20211223-084322.jpg

From there, all I have to do is specify the account name, the amount I want to transfer.

Screenshot_20211223-084353.jpg

Do you know how to power up your STEEM?

Yes I can do that. I locate my STEEM balance from my wallet and click the drop down arrow. All I have to do is select power up,

Screenshot_20211223-084444.jpg

type in the amount I need to power up and voila, done.

Screenshot_20211223-084451.jpg

I really enjoyed this achievement. Can't wait to do the next!

@cryptokannon

Sort:  

Hello dear, in your explanation of those keys, you have missed the memo key. Please include it to your post and tag me to get verified.

 2 years ago 

Thank you. It has been done

Hi @drstrings, congratulations on your successful completion of your Achievement 2.

It is my pleasure to announce to you that you can proceed with Achievement 3 which is content etiquette

I also want to encourage you to complete all the Achievement posts in the newcomers community by @cyptokannon. Check here. This will place you in a position to take advantage of the helps rendered to all newcommers.

It's also very important for you to join #club5050. To join the club you need to power up at least 50% of your monthly earnings. You can also join #club75 where you will power up 75% of your earnings for 2 months or #club100 where you are to power up all your earnings for 3 months.

Thank you for completing this Achievement!

Rate- 2

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 69692.63
ETH 3775.19
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.76